Welcome to the Committee on Health

Committee Jurisdiction: Primary jurisdictions are health care, health insurance, Medi-Cal and other public health care programs, mental health licensing of health and health-related professionals, and long-term health care facilities.

The Health Committee is located in Room 6005 and the phone number is (916) 319-2097.

Position letters for the July 28 Hearing are due on Tuesday, July 21, 2020 by close of business.

COVID-19 Information

Due to the statewide stay-at-home order and guidance on physical distancing, seating for committee hearings will be very limited for press and for the public. All are encouraged to watch our hearing from its live stream on the Assembly’s website at https://www.assembly.ca.gov/todaysevents.

We encourage the public to submit written testimony before the hearing through the Position Letter web portal. Please note that any written testimony submitted to the committee is considered public comment and may be read into the record or reprinted. For public comment not related to specific legislation, please submit via email to AHEA.Committee@assembly.ca.gov.

The Capitol will be open for attendance of committee hearings, but the public is strongly encouraged to participate via the web portal or telephonically.

Information regarding a call-in option for testimony will be made available on the committee website closer to the hearing date. We encourage the public to monitor the committee’s website for updates.

Health Committee hearing call-in information for June 9th (Number:877-692-8957 (PIN: 2426237)

Assembly Member Jim Wood

Assembly Member Jim Wood,
Chair of the Health Committee

Assembly Member Brian Maienschein, Vice Chair

Assembly Member Chad Mayes,
Vice Chair of the Health Committee

For information on how to submit a position letter please see the 
Advocacy Quick Reference Guide
Submit Position Letter
 

Health Committee Staff

Rosielyn Pulmano, Chief Consultant Email: rosielyn.pulmano@asm.ca.gov

Judith Babcock, Senior Consultant Email: judy.babcock@asm.ca.gov
Scott Bain, Principal Consultant Email: scott.bain@asm.ca.gov
Lara Flynn, Principal Consultant Email: lara.flynn@asm.ca.gov
Kristene Mapile, Principal Consultant Email: kristene.mapile@asm.ca.gov

Patty Rodgers, Lead Secretary Email: patty.rodgers@asm.ca.gov
Marshall Kirkland, Secretary Email: marshall.kirkland@asm.ca.gov

Amidst the COVID-19 pandemic, we have all been asked to sacrifice a lot to keep our friends, family and those around us safe and healthy. However, we must all recognize that during state and national emergencies, often our most vulnerable communities are the ones disproportionately impacted.

For more information as it becomes available, please be sure to visit the following websites:

California Coronavirus (COVID-19) Response

CA Department of Public Health

CA Employment Development Department 

Attorney General Becerra Issues Consumer Alert on Price Gouging Following Statewide Declaration of State of Emergency for Novel Coronavirus Cases in CA Communities 

File a Consumer Complaint Against a Business/Company

Office of Governor Gavin Newsom - Newsroom

https://a02.asmdc.org/covid-19

Committee Room

Contact Information

Assembly Health Committee
State Capitol, Room 6005
Sacramento, California 95814
916.319.2097 phone
916.319.2197 fax
Members & Staff

Copyright © 2011 State of California