Committee Staff

Health Committee Staff

Rosielyn Pulmano, Chief Consultant Email: rosielyn.pulmano@asm.ca.gov

Judith Babcock, Senior Consultant Email: judy.babcock@asm.ca.gov
Scott Bain, Principal Consultant Email: scott.bain@asm.ca.gov
Lara Flynn, Principal Consultant Email: lara.flynn@asm.ca.gov
Kristene Mapile, Principal Consultant Email: kristene.mapile@asm.ca.gov

Patty Rodgers, Lead Secretary Email: patty.rodgers@asm.ca.gov
Marshall Kirkland, Secretary Email: marshall.kirkland@asm.ca.gov

                                                   Consultant Policy Assignments
 

Rosielyn Pulmano

Judy Babcock

Scott Bain

Lara Flynn

Kristene Mapile

Budget coordination
 

Children's Health 
FamilyPACT / infant health / birth defects pupil health / pediatric care / WIC program / Genetic Disease Screening Program / school nutrition
 

Pharmaceuticals / Pharmacy/ Dietary Supplements
High-priced specialty drugs/CURES
 

Public Health
contagious & infectious diseases/ vaccines and immunizations/  HIV/AIDS / STDs / chronic diseases / cancer / obesity / diabetes / hypertension / prevention / drinking water / environmental health / bioterrorism / health disparities
 

Food safety / Food Labelling / Nutrition
California Retail Food Code (Excluding: children's nutrition)
 

Biotechnology / Stem cell research
Proposition 71 /cloning / genetics / emerging therapies

 

Laboratories

 CLIA / Lab Field Services (X-ray, CT) / medical devices

 

Alcohol/Drug programs

 

SUD/Opioids

 

Dental & Denti-Cal

 

Cannabis/Prop.64

 DPH only
 

Mental/Behavioral Health

State hospitals / Autism / county services / Prop. 63 / suicide prevention/ Developmental Disabilities

 

Medi-Cal/Drug Medi-Cal

Eligibility & enrollment / provider rates/ MCO tax /Fraud / federal issues / disproportionate share hospitals / waivers / dual eligible / long term care integration / Rx drugs / specialty mental health / health homes / coverage & benefits / CBAS /federally qualified health centers (FQHCs) / rural health centers (RHCs)/ GHPP / CHDP/ CCS /

 

County health services / COHS/Indigent care

 

Medi-Cal Managed Care

 

End-of-life

 Advance directives / hospice / palliative care / right to die

 

Emergency Medical Services

 

Health Workforce
 Workforce diversity / training programs / loan repayment / scope of practice / medical technicians

 

Hospitals/Health Facilities

 Community clinics/Charity care / Licensing /Seismic/Staffing requirements / OSHPD/

 Trauma /hospital related EMS /

 Health care districts/surgical centers

 

Nursing Homes

 (licensing only)
 

Reproductive health

 

Tobacco control

 Proposition 99/  Tobacco Tax
 

Vital Statistics

 

Organ donation

Exchange

 Insurance Market / CalHEERS

 

Health insurance
 Managed care, pharmacy

 

Insurance Mandate Bills

 California Health Benefits Review Program (CHBRP) / Essential Health Benefits (EHBs)

 

Medicare

 Insurance regulation

 

 

Medical Privacy

 HIPAA/CMIA

 

Transparency of health care information

 Quality improvement / telehealth / health information technology

 

Copyright © 2011 State of California