Welcome to the Committee on Health

Committee Jurisdiction: Primary jurisdictions are health care, health insurance, Medi-Cal and other public health care programs, mental health licensing of health and health-related professionals, and long-term health care facilities.

The Health Committee is located in Room 6005 and the phone number is (916) 319-2097.  The public email for informational hearing written testimony is AHEA.Committee@assembly.ca.gov. Please use the portal, not the email address, to submit individual position letters on a bill.

Witness Deadline: In order to testify on a bill during a hearing, please email patty.rodgers@asm.ca.gov before the end of the day the Thursday before the hearing. We will need to know the name of the witness, organization, and how they will testify (i.e. telephone, Witness Video Room at the Capitol, Remote Testimony Video on the Capitol grounds).

 

Assembly Member Jim Wood

Assembly Member Jim Wood,
Chair of the Health Committee

Assembly Member Brian Maienschein, Vice Chair

Assembly Member Chad Mayes,
Vice Chair of the Health Committee

Position letters are due the Wednesday before the hearing by noon.
For information on how to submit a position letter please see the 

Advocacy Quick Reference Guide
Submit Position Letter
 

Important COVID-19 Information

The public will have the ability to participate in committee hearings by offering comment in the following ways:

  • The Capitol will be open for attendance of this hearing; however, due to guidance on physical distancing, seating for the hearings will be minimal for the press and public. In-person attendance is not recommended. All are encouraged to watch the hearings from their livestream on the Assembly’s website at https://www.assembly.ca.gov/todaysevents.
  • Remote Testimony Station location:
    • Sacramento – State Capitol Park - North steps
  • Written testimony before the hearing via the position letter portal. Please note that any written testimony submitted to the committee is considered public comment and may be read into the record or reprinted.

Health Committee Staff

Rosielyn Pulmano, Chief Consultant Email: rosielyn.pulmano@asm.ca.gov

Judith Babcock, Senior Consultant Email: judy.babcock@asm.ca.gov
Scott Bain, Principal Consultant Email: scott.bain@asm.ca.gov
Lara Flynn, Principal Consultant Email: lara.flynn@asm.ca.gov
Kristene Mapile, Principal Consultant Email: kristene.mapile@asm.ca.gov

Patty Rodgers, Lead Secretary Email: patty.rodgers@asm.ca.gov
Marshall Kirkland, Secretary Email: marshall.kirkland@asm.ca.gov

Amidst the COVID-19 pandemic, we have all been asked to sacrifice a lot to keep our friends, family and those around us safe and healthy. However, we must all recognize that during state and national emergencies, often our most vulnerable communities are the ones disproportionately impacted.

For more information as it becomes available, please be sure to visit the following websites:

California Coronavirus (COVID-19) Response

CA Department of Public Health

CA Employment Development Department 

Attorney General Becerra Issues Consumer Alert on Price Gouging Following Statewide Declaration of State of Emergency for Novel Coronavirus Cases in CA Communities 

File a Consumer Complaint Against a Business/Company

Office of Governor Gavin Newsom - Newsroom

https://a02.asmdc.org/covid-19

 

 

Committee Room

Contact Information

Assembly Health Committee
State Capitol, Room 6005
Sacramento, California 95814
916.319.2097 phone
916.319.2197 fax
Members & Staff

Copyright © 2011 State of California