Committee Staff

Health Committee Staff

Rosielyn Pulmano, Chief Consultant Email: rosielyn.pulmano@asm.ca.gov

Judith Babcock, Senior Consultant Email: judy.babcock@asm.ca.gov
Scott Bain, Principal Consultant Email: scott.bain@asm.ca.gov
Lara Flynn, Principal Consultant Email: lara.flynn@asm.ca.gov
Kristene Mapile, Principal Consultant Email: kristene.mapile@asm.ca.gov

Patty Rodgers, Lead Secretary Email: patty.rodgers@asm.ca.gov
Marshall Kirkland, Secretary Email: marshall.kirkland@asm.ca.gov

                                                   Consultant Policy Assignments

Rosielyn Pulmano

Judy Babcock

Scott Bain

Lara Flynn

Kristene Mapile

Budget coordination

 

Children's Health 
FamilyPACT / infant health / birth defects pupil health / pediatric care / WIC program / Genetic Disease Screening Program / school nutrition

 

Pharmaceuticals / Pharmacy / Dietary Supplements
High-priced specialty drugs / CURES

 

Public Health Programs
communicable & noncommunicable diseases / vaccines and immunizations/ HIV/AIDS / STDs / chronic diseases / cancer / obesity / diabetes / hypertension / prevention / drinking water / environmental health / bioterrorism / health disparities/Sherman Food, Drug and Cosmetic Law

 

Food safety / Food Labelling / Nutrition
California Retail Food Code (Excluding: children's nutrition)

 

Biotechnology / Stem cell research
Proposition 71 /cloning / genetics / emerging therapies

 

Laboratories
CLIA / Lab Field Services (X-ray, CT) / medical devices

Alcohol/Drug programs

Residential treatment facilities/Out-patient treatment / Sober living homes / Narcotic treatment programs

 

SUD/Opioids
Medication Assisted Treatment (MAT)/Naloxone/SAMSHA

 

Dental & Denti-Cal

 

Cannabis / Prop.64
YEPEITA / DPH related Manufacturing / Labeling

 

Mental/Behavioral Health

State hospitals / Autism / County services / Lanterman Petris Short (LPS) Act / Conservatorships / Laura’s Law/Prop. 63 - MHSA / suicide prevention / Developmental Disabilities

Medi-Cal/Drug Medi-Cal
Eligibility & enrollment / provider rates / MCO tax / Fraud / federal issues / disproportionate share hospitals / waivers / dual eligible / long term care integration / Rx drugs / specialty mental health / health homes / coverage & benefits / CBAS / federally qualified health centers (FQHCs) / rural health centers (RHCs) / GHPP / CHDP/ CCS

 

County health services / COHS/Indigent care

 

Medi-Cal Managed Care

 

End-of-life
 Advance directives / hospice / palliative care / End of Life Option Act

 

Emergency Medical Services Authority

 

Health Workforce
Workforce diversity / training

programs / loan repayment / scope of practice / medical technicians

 

Hospitals/Health Facilities
Hospital management and safety / Charity care / Licensing / Seismic / Staffing requirements / OSHPD/ Trauma  / hospital related EMS / Health care districts / surgical centers / Community clinics

 

Nursing Homes

 

Reproductive health

 

Tobacco products & control
Proposition 99/  Tobacco Tax

 

Vital Statistics

 

Organ donation

Exchange / Covered CA

Insurance Market / CalHEERS

 

Health insurance
HMOs, PPOs, Knox-Keene Act, other commercial health insurance products

 

Insurance Mandate Bills
 California Health Benefits Review Program (CHBRP) / Essential Health Benefits (EHBs)

 

Medicare
Insurance regulation

 

Medical Privacy
HIPAA/CMIA

 

Transparency of health care information
Quality improvement / telehealth / health information technology

 

Copyright © 2011 State of California