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Date of Hearing: April 16, 2024

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HEALTH
Mia Bonta, Chair
AB 2650 (Zbur) — As Amended March 18, 2024

SUBJECT: Licensed adult residential facilities and residential care facilities for the elderly: data
collection.

SUMMARY:: Requires the California Department of Social Services (DSS) to collect
demographic information, as specified, from licensed residential care facilities for the elderly
(RCFEs) and licensed adult residential care facilities (ARFs). Specifically, this bill:

1) Requires DSS, beginning May 1, 2026 and annually thereafter, to collect information and
report to each county’s department of mental health or behavioral health the:

a) Total number of licensed RCFEs and licensed ARFs that exclusively accept public
benefits recipients or residents diagnosed with a serious mental illness (SMI);

b) Total number of licensed RCFEs and licensed ARFs that serve public benefits recipients
or residents diagnosed with a SMI and that have exclusive use contracts with other
public agencies; and,

c) The total number of residents occupying beds in licensed RCFEs and ARFs who are any
of the following:

1) A public benefits recipient or a person diagnosed with a serious mental illness;
i) A person described in i) above who is receiving regional center funding; or,

iii) A person described in i) above has a previous history of homelessness,
incarceration, or institutionalization.

2) Requires DSS to post the report required by this section on its internet website.
3) Sunsets the provisions of this bill on January 1, 2029.
EXISTING LAW:

1) Establishes the “California Community Care Facilities Act” to provide for the licensure and
regulation of community care facilities. [Health and Safety Code (HSC) §1500, et seq.]

2) Defines “community care facility” to mean any facility, place, or building that is maintained
and operated to provide nonmedical residential care, day treatment, adult day care, or foster
family agency services for children, adults, or children and adults, including, but not limited
to, individuals with physical disabilities or mental impairments and abused or neglected
children. Includes within this definition, among a number of other facilities: adult day
programs, foster family homes, small family homes, full-service adoption agencies, short-
term residential therapeutic programs, and crisis nurseries. [HSC §1502]
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Defines “residential facility” to mean any family home, group care facility, or similar facility
determined by DSS, for 24-hour nonmedical care of persons in need of personal services,
supervision, or assistance essential for sustaining the activities of daily living for the
protection of the individual. [HSC §1502]

Establishes the “California Residential Care Facilities for the Elderly Act” to provide for the
licensure and regulation of RCFEs as a separate category within the existing licensing
structure of DSS. Defines RCFE to mean a housing arrangement chosen voluntarily by
individuals ages 60 and older, or their authorized representative, where varying levels and
intensities of care and supervision, protective supervision, personal care, or health-related
services are provided, based upon their varying needs, as determined in order to be admitted
and to remain in the facility. [HSC 81569, et seq.]

Defines ARF to mean any facility of any capacity that provides 24-hour-a-day nonmedical
care and supervision to persons 18-59 years of age. [22 California Code of Regulations
§80001(a)(5)]

Requires DSS to annually collect information and send a report to each county’s department
of mental health or behavioral health of all licensed ARFs and RCFEs in the county that
accept the federal supplemental security rate and accept residents with a serious mental
disorder, and the number of licensed beds at each facility. [HSC §1507 and §1569.4]

Requires DSS to quarterly send to each county’s department of mental health or behavioral
health the report of licensed ARFs and RCFEs that closed permanently in the prior quarter,
by county, and must include the number of licensed beds of each facility and the reason for
closing. [HSC §1507.4 and 1569.4]

Establishes the State Supplementary Payment (SSP) for people who are aged, blind, or
disabled, which is intended to supplement federal Supplemental Security Income (SSI) and
provide persons whose needs result from age, blindness, or disability with assistance and
services that help them meet basic needs and maintain or increase independence. Further
provides that eligibility requirements for SSP match federal SSI criteria, and requires a
minimum level of SSP benefits to be provided in order to maintain federal Medicaid funding,
as specified. [Welfare and Institutions Code (WIC) 812000, et seq.]

Defines “serious mental disorder” as a mental disorder that is severe in degree and persistent
in duration, which may cause behavioral functioning which interferes substantially with the
primary activities of daily living, and which may result in an inability to maintain stable
adjustment and independent functioning without treatment, support, and rehabilitation for a
long or indefinite period of time. [WIC 85600.3]

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown. This bill has not yet been analyzed by a fiscal committee.

COMMENTS:

1)

PURPOSE OF THIS BILL. According to the author, licensed ARFs and RCFEs are
integral to California's housing response, offering essential services like housing, meals,
medication management, and support to vulnerable populations, including those on public
benefits and individuals with SMIs. The author continues that despite their significant
contribution to our communities, many of these facilities are closing due to funding
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constraints, placing the residents at risk of becoming unhoused, incarcerated, or
institutionalized. The author argues that to equip us to respond to this challenge, this bill
requires DSS to collect and publicly report data, including details regarding bed counts,
information regarding the number of residents who rely on public benefits, and more. The
author concludes that this information will help policymakers and local health officials
understand the populations that these facilities serve and will inform future decisions and
prevent further closures of these essential facilities.

2) BACKGROUND. RCFEs are nonmedical facilities that house and care for the aging
population that do not need 24 hour nursing care, but need basic daily help for services such
as housekeeping, medication assistance, personal and hygiene care, and eating. There are
three levels of care permitted in an RCFE which range from basic care when a resident still
can retain some independence, to nonmedical care when a resident needs help with personal
daily living activities, and the highest level of care is reserved for someone who needs
extensive care with daily living activities and may have chronic health problems.

ARFs are residential facilities that offer 24-hour nonmedical care and supervision for persons
in need of personal services, supervision, or assistance essential for sustaining the activities
of daily living or for the protection of the individual. ARFs may serve persons who are 18-59
years of age or those who are 60 years of age or older under specified requirements. These
clients may have a mental, physical or developmental disabilities. Like RCFEs, ARFs are for
people who are unable to live by themselves but who do not need 24 hour nursing care.

a) Statewide Facility Shortages. The California Behavioral Health Planning Council
(CBHPC) published a report in 2018 titled “Highlighting the critical need for adult
residential facilities for adults with serious mental illness in California.” The report
details that a combination of facility closures and a lack of new facilities or other
adequate supportive housing options are leaving individuals with SMI without
sustainable housing options that meet their care needs after discharge from a treatment
program, hospital or correctional institution. The CBHPC report notes that this results in
a “revolving door scenario” where people are discharged or released from one of the
above and then are unable to find appropriate residential care or housing. Thus, another
mental health crisis ensues, resulting in a return to high-level crisis programs, facilities,
hospitals, jails/prisons or homelessness.

In 2020 the Legislature passed AB 1766 (Bloom), Chapter 139, Statutes of 2020, which
requires DSS to collect and report quarterly data on RCFEs and ARFs that close
permanently, and requires DSS to notify the county mental or behavioral health
department within three days upon receiving notice that a facility intends to close
permanently. AB 1766 also required DSS to collect data on the number of facilities that
accept residents with a SMI or are on public benefits. The Los Angeles Times reported on
the 2023 data, citing that 142 facilities closed and a total of 3,057 beds were lost
statewide. This bill aims to build upon existing reporting required by DSS to provide
more detailed insights on the implications of this facility closure crisis for populations
with a SMI or receiving public benefits.

3) SUPPORT. The Licensed Adult Residential Care Association (LARCA) is the sponsor of
this bill, stating that the behavioral health and housing systems for our most vulnerable
populations are severely overwhelmed and struggle to provide adequate care and the problem
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is especially pronounced for those living with serious mental illness and receiving public
benefits. LARCA continues that this bill is a crucial step in better understanding the scope of
ARFs and RCFEs and the challenges they face by fixing a data shortfall in the collection of
information related to how many residents diagnosed with serious mental illness or receiving
public benefits actually occupy beds in facilities. LARCA concludes that this is crucial to
better understand and stabilize this housing and behavioral health solution that keeps low-
income individuals and those experiencing serious mental illness in housing and off the
streets.

RELATED LEGISLATION. SB 1017 (Eggman) requires the State Department of Health
Care Services (DHCS), in consultation with the State Department of Public Health (DPH)
and DSS, to develop a solution to collect, aggregate, and display information about beds to
identify the availability of inpatient and residential mental health or substance use disorder
(SUD) treatment for specified types of facilities.

PREVIOUS LEGISLATION.

a) SB 363 (Eggman) of 2023 would have required DHCS, in consultation with DPH, DSS,
and specified stakeholders, to develop a real-time, internet-based database to collect,
aggregate, and display information about beds in specified facilities to identify the
availability of inpatient and residential mental health or SUD treatment. SB 363 was held
on the Assembly Appropriations Committee suspense file.

b) SB 648 (Hurtado) of 2021 would have established the Enriched Care Adult Residential
Facility pilot program for the purpose of promoting the sustainability of essential
residential care facilities that serve recipients who receive SSI/SSP benefits. Specifically,
SB 648 would have established a monthly stipend of $1,000 per SSI/SSP recipient
residing in qualifying licensed adult residential facilities and RCFEs. The stipend would
have been capped at $4,000 per month. SB 648 was placed on the Senate inactive file.

c) AB 1766 requires DSS to collect information and send a report to each county’s
department of mental health or behavioral health of all licensed ARFs and RCFEs in the
county that accept the federal supplemental security rate and accept residents with a
serious mental disorder, as defined, and the number of licensed beds at each facility.
Requires DSS to send to each county’s department of mental health or behavioral health
the report of licensed ARFs and RCFEs that closed permanently in the prior quarter, by
county, the number of licensed beds of each facility, and the reason for closing, as
specified.

d) SB 1259 (Hurtado) of 2020 would have required DSS to establish a task force for the
purpose of issuing a report that would have included recommendations on how to meet
the housing and care needs of low-income individuals who are blind, disabled, or over 65
years of age and receiving SSI/SSP. SB 1259 would also have required DSS to provide
updates on its progress in developing the report to specified committees. SB 1259 was
held on the Assembly Appropriations Committee suspense file.

DOUBLE REFERRAL. This bill is double referred, it passed the Assembly Committee on
Human Services with a 6-0 vote on April 9, 2024.
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REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:
Support

Licensed Adult Residential Care Association (sponsor)
Opposition

None on file.

Analysis Prepared by: Riana King/ HEALTH / (916) 319-2097
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Date of Hearing: April 16, 2024

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HEALTH
Mia Bonta, Chair
AB 2680 (Aguiar-Curry) — As Introduced February 14, 2024

SUBJECT: Alzheimer’s disease.

SUMMARY': Makes several changes to the Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Disorders
(ADRD) Advisory Committee in the California Health and Human Services Agency (CHHSA).

1) Renames the ADRD Advisory Committee to the Alzheimer’s Disease and Related
Conditions (ADRC) Advisory Committee.

2) Expands the number of members serving on the ADRC Advisory Committee from 14 to at
least 21, but not more than 25, members. Adds the following members to the ADRC
Advisory Committee:

a) One member representing local health jurisdictions;

b) One member representing first responders;

c) One member who is a Commissioner on the California Commission on Aging (CCA)
who has expertise regarding Alzheimer’s disease (AD) and related conditions;

d) One member representing primary care physicians;

e) Two ex officio, nonvoting members, consisting of one Senator appointed by the Senate
Committee on Rules and one Member of the Assembly appointed by the Speaker of the
Assembly. Requires these members to participate in the activities of the ADRC Advisory
Committee to the extent that their participation is not incompatible with their respective
positions as Members of the Legislature; and,

f) Up to four additional members selected by the CHHSA Secretary.

3) Specifies that members described in 2) a) through d) and 2) f) above serve at the pleasure of
the CHHSA Secretary and members described in 2) €) above serve at the pleasure of their
appointing authority.

4) Removes the one-year term limit for the two people who have been diagnosed with AD or a
related condition.

5) Revises references to AD to also refer to related conditions.
EXISTING LAW:

1) Requires the CHHSA Secretary to be responsible for the oversight and coordination of
programs serving people living with AD and related disorders and their families, including,
but not limited to:

a) State level support and assistance to all programs within CHHSA and member
departments developed for this target population;

b) Establishment of the ADRD Advisory Committee; and,

c) Review of the recommendations contained in the 1987 California Alzheimer’s Disease
Task Force Report and subsequent state plans, in consultation with appropriate state
departments and the ADRD Advisory Committee. [Health & Safety Code (HSC) 8§
1568.15]
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Requires CHHSA to establish an ADRD Advisory Committee consisting of 14 members

selected as follows:

a) One representing the field of academic medical research;

b) One representing the field of social research;

c) One representing the field of mental health;

d) One representing the AD day care resource centers;

e) One representing the AD diagnostic and treatment centers;

f) Two representing families of persons suffering from AD or related disorders;

g) Two representing organizations providing services to AD patients;

h) One representing a consumer organization representing persons with AD;

i) One representing a member of the State Bar who is familiar with the legal issues
confronting AD victims and their families;

j) Two people who have been diagnosed with AD to serve one-year terms; and

k) The CHHSA Secretary or their designee. [HSC § 1568.17]

Provides that members of the ADRD Advisory Committee serve at the pleasure of the
CHHSA Secretary. [Ibid]

Authorizes the CHHSA Secretary to establish fixed terms for ADRD Advisory Committee
membership and requires those terms to be staggered. [1bid]

Requires members of the ADRD Advisory Committee to serve without compensation, but to
receive reimbursement for travel and other necessary expenses actually incurred in the
performance of their official duties. [1bid]

Requires the ADRD Advisory Committee to do all of the following:

a) Provide ongoing advice and assistance to the Administration and the Legislature as to the
program needs and priorities of the target population;

b) Provide planning support to the Administration and the Legislature by updating
recommendations of the 1987 California Alzheimer’s Disease Task Force Report and
regularly review and update recommendations as needed;

c) Appoint a chairperson and vice chairperson; and,

d) Meet quarterly. [Ibid]

Requires the ADRD Advisory Committee to do all of the following when making policy and

plan recommendations:

a) Consult with a broad range of stakeholders, including, but not limited to, people
diagnosed with AD, family caregivers, community-based and institutional providers, AD
researchers and academicians, formal caregivers, the Alzheimer’s Association (AA),
CCA, and other state entities;

b) Consider the recommendations of other state plans, including, but not limited to, the
Olmstead Plan, the Long-Range Strategic Plan on Aging, and the California Department
of Aging’s (CDA’s) State Plan on Aging;

c) Consider cultural and linguistic factors that impact persons with AD and their families
who are from diverse populations; and,

d) Review current state policies and practices concerning care and treatment related to AD
and other dementia disorders, and develop recommendations concerning all of the
following issues:
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i) Community-based support for California’s diverse people with AD and their family
members;

i) Choices for care and residence for persons with AD and their families;

iii) An integrated public health care management approach to AD in health care settings
that makes full use of dementia care practices;

iv) The dementia competence of health care professionals; and,

v) Early identification and intervention through increasing public awareness of AD.
[Ibid]

Requires all meetings of the ADRD Advisory Committee, and any subcommittees thereof, to
be open to the public and adequate notice be provided in accordance with the Bagley-Keene
Open Meeting Act. [HSC § 1568.17]

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown. This bill has not yet been analyzed by a fiscal committee.

COMMENTS:

1)

2)

PURPOSE OF THIS BILL. According to the author, nearly 700,000 people aged 65 and
older are living with AD in California now. Of people aged 45 and older, nearly 12% have
subjective cognitive decline. The ADRD Advisory Committee was established in 1988 to
provide ongoing advice and assistance on program needs and priorities of persons impacted
by AD and related dementia disorders. Since its creation, the population of people living with
AD is increasing, and the needs of the people affected along with our understanding of AD
has changed. The expansion of membership and terms of the members of the ADRD
Advisory Committee will better reflect the needs of today. This bill also replaces outdated,
stigmatizing language and allows committee members who have AD to serve longer terms
consistent with improved outcomes thanks to modern medicine. The author concludes that
law and representation of this community has to grow with our understanding of this
devastating group of diseases and the increasingly specialized needs of their caregivers, who
are disproportionately women.

BACKGROUND.

a) AD. According to a 2021 report “Related Dementias Facts and Figures in California:
Current Status and Future Projections” by the California Department of Public Health
(DPH) in conjunction with the AA, AD and the number of Californians 65 and older
living with AD is projected to more than double by the year 2040. Additionally, while
California’s population is expected to grow by just 16% by 2040, the number of people
living with AD will grow by 127%. Nearly 700,000 people aged 65 and older are living
with AD in California now. Of people aged 45 and older, nearly 12% have subjective
cognitive decline. Over the next 20 years, the impact of AD on the State of California
will increase dramatically. Longer life expectancies and the aging of the large baby boom
cohort will lead to an increase in the number and percentage of Californians who will be
65 years of age and older. Since the primary risk factor for AD is older age, substantial
increase is anticipated in the numbers of people who will be living with the disease.

b) ADRD Advisory Committee. The ADRD Advisory Committee was established in 1988
to provide ongoing advice and assistance on program needs and priorities of persons
impacted by AD and related dementia disorders. Since its creation, the population of
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people living with AD continues to increase and the needs of the people affected along
with our understanding of AD has evolved. Currently composed of 14 members, the
ADRD Advisory Committee has been instrumental in strategic planning projects like the
2011 California State Plan for AD.

According to DPH, AD is a type of dementia that causes problems with memory,
thinking, and behavior. Symptoms usually develop slowly and get worse over time,
becoming severe enough to interfere with daily tasks. Dementia is a general term for
memory loss and other cognitive problems that are serious enough to interfere with daily
life. AD is an irreversible, progressive brain disorder that slowly destroys memory and
thinking skills, and eventually, the ability to carry out simple tasks. While the specific
causes of AD are not fully known, it is characterized by changes in the brain that result in
loss of neurons and their connections. These changes affect a person’s ability to
remember and think. In June 2021, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration granted
conditional approval to Aduhelm (aducanumab) for the treatment of AD even though an
advisory panel had recommended against allowing the drug on the market. Aduhelm is
the first drug on the market able to remove amyloid, the sticky substance that builds up in
the brains of AD patients. According to news reports, Aduhelm is not reaching many
patients and the reasons include its high cost, insurers' reluctance to cover it, and
lingering questions about whether it actually slows memory loss.

Health Equity. According to the AA, AD and other dementias disproportionately affect
Black Americans, Hispanic Americans, Asian Americans, American Indian/Alaska
Natives, members of the LGBTQ and women. Black Americans are about two times
more likely than white Americans to have AD and other dementias. Hispanic Americans
are about one and one-half times more likely than white Americans to have AD and other
dementias. By 2050, Asian Americans are projected to comprise nearly 8% of those aged
65 and older. Native Americans have high rates of chronic conditions, including
conditions that are suspected risk factors for AD, such as obesity, diabetes and
hypertension. Almost two-thirds of those living with AD are women. Below are
recommendations from the AA on what the public health community can do:

i) In addressing dementia, public health should identify underserved populations and
those who experience a disproportionate burden of disease;

if) Public health officials must learn about the impact of AD and other forms of dementia
on these populations;

iii) The public health community must identify the local causes of these disparities and
collaborate with community partners and stakeholders to develop initiatives to
address them;

iv) Public health practitioners should be sure to identify culturally, linguistically, and age
appropriate strategies for people living with AD and their caregivers; and,

v) The public health community should collaborate with or lead initiatives to ensure that
government agencies that serve these populations are trained in appropriate and
effective strategies.

AD and Dementia in California. According to the January 2021 “Related Dementia
Facts and Figures in California: Current Status and Future Projections” (2021 Report), in
2019, approximately 660,000 Californians over 65 years of age lived with AD, which
accounted for approximately 11% of the nation’s AD prevalence (5.8 million people).
The 2021 Report points out that between 2019 and 2040:
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i)  The population of California will expand by 16%, whereas the population of people
living with AD will expand by 127%;

i) The number of Californians over 75 years of age living with AD will more than
double, growing to over 1.3 million;

iili) The number of Californians between 55 and 74 years of age living with AD will
increase 26%, growing to 194,975 people;

iv) The number of people living with AD in California’s 15 most populous counties
(those with a population of 700,000 or more) will at least double;

v) The number of Californians living with AD will increase 11% for women, growing
to 917,482 people; and increase 8% for men, growing to 609,197 people;

vi) The number of people living with AD will more than triple for Californians who
identify as Latino/Latina/Latinx (Latino/a/x) American, growing to 431,982 people;
nearly triple for Californians who identify as Black/African American, growing to
91,071 people; and more than double for Californians who identify as Asian
American/Pacific Islander, growing to 241,106 people;

vii) The number of people living with AD will more than double for Californians who
identify as lesbian, gay, or bisexual, growing to 74,522 people; and,

viii) People with Down syndrome have an increased risk of developing AD. Estimates
show that AD affects about 30% of people living with Down syndrome who are
between 50 and 59 years of age and closer to 50% of people living with Down
syndrome who are 60 years of age and older.

The 2021 Report also included discussions on living arrangements for people living with
AD; caregiving for people with AD and the costs of caring for people with AD.

AD Program. In 1984, legislation was enacted that established the AD Program. To meet
the legislative mandates of relieving the human burden and economic cost of AD and
related disorders, and to assist in ultimately discovering the cause and treatment of these
diseases, the AD Program:

i) Established and administers a statewide network of 10 California Alzheimer's Disease
Centers (CADCs) at university medical centers. The CADCs are dedicated to
improving the quality of life of persons affected with AD and their families by
providing diagnostic and treatment services; professional training for medical
residents, postdoctoral fellows, nurses, interns, and medical students; and community
education, such as caregiver training and support; and,

i) Established and administers the Alzheimer's Disease Research Fund, which awards
grants through a competitive process to scientists in California engaged in the study
of AD.

Key Partners include: CDA, California Department of Health Care Services, ADRD
Advisory Committee, AA, Caregiver Resources Centers, Area Agencies on Aging, and
the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Master Plan for Aging (MPA): In January of 2021, the Governor released his MPA.
The MPA prioritizes the health and well-being of older Californians and the need for
policies that promote healthy aging. The MPA serves as a blueprint for state government,
local government, the private sector, and philanthropy to prepare the state for the coming
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demographic changes and continue California’s leadership in aging, disability, and
equity. The work plan laid out in the MPA two years after its release continues to
highlight the urgent needs facing California’s older adults, people with disabilities, their
families, advocates and the workforce supporting these populations. The MPA outlines
five bold goals and 23 strategies to build a California for All Ages by 2030. It also
includes a Data Dashboard on Aging to measure progress. The Goals of the MPA are as
follows:

i) Goal One: Housing for All Ages and Stages;

i) Goal Two: Health Reimagined,;

iii) Goal Three: Inclusion and Equity, Not Isolation;

iv) Goal Four: Caregiving That Works; and,

v) Goal Five: Affording Aging.

g) Taskforce on Alzheimer’s Disease Prevention and Preparedness (Taskforce). In
2019, Governor Gavin Newsom formed the Taskforce. The purpose of the Taskforce was
to present recommendations to the Governor on how local communities, private
organizations, businesses, government, and families can prevent and prepare for the rise
in the number of cases of AD and all its consequences. Recommendations from the
Taskforce were incorporated into the MPA.

Specifically, the Taskforce states: “While California is known for its ‘youth culture,” the
state has the second-longest life span in the nation: 80.8 years. With age comes greater
risk for AD and all dementias. It is also true that no other state has the media-savvy or
industry our state has, meaning California is uniquely positioned to dispel myths about
aging and de-stigmatize AD. Widespread misinformation, lack of understanding and
negative perceptions in the population about dementia, AD and other age-related diseases
present a major barrier to policy change and health system transformation. Designing an
‘Alzheimer’s Public Awareness Campaign’ that educates the public about the different
neurodegenerative diseases, their prevention, symptoms, diagnosis and treatments is
essential.”

SUPPORT. AA, the sponsor this bill, states that this bill updates the ADRD Advisory
Committee membership to include critical partners for systems change, including primary
care providers, local public health officials and first responders. This bill expands the ADRD
Advisory Committee from 14 to at least 21, but not more than 25, members, adding one
representing local health jurisdictions, one representing first responders, an additional
consumer organization representative, a commissioner from the CCA who has expertise
regarding Alzheimer’s conditions or related disorders, and a representative of primary care
physicians. This bill also adds non-voting members (one Senator appointed by the Senate
Committee on Rules and one member of the Assembly appointed by the Speaker of the
Assembly), and up to four additional members selected by the CHHSA Secretary. AA
continues that this bill also removes stigmatizing language and practices from code that
negatively impact persons living with AD and their caregivers. AA concludes that this bill
overcomes stigma by removing unfair term limits for committee members living with AD or
related dementias, broadens caregiver terminology to reflect the realities of informal
caregiving, and removes other harmful terminology.

RELATED LEGISLATION. AB 2613 (Zbur) of 2024 establishes within CHHSA, until
January 1, 2029, the Jacqueline Marie Zbur Rare Disease Advisory Council (Council),
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composed of a minimum of 17 members, appointed as specified. The Council would
generally act as the advisory body on rare diseases to the Legislature and state and private
entities that provide services to, or that are charged with the care of, persons with rare
diseases. AB 2613 is pending a hearing in the Assembly Committee on Health.

5) PREVIOUS LEGISLATION.

a) AB 387 (Aguiar-Curry) of 2023 was substantially similar to this bill but was held on the
Assembly Appropriations Committee suspense file.

b) AB 1618 (Aguiar-Curry) of 2022 would have expanded the membership of the Advisory
Committee and would have established the Office of the Healthy Brain Initiative at DPH.
AB 1618 was held in Senate Appropriations Committee suspense file.

c) AB 1684 (Voepel) of 2022 would have required DPH to implement a public awareness
campaign on AD that includes education for unpaid caregivers, including family and
friends who provide care to someone with AD or dementia. AB 1684 was held in Senate
Appropriations Committee suspense file.

d) SB 861 (Limon) of 2022 would have established, upon appropriation by the Legislature,
the Dementia Care Navigator Grant Pilot Program under the CDA for the purpose of
incentivizing local organizations to provide dementia care navigation training services.
SB 861 was vetoed by the Governor.

e) SB 491 (Alquist), Chapter 339, Statutes of 2008, expands the membership of the ADRD
Advisory Committee, and requires the ADRD Advisory Committee to update the 1987
Task Force Report on Alzheimer’s and make recommendations to the CHHSA Secretary
and the Legislature.

f) SB 139 (Mello), Chapter 303, Statutes of 1988, required the establishment of the ADRD
Advisory Committee.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

Alzheimer's Association

Alzheimer's Greater Los Angeles

Alzheimer's Orange County

Alzheimer's San Diego

California Assisted Living Association

California Life Sciences

County Health Executives Association of California (CHEAC)
LeadingAge California

Opposition
None on file.

Analysis Prepared by: Eliza Brooks / HEALTH / (916) 319-2097
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Date of Hearing: April 16, 2024

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HEALTH
Mia Bonta, Chair
AB 2775 (Gipson) — As Amended April 1, 2024

SUBJECT: Emergency medical services.

SUMMARY:: Authorizes the Emergency Medical Services Authority (EMSA) to develop
planning and implementation guidelines for the use of telehealth, within existing authority, in
emergency medical services (EMS) systems. Authorizes EMSA to develop guidelines for the
collection of data regarding the use of telehealth in EMS systems and requires EMSA to consider
existing data collection systems, including the California Emergency Medical Services
Information System (CEMSIS).

EXISTING LAW:

1) Establishes EMSA, which is responsible for the coordination and integration of all state
activities concerning EMS, including the establishment of minimum standards, policies, and
procedures. [Health and Safety Code (HSC) §1797.100, et seq.]

2) Authorizes counties to develop an EMS program and designate a local EMS agency
(LEMSA) responsible for planning and implementing an EMS system, which includes day-
to-day EMS system operations. [HSC §1797.200, et seq.]

3) Requires an emergency medical care provider to do both of the following when collecting
and submitting data to a LEMSA:

a) Use an electronic health record system that exports data in a format that is compliant with
the current versions of CEMSIS and the National Emergency Medical Services
Information System (NEMSIS) standards and includes those data elements that are
required by the LEMSA; and,

b) Ensure that the electronic health record system can be integrated with the LEMSA’s data
system, so that the LEMSA may collect data from the provider. [HSC § 1797.227]

4) Defines "Emergency Medical Technician-Paramedic," "EMT-P," "paramedic" or "mobile
intensive care paramedic" as an individual whose scope of practice includes the ability to
provide advanced life support, as specified, including administering specified medications.
EMT-Ps are licensed and regulated at the state level through EMSA. [HSC §1797.84]

5) Establishes the Health Workforce Pilot Projects (HWPP) in the Department of Health Care
Access and Information (HCAI) which states legislative findings that experimentation with
new kinds and combinations of health care delivery systems is desirable and that for purposes
of this experimentation, a select number of publicly evaluated HWPPs should be exempt
from the healing arts practices acts. [HSC §128125, ef seq.]

6) Permits HCAI to designate HWPPs as approved projects where the projects are sponsored by
community hospitals or clinics, nonprofit educational institutions, or governmental agencies
engaged in health or education activities. Permits a trainee (defined as a person being taught
health care skills) in an approved project to perform health care services under the
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supervision of a supervisor (someone who is already licensed to provide the health care
services) where the general scope of the services has been approved by HCAIL [HSC
§128135 and §128140]

Establishes the Community Paramedicine or Triage to Alternate Destination Act of 2020.
Defines “community paramedicine program” as consisting of one of two specialties:
providing directly observed therapy to persons with tuberculosis in collaboration with a
public health agency; and, providing case management services to frequent EMS users in
collaboration with, and by providing referral to, existing appropriate community resources.
Defines “triage to alternate destination” as consisting of three specialties: providing care and
comfort services to hospice patients in their homes in response to 911 calls; providing
patients with advanced life support triage and assessment by a triage paramedic and
transportation to an alternate destination facility, which can include an authorized mental
health facility or an authorized sobering center; and, providing transport services for patients
who identify as veterans and desire transport to a local veterans administration emergency
department (ED) for treatment. [HSC §1800 ef seq.]

Requires EMSA to develop regulations that establish minimum standards for the
development of a community paramedicine or triage to alternate destination program, and
requires the Commission on EMS to review and approve the regulations. Requires the
regulations to be based upon, and informed by, the Community Paramedicine Pilot Program
under HWPP #173, and the protocols and operation of the pilot projects approved under
HWPP #173. [HSC §1830]

Defines “telehealth” to mean the mode of delivering health care services and public health
via information and communication technologies to facilitate the diagnosis, consultation,
treatment, education, care management, and self-management of a patient’s health care.
Includes synchronous interactions and asynchronous store and forward transfers. [Business
and Professions Code § 2290.5 (a)(6)]

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown. This bill has not yet been analyzed by a fiscal committee.

COMMENTS:

1)

2)

PURPOSE OF THIS BILL. According to the author, today's existing healthcare model of
directing all transports to hospitals has created congestion in EDs. Community Paramedicine
can play an important role in improving California's healthcare delivery system and is an
innovative model of care. This bill would ensure that the Legislature maintains oversight of
the community paramedicine programs created in AB 767 (Gipson) Chapter 270, Statutes of
2023. These programs aim to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of healthcare delivery
by using specially trained paramedics in partnership with other healthcare providers to
address the needs of local healthcare systems.

BACKGROUND.

a) The Community Paramedicine or Triage to Alternate Destination Act. In November
of 2014, the Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development (which has since been
merged into HCALI) approved an application from EMSA to establish HWPP #173, to test
different concepts of community paramedicine. Initially, HWPP #173 encompassed 13
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sites testing six concepts, with more sites added over the ensuring years, including a
seventh concept testing transporting patients to a sobering center. HWPP #173 was
extended multiple times, and over the years, some sites were added while other pilot
project sites were shut down. The following are the concepts that were tested by this pilot
project:

1) Post-Discharge Short-Term Follow-Up, intended to provide home-based follow up
care to people recently discharged from a hospital due to a chronic condition;

i) Frequent EMS Users, intended to provide case management to frequent 911 callers
and frequent visitors to EDs by connecting them with primary care, behavioral health,
housing, and social services;

iii) Directly Observed Therapy for Tuberculosis, where the paramedic dispensed
medication and observed patients taking them to assure effective treatment;

iv) Hospice, where paramedics, in response to 911 calls, collaborated with hospice
agency nurses, patients, and family members to treat patients in their homes,
according to their wishes, instead of transporting to an ED;

v) Alternate Destination — Behavioral Health, where paramedics, in response to 911
calls, offer to transport people who have behavioral health needs but no emergency
medical needs to a mental health crisis center instead of an ED,;

vi) Alternate Destination — Urgent Care, where paramedics, responding to 911 calls, offer
people with low-acuity medical conditions transport to an urgent care center instead
of an ED; and,

vii) Alternate Destination — Sobering Center, where paramedics, in response to 911 calls,
offer people who are acutely intoxicated but do not have acute medical or mental
health needs transport directly to a sobering center for monitoring instead of an ED.

After several legislative attempts to authorize these concepts in statute to make them
permanent, AB 1544 (Gipson), Chapter 138, Statutes of 2020, was signed into law in
2020, creating the Community Paramedicine or Triage to Alternate Destination Act. Of
the seven concepts, all were included in AB 1544 except for two: Alternate Destination —
Urgent Care, which was not included because all project sites testing this concept had
closed down; and Post-Discharge, Short-Term Follow-up, which had mixed results in
early test sites. While Post-Discharge, Short-Term Follow-up was not included as part of
the Community Paramedicine or Triage to Alternate Destination Act, AB 1544 did
include a provision permitting the two remaining pilot project sites in that specialty at the
time, Solano County and the City of Alameda (since closed down), to continue operating
until January 1, 2024.

AB 1544 required EMSA to adopt regulations implementing the bill, and included a
provision that permitted the existing pilot programs to continue operating while the
regulations were being developed until up to one year after EMSA adopted the
regulations. Once the regulations were adopted, EMSA could approve additional
community paramedic or alternative destination programs that were developed by
LEMSASs, and the existing pilot programs would have to be approved to continue after
the initial year. However, regulations were not finalized until October 31, 2022, and
because the entire program was scheduled to sunset in January of 2024, no new programs
were added, and some pilot project sites are no longer operating. AB 1544 extended the
sunset on these pilot programs to January 1, 2031.
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AB 767 added short-term, post discharge follow-up for persons recently discharged from
a hospital to the list of eligible community paramedicine services, requires EMSA to
amend existing regulations to include that service, and extends the sunset date of the
community paramedicine program from January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2031.

During the discussion around AB 767 technical assistance was provided by EMSA that
raised the issue of telehealth use in the field by deploying higher medical authorities
operating within their scope of practice. After review of the issue, EMSA recommended
that they be authorized to develop guidelines to ensure consistency in system design and
data collection across EMS systems in California.

b) NEMSIS and CEMSIS. NEMSIS was formed in 2001 by the National Association of
State EMS Directors, in conjunction with the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration and the Trauma/EMS Systems program of the Health Resources and
Services Administration’s Maternal Child Health Bureau, in order to develop a national
EMS database. NEMSIS is the national repository that will be used to potentially store
EMS data from every state in the nation, and was developed to help states collect more
standardized elements to allow submission to the national database.

CEMSIS is a demonstration project for improving EMS data analysis across California.
CEMSIS offers a secure, centralized data system for collecting data about individual
EMS requests, patients treated at hospitals, and EMS provider organizations. CEMSIS
uses the NEMSIS standard for how patient care information resulting from a 9-1-1 call
for emergency assistance is collected. Thirty-three of California’s 34 LEMSAs currently
send a variety of local data collections to CEMSIS on a voluntary basis, and in return,
these local agencies gain access to digital tools for running comprehensive reports on
their own data at no cost.

3) SUPPORT. The California Professional Firefighters (CPF) are a cosponsor of this bill and
state that the healthcare needs of Californians have changed dramatically in recent years,
compounded by the COVID-19 pandemic as well as the behavioral health and homelessness
crises. Many people now rely on both emergency medical care and the ED of the hospital for
their primary medical care, resulting in overcrowding and long delays that lead to impacts
across the emergency system. In order to manage these needs, new paradigms of medical
care have developed in order to divert cases from the ED that can be effectively treated
elsewhere, as well as connecting patients with needed services to reduce hospital
readmissions and future 911 calls. Fire departments throughout California have been at the
forefront of these efforts, piloting and implementing community paramedicine and triage to
alternate destination programs as well as developing mobile integrated health units to meet
their community members where they are needed.

CPF notes that providing access to medical professional and advice via telehealth with fully
licensed physicians gives another tool to paramedics in the field to reduce unnecessary
transports to EDs. Whether it is writing a refill for a necessary prescription or confirming
transport to a specialized psychiatric unit that can provide the appropriate treatment for a
behavioral health crisis, telemedicine offers flexibility and additional options for emergency
medical services providers. CPF concludes that by developing enhanced data collection
systems, this bill will strengthen consistency in use of telehealth to ensure the highest quality
of patient care.
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The California Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians (California
ACEP) is also a cosponsor and states that this bill continues to build on California’s
commitment to providing safe, high quality community paramedicine services by clarifying
EMSA’s authority to develop guidelines surrounding telemedicine, including considering
data collection systems used in community paramedicine. With these guidelines in place, the
utilization of telemedicine would operate under consistent guidance across systems,
improving access to care. Community paramedicine is an innovative model of care that when
implemented thoughtfully can improve access and reduce healthcare costs. California ACEP
concludes that this bill allows for consistent guidance statewide to maintain standards for
patient safety and quality care.

OPPOSE UNLESS AMENDED. Association of Regional Center Agencies (ARCA) is
opposed to this bill unless it is amended and states that this bill would move the sunset back
on the expansion of a program allowing paramedics to triage individuals and, when
appropriate, transport them to mental health facilities (or sobering centers). But for
individuals with developmental disabilities, a physical health crisis may seem solely
behavioral. For instance, a person with non-verbal autism may have a ruptured appendix,
causing a severe behavioral crisis that, in itself, would warrant use of this program’s triage
provisions. But with the underlying physical issue remaining undiagnosed, the chance to
avert permanent injury or death may be missed.

County-specific protocols state that if a reliable exam cannot be obtained through clear and
coherent communication with the patient, they shall be transported to an emergency
department. We continue to believe this mandate should be built into this statewide program,
and urge the inclusion of a new subdivision within Health and Safety Code as follows:

§ 1831(f) A requirement that when a reliable exam cannot be obtained, including due to
communication barriers, the patient shall only be transported to an emergency department.

With this change, ARCA believes existing county guidance can be made uniform and
statewide, the safety of individuals with developmental disabilities can be better protected,
and the worthy core intent of triage to alternate destinations can be retained.

RELATED LEGISLATION. AB 2700 (Gabriel) requires the state to survey and analyze
the facilities in each county that could serve as an alternate destination facility. Requires
EMSA to publish a report that provides each LEMSA with the current number, capacity and
type of alternate destination facilities. Requires a LEMSAs, in consultation with the county,
to develop an alternate destination facility plan with protocols for transporting an individual
to an alternate destination facility instead of ED. AB 2700 is pending a hearing in the
Assembly Emergency Management Committee.

PREVIOUS LEGISLATION.

a) AB 767 adds short-term, post discharge follow-up for persons recently discharged from a
hospital to the list of eligible community paramedicine services and requires EMSA to
amend existing regulations to include that service. Extends the sunset date of the
community paramedicine program from January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2031.

b) AB 1544 establishes the Community Paramedicine or Triage to Alternate Destination Act
of 2020, which permits LEMSAs, with approval by EMSA, to develop programs to
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provide community paramedic or triage to alternate destination services in one of the
following specialties: i) providing directly observed tuberculosis therapy; ii) providing
case management services to frequent emergency medical services users; iii) providing
hospice services to treat patients in their homes; and, iv) providing patients with transport
to an alternate destination, which can either be an authorized mental health facility, or an
authorized sobering center.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:
Support

California Chapter of The American College of Emergency Physicians (cosponsor)
California Professional Firefighters (cosponsor)

Opposition

None on file.

Analysis Prepared by: Lara Flynn/ HEALTH / (916) 319-2097
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Date of Hearing: April 16, 2024

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HEALTH
Mia Bonta, Chair
AB 2859 (Jim Patterson) — As Amended March 18, 2024

SUBJECT: Emergency medical technicians: peer support.

SUMMARY:: Authorizes an emergency medical services (EMS) provider to establish a peer
support and crisis referral program to provide a network of peer representatives available to aid
fellow employees on emotional or professional issues. Provides that EMS personnel, whether or
not a party to an action, have a right to refuse to disclose, and to prevent another from disclosing,
a confidential communication between the EMS personnel and a peer support team member,
crisis hotline, or crisis referral service, except under limited circumstances, including, if
disclosure is reasonably believed to be necessary to prevent death, substantial bodily harm, or
commission of a crime, or in a criminal proceeding. Specifically, this bill:

1) Authorizes an EMS provider to establish a peer support and crisis referral program. Requires
the program to be responsible for providing a network of peer representatives, reflective of
the provider’s workforce both in job positions and personal experiences, who are available to
come to the aid of their fellow employees on a broad range of emotional or professional
issues.

2) Authorizes the peer support and crisis referral program to provide employee support and
referral services for matters that include any of the following:
a) Substance use and substance abuse;

b) Critical incident stress;
c) Family issues;

d) Grief support;

e) Legal issues;

f) Line-of-duty deaths;

g) Serious injury or illness;
h) Suicide;

i) Victims of crime; and,
j)  Workplace issues.

3) Requires the EMS provider’s hiring authority to consult with an employee representative
organization to develop and implement a program created pursuant to this bill.

4) Grants, other than in a criminal proceeding, an EMS personnel, whether or not a party to an
action, the right to refuse to disclose, and to prevent another from disclosing, a confidential
communication between the EMS personnel and a peer support team member made while the
peer support team member was providing peer support services, or a confidential
communication made to a crisis hotline or crisis referral service.

5) Allows, notwithstanding 4) above, a confidential communication to be disclosed under the
following circumstances:
a) To refer an EMS personnel to receive crisis referral services by a peer support team
member;
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b) During a consultation between two peer support team members;

c) If the peer support team member reasonably believes that disclosure is necessary to
prevent death, substantial bodily harm, or commission of a crime;

d) If the EMS personnel expressly agrees in writing that the confidential communication
may be disclosed;

e) Inacriminal proceeding; or,

f) If otherwise required by law.

6) Allows, notwithstanding 4) above, a crisis hotline or crisis referral service to disclose
confidential information communicated by an EMS personnel to prevent reasonably certain
death, substantial bodily harm, or commission of a crime.

7) Provides that this bill does not limit an obligation to report instances of child abuse.

8) Prohibits, except as otherwise provided in 9) below, a peer support team member who
provides peer support services and has completed a training course described in 11) below,
and the EMS provider that employs them, from being liable for damages, including personal
injury, wrongful death, property damage, or other loss related to an act, error, or omission in
performing peer support services, unless the act, error, or omission constitutes gross
negligence or intentional misconduct.

9) Provides that 8) above does not apply to an action for medical malpractice.

10) Prohibits a peer support team member from providing peer support services in any of the
following circumstances:

a) If, when serving in a peer support role, the peer support team member’s relationship with
an EMS personnel receiving peer support services could be reasonably expected to impair
objectivity, competence, or effectiveness in providing peer support, or would otherwise
risk exploitation or harm to the EMS personnel;

b) If the peer support team member and the EMS personnel receiving peer support services
were involved as participants or witnesses to the same specific incident; or,

c) If the peer support team member and the EMS personnel receiving peer support services
are both involved in a shared active or ongoing investigation.

11) Requires, to be eligible for the confidentiality protections afforded by this bill, a peer support
team member to complete a training course or courses on peer support approved by the local
EMS agency that may include the following topics:

a) Precrisis education;

b) Critical incident stress defusings;

c) Critical incident stress debriefing;

d) On-scene support services;

e) One-on-one support services;

f) Consultation;

g) Referral services;

h) Confidentiality obligations;

i) The impact of toxic stress on health and well-being;
J) Grief support;

k) Substance abuse awareness and approaches;
1) Active listening skills;
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m) Stress management; and,

n)

Psychological first aid.

12) Grants an EMS provider the ability to deny or rescind an EMS personnel’s participation as a
peer support team member consistent with EMS provider policy.

13) Defines the following for purposes of this bill:

a)

b)

d)

“Confidential communication” to means any information, including written or oral
communication, transmitted between an EMS personnel, a peer support team member, or
a crisis hotline or crisis referral service staff member while the peer support team member
provides peer support services or the crisis hotline or crisis referral service staff member
provides crisis services, and in confidence by a means that, as far as the EMS personnel is
aware, does not disclose the information to third parties other than those who are present
to further the interests of the EMS personnel in the delivery of peer support services or
those to whom disclosures are reasonably necessary for the transmission of the
information or an accomplishment of the purposes for which the peer support team
member is providing services. “Confidential communication” does not include a
communication in which the EMS personnel discloses the commission of a crime or a
communication in which the EMS personnel’s intent to defraud or deceive an
investigation into a critical incident is revealed;
“Crisis referral services” to include all public or private organizations that provide
consultation and treatment resources for personal problems, including mental health
issues, chemical dependency, domestic violence, gambling, financial problems, and other
personal crises. Specifies that neither crisis referral services nor crisis hotlines include
services provided by an employee association, labor relations representative, or labor
relations organization, or any entity owned or operated by an employee association, labor
relations representative, or labor relations organization;
“Critical incident” to mean an event or situation that involves crisis, disaster, trauma, or
emergency;
“Critical incident stress” to mean the acute or cumulative psychological stress or trauma
that EMS personnel may experience in providing emergency services in response to a
critical incident. Specifies that the stress or trauma is an unusually strong emotional,
cognitive, behavioral, or physical reaction that may interfere with normal functioning and
could lead to post-traumatic stress injuries, including one or more of the following:
i) Physical and emotional illness;
ii) Failure of usual coping mechanisms;
i) Loss of interest in the job or normal life activities;
iv) Personality changes;
V) Loss of ability to function; and,
vi) Psychological disruption of personal life, including the person’s relationship with a
spouse, child, or friend.
“EMS” to mean emergency medical services;
“EMS personnel” to mean currently licensed California health care professionals,
including physicians, physician assistants, registered nurses, nurse practitioners, nurse-
midwives, clinical nurse specialists, nurse anesthetists, mobile intensive care nurses, and
currently licensed or certified California paramedics and advanced emergency medical
technicians, emergency medical technicians (EMTS), lifeguards, firefighters, peace
officers, and emergency medical dispatchers;
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g) “EMS provider” to mean a local or regional department or agency, or any political
subdivision thereof, that employs EMS personnel, including providers that are private,
contracted with a local or regional department or agency, or volunteer;

h) “Peer support program” to mean a program administered by an EMS provider to deliver
peer support services to EMS personnel;

1) “Peer support services” to mean authorized peer support services provided by a peer
support team member to EMS personnel and their immediate families affected by a
critical incident or the cumulative effect of witnessing multiple critical incidents. Peer
support services assist those affected by a critical incident in coping with critical incident
stress and mitigating reactions to critical incident stress. Peer support services may
include one or more of the following:

1)  Precrisis education;

i) Critical incident stress defusings;

iii) Critical incident stress debriefings

iv) On-scene support services;

v) One-on-one support services;

vi) Consultation;

vii) Referral services;

viii) Confidentiality obligations;

iX) The impact of toxic stress on health and well-being;
X)  Grief support;

xi) Substance abuse awareness and approaches; and,
xii) Active listening skills.

J) “Peer support team” to mean a response team composed of EMS peer support team
members; and,

k) “Peer support team member” to mean any EMS personnel who has completed a peer
support training course or courses, as specified. Requires EMS provider selection criteria
for peer support team members to be incorporated into EMS provider policies.

14) Makes findings and declarations that EMS personnel, alongside and including firefighters,
frequently respond to traumatic incidents and dangerous circumstances, including fires,
accidents, natural disasters, and violent incidents. These situations expose them to harmful
substances, such as blood and vomit, as well as witnessing severe injuries, death, and grief.
EMS personnel are regularly placed in harm’s way, facing significant risks of bodily harm or
physical assault while performing their duties.

EXISTING LAW:

1) Requires confidential communications between a patient and a psychotherapist to be
considered privileged, which means the patient has a right to refuse to disclose, and prevent
the psychotherapist from disclosing, those communications. Defines psychotherapist to
include all licensed mental health professionals, persons training to be licensed mental health
professionals, as well as certain other credentialed persons providing professional
psychotherapy services. Specifies that there is no privilege in specified circumstances,
including if the psychotherapist has reasonable cause to believe that the patient is in a mental
or emotional condition as to be dangerous to himself of to the person or property of another
and that disclosure is necessary to prevent the danger. [Evidence Code 81010, et seq.]
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Establishes the Office of Emergency Services (OES) within the office of the Governor,
which is responsible, among other duties, for the coordination of disaster preparedness and
response. [Government Code (GOV) 88585, et seq.]

Requires OES to establish a Curriculum Development Advisory Committee to advise OES
on the development of course curricula, and requires this Committee to include
representatives from public safety, health, first responder, and emergency services agencies.
Requires OES to contract with the California Firefighter Joint Apprenticeship Committee to
develop a fire service specific course of instruction on the responsibilities of first responders
to terrorism incidents, and requires this course to include curriculum content recommended
by the Curriculum Development Advisory Committee. [GOV § 8588.10]

Enacts the California Firefighter Peer Support and Crisis Referral Services Act authorizing
the state or any local or regional public fire agency to establish a Peer Support and Crisis
Referral Program. [GOV §8669.05 et seq.]

Enacts the Law Enforcement Peer Support and Crisis Referral Services Program authorizing
a local or regional law enforcement agency to establish a Peer Support and Crisis Referral
Program. [GOV §8669.1 et seq.]

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown. This bill has not yet been analyzed by a fiscal committee.

COMMENTS:

1)

2)

PURPOSE OF THIS BILL. According to the author, this bill aims to address the mental
health and well-being of EMTs and other ambulance employees by introducing a peer-to-
peer support program. This bill recognizes the unique challenges faced by these frontline
responders and seeks to establish a network of peer representatives to provide assistance on
emotional and professional issues.

BACKGROUND. More than 80% of first responders experience traumatic events on the job,
and because they face challenging and dangerous situations, first responders are at a high risk
of developing post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) as a work-related injury or condition.
According to the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA),
roughly one in three first responders develop PTSD. In comparison, the incidence of PTSD in
the general population is one in five people.

According the United States Department of Labor Occupational Safety and Health
Administration (OSHA), workers responding to emergency events or disasters will see and
experience events that will strain their ability to function. These events, which include having
to witness or experience tragedy, death, serious injuries, and threatening situations, are called
"Critical Incidents.” The physical and psychological well-being of those experiencing this
stress, as well as their future ability to function through a prolonged response will depend
upon how they manage this stress. However, OSHA has no standards that apply to the
hazards associated with critical incident stress.

a) Peer Support. According to a 2012 study published by the International Society for
Traumatic Stress Studies, “Guidelines for Peer Support in High-Risk Organizations,”
peer support programs have emerged as standard practice for supporting staff in many
high-risk organizations, those that routinely expose their personnel to potentially
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traumatic events, such as emergency services and the military. Peer support programs are
often provided as a way of meeting the legal duty to care for employees, as well as
resolving barriers to care, including stigma, lack of time, poor access to providers, lack of
trust, and fear of job repercussions.

b) Critical incident stress debriefing. Following trauma exposure, an individual can
experience multiple emotional, mental, and physical symptoms that impact their well-
being. According to the American Journal of Managed Care, critical incident stress
debriefing (CISD) is a practice that allows survivors to process and reflect on the
traumatic events they've experienced and gain personal control over the incident.

Stress debriefing often occurs shortly after the traumatic event to increase effectiveness.
It's recommended that CISD occurs within the first 24 to 72 hours to provide the most
effective support to the trauma survivor. Prompt treatment is also crucial since symptoms
and reactions may take time to develop.

The provisions of this bill are based upon two recently enacted bills authorizing Peer
Support and crisis Referral Programs for firefighters and law enforcement.

c) Stigma of seeking mental health treatment in First Responders. According to a 2012
study, “Treating posttraumatic stress disorder in first responders: A systematic review,”
published in Clinical Psychology Review, barriers exist that often prevent first responders
from seeking mental health treatment. One such barrier is social stigma related to
treatment-seeking, which is driven by a high value placed on mental toughness. To
reduce social stigma barriers peer-directed interventions exist that target the social
environment to encourage treatment-seeking behavior. Evidence suggests that peer-
focused interventions may be preferred to other forms of interventions in high-risk
occupations for several reasons. First, work peers can better understand the features of
the job, which promotes the expression of genuine empathy for the intervening peer. The
fact that the supporter “really gets the job” and “has walked in their shoes” can also
promote buy-in for the first responder with mental health concerns. Second, first
responders tend to prefer informal post-incident intervention methods and peers may
achieve a relatable, informal tone over other sources. Finally, first responders tend to trust
their peers more than mental health professionals. In the context of mental health, peers
are not providing therapy, but rather they provide support, normalize the use of services,
and encourage and assist the first responder in accessing a higher level of care, such as an
employee assistance program.

3) SUPPORT. American Medical Response (AMR) support this bill and states that it would
authorize an EMS provider to establish a peer support and crisis referral program to provide a
network of peer representatives available to aid fellow employees on emotional or
professional issues. AMR notes that the goal of this measure is to enhance the overall well-
being and resilience of emergency medical technicians and ambulance employees by
fostering a supportive network within their professional community.

The Tuolumne County Board of Supervisors supports this bill and states that EMS personnel
pay a vital role in our communities, often facing challenging and traumatic situations as they
provide life-saving care to those in need. The nature of their work exposes them to high
levels of stress and emotional strain, which can have serious implications for their mental
health and wellbeing. EMS clinicians suffer from suicide rates approximately 50% higher
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than those of the average populations. It is essential that we prioritize the mental health
support of our EMS workforce and provide them with the resources they need to cope with
the demands of their profession

OPPOSE UNLESS AMENDED. The American Federation of State, County and Municipal
Employees (AFSCME) is opposed to this bill unless it is amended. AFSCME notes that a
peer support program can certainly bring innumerable benefits to a public safety agency, but
it isn’t without its challenges. When developing and structuring peer support programs, there
are many things to consider to ensure the success of and engagement with the program. If
peer support isn’t properly developed, established and implemented, personnel won’t utilize
it, keeping the program from serving its purpose. AFSCME states that they are concerned
that the bill fails to include worker input on developing a peer support program within their
workplace, and proposes the following amendments to add language specifying that, “A peer
support program shall be implemented through a labor-management agreement negotiated
separately and apart from any collective bargaining agreement covering affected emergency
medical personnel. The labor-management agreement may cover topics, including any of the
following:

a) Program structure and administration;

b) Selection and training of peer support team members;

c) Peer support operations;

d) Program evaluation, monitoring, and continuous improvement;

e) Funding; and,

f) Dispute resolution and program amendments.”

AFSCME is also concerned with language in the bill that allows an EMS provider to deny or
rescind an EMS personnel’s participation as a peer support team member without guardrails
to ensure that the employer is not retaliating against an employee for participation.

PREVIOUS LEGISLATION.

a) AB 1116 (Grayson), Chapter 388, Statutes of 2019, enacts the California Firefighter Peer
Support and Crisis Referral Services Act authorizing the state or any local or regional
public fire agency to establish a Peer Support and Crisis Referral Program.

b) AB 1117 (Grayson), Chapter 621, Statutes of 2019, enacts the Law Enforcement Peer
Support and Crisis Referral Services Program authorizing a local or regional law
enforcement agency to establish a peer support and crisis referral program.

DOUBLE REFERRAL. This bill is double referred, upon passage of this Committee, it will
be referred to the Assembly Judiciary Committee.

COMMITTEE AMENDMENTS. In order to ensure that EMS provider employees engage
with the peer support programs proposed by this bill, the Committee may wish to amend the
bill to require employers to consult with employees, and their employee representatives, if
any, when developing a peer support program, and, to develop clear policies on why a person
is denied or rescinded from peer to peer participation. Finally, the Committee may wish to
amend this bill to ensure that it does not conflict with the requirements of existing peer
programs for firefighters.
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REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

Emergency Medical Services Administrators' Association of California (EMSAAC)
EMS Medical Directors' Association of California (EMDAC)

Global Medical Response

Sonora Police Officers' Association

Tuolumne County Board of Supervisors

Opposition

None on file

Analysis Prepared by: Lara Flynn/ HEALTH / (916) 319-2097
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Date of Hearing: April 16, 2024

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HEALTH
Mia Bonta, Chair
AB 2866 (Pellerin) — As Introduced February 15, 2024

SUBJECT: Pool safety: State Department of Social Services regulated facilities.

SUMMARY:: Requires child daycare facilities regulated by the California Department of Social
Services (DSS) be subject to the Swimming Pool Safety Act. Specifically, this bill:

1) Requires a child daycare facility licensed by DSS, as either a daycare center or a family
daycare home with a swimming pool on the premises, to comply with all of the following
requirements:

a) Requires the swimming pool be equipped with at least two safety features, which includes
one feature in both of the following categories:
i) Either an enclosure or mesh fence, as defined; and,
i) Either a cover or an alarm, as defined.

b) Perform a daily inspection of all of the drowning prevention safety features before
opening the facility and maintain a log of the inspections to be provided to DSS during
scheduled inspections.

2) Requires DSS to update its regulations relating to the implementation of this bill.

3) Repeals the exemption that any facility regulated by DSS, even if the facility is also used as
the private residence of the operator, is not subject to the Swimming Pool Safety Act.

4) Consistent with 1) and 2) above, requires, when a building permit is issued for the
construction of a new swimming pool or spa or the remodeling of an existing pool or spa at a
private single-family home, the respective swimming pool or spa be equipped with at least
two of the seven drowning prevention safety features, as specified.

EXISTING LAW:

1) Establishes the California Child Day Care Facilities Act, creating a separate licensing
category for child daycare centers and family daycare homes within DSS’ existing licensing
structure. [Health and Safety Code (HSC) § 1596.70 et seq.]

2) Defines the following terms:

a) “Child daycare facility” to mean a facility that provides nonmedical care to children
under 18 years of age in need of personal services, supervision, or assistance for
sustaining the activities of daily living or for the protection of the individual on less than
a 24-hour basis. Child daycare facilities include daycare centers, employer-sponsored
childcare centers, and family daycare homes. [HSC § 1596.750]

b) “Daycare center” to include infant centers, preschools, extended daycare facilities, and
school-age childcare centers. [HSC 8§ 1596.76]

c) “Family daycare home” to mean a facility that regularly provides care, protection, and
supervision for 14 or fewer children, including children under 10 years of age who reside
at the home, in the provider’s own home, for periods of less than 24 hours per day, while
the parents or guardians are away. [HSC § 1596.78]
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Requires any person or entity operating, as specified, a child daycare facility in California to
have a current valid license from DSS. [22 California Code of Regulations (CCR) §
101156(a)]

Directs DSS and any local agency with which it contracts for purposes of licensing activities,
to conduct an initial site visit and grant or deny an application for license within 30 days of
receiving a complete licensing application for a daycare center. [HSC § 1597.13]

Establishes the “Swimming Pool Safety Act,” encompassing regulations and requirements
aimed at enhancing safety in and around swimming pools. [HSC § 115920 et seq.]

Defines the following terms:

a) “Swimming pool” or “pool” to mean any structure intended for swimming or recreational
bathing that contains water over 18 inches deep, which includes in-ground and
aboveground structures and includes, but is not limited to, hot tubs, spas, portable spas,
and nonportable wading pools. [HSC § 115921(a)]

b) “Enclosure” to mean a fence, wall, or other barrier that isolates a swimming pool from
access to the home. [HSC § 115921(c)]

C) “Approved safety pool cover” to mean a manually or power-operated safety pool cover
that meets all of the performance standards of the American Society for Testing and
Materials, in compliance with standard F1346-91. [HSC § 115921(d)]

d) “Exit alarms” to mean devices that make audible, continuous alarm sounds when any
door or window, that permits access from the residence to the pool area that is without
any intervening enclosure, is opened or is left ajar. Exit alarms may be battery-operated
or may be connected to the electrical wiring of the building. [HSC 8§ 115921(e)]

Requires an enclosure to have all of the following characteristics:

a) Any access gates through the enclosure open away from the swimming pool, and are self-
closing with a self-latching device placed no lower than 60 inches above the ground;

b) A minimum height of 60 inches;

c) A maximum height clearance from the ground to the bottom of the enclosure of two
inches;

d) Gaps or voids, if any, that do not allow passage of a sphere equal to or greater than four
inches in diameter; and,

e) An outside surface free of protrusions, cavities, or other physical characteristics that
would serve as handholds or footholds that could enable a child below the age of five to
climb over. [HSC § 115923]

Requires, whenever a building permit is issued for the construction of a new swimming pool
or spa or the remodeling of an existing swimming pool or spa at a private single-family
home, the respective pool or spa be equipped with specified safety features. [HSC §
115922(a)]

Requires local building code officials to inspect drowning-prevention features installed to
comply with requirements and to give final approval for the completion of construction or
remodeling if no violations are found. [HSC § 115922(b)]

10) Requires all licensees to ensure the inaccessibility of pools, including swimming pools (in-

ground and above-ground), fixed-in-place wading pools, hot tubs, spas, fish ponds, or similar
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bodies of water, through a pool cover by surrounding the pool with a fence. Provides further
guidance on fencing requirements. [22 CCR 88 101238(e); 102417(5)]

11) Exempts from fencing requirements inflatable or other portable plastic wading pools with

sides low enough for children using the pool(s) to step out unassisted. Requires these pools to
be emptied after each use. [22 CCR § 101238.5(a)]

12) Requires DSS to issue a Notice of Operation in Violation of Law if it is found and

documented that continued operation of the family childcare home will be dangerous to the
health and safety of the children. Specifies situations endangering the health and safety of the
children to include, but are not limited to, unfenced or accessible pools or other bodies of
water. [22 CCR § 102357(3)(E)]

13) Requires daycare center directors and licensees of a family daycare home to ensure that at

least one staff member who has a current course completion card in pediatric first aid and
pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) issued by the American Red Cross, the
American Heart Association, or by a training program that has been approved by the
Emergency Medical Services Authority be on site at all times when children are present at
the facility, and be present with the children when children are offsite from the facility for
facility activities. [HSC § 1596.866(b)]

14) Establishes the federal “Virginia Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety Act” (VGB Act) to

prevent drain entrapment and child drowning in swimming pools and spas by requiring each
public pool and spa in the United States to be equipped with specified anti-entrapment
devices or systems, and requires each state to meet specified minimum state law
requirements regarding pool and spa safety standards. [15 United States Code § 8001 et seq]

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown. This bill has not been analyzed by a fiscal committee.

COMMENTS:

1)

2)

PURPOSE OF THIS BILL. According to the author, on Monday October 2, 2023, one-
year-old Payton Cobb and 18-month-old Lillian Hanan lost their lives in a horrific event.
These children were at a licensed home daycare located in San Jose when three toddlers
accessed the swimming pool located on the premises unsupervised. After being transported
to the hospital in critical condition, two of the children were pronounced dead. The author
states that this bill will create a multi-faceted safety requirement to update the existing
standards to allow for better drowning prevention standards. This bill requires an updated
safety requirement for an enclosure or fence that meets current standards as well as either a
pool cover or alarm system. This would create a two-step system in the event of a failure a
secondary safety precaution that will prevent a drowning. The author concludes that this bill
will create a requirement for a daily assessment log to document that pools at facilities are
being secured and properly monitored by the two step system in accordance with the law
before the center opens each day.

BACKGROUND.

a) Licensed Childcare. The California Child Day Care Facilities Act governs the licensure,
maintenance, and operation of child daycare centers and family daycare homes in the
state. This law and the associated regulations found in Title 22 of the CCR establish,
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among other things, general health and safety requirements, staff-to-child ratios, and
provider training requirements. Daycare centers include infant centers, preschools,
extended daycare facilities, and school-age childcare centers. DSS’ Community Care
Licensing Division (CCLD) has the responsibility of licensing and monitoring the state’s
10,481 childcare centers and 25,205 family childcare homes, according to 2021 data. As
of January 2024, 158,959 children were served in licensed family childcare homes,
124,708 in childcare centers, and 82,704 in license-exempt settings in fiscal year 2022-
23.

Drowning Fatalities and Near-Drowning Injuries. Swimming pools provide
recreational opportunities but also pose significant risks, especially to children.
According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), drowning is
identified as the primary cause of death for children between the ages of one and four in
the United States (U.S.), surpassing all other causes. Among children aged five to 14,
drowning ranks as the second leading cause of unintentional injury-related deaths after
motor vehicle crashes in the U.S. Additionally, the CDC highlights that for every child
under the age of 18 who succumbs to drowning, another seven require emergency
medical attention for nonfatal drowning incidents, often resulting in hospitalization. In
California, the Department of Developmental Services (DDS) also identifies drowning as
the leading cause of injury-related death among children under the age of five. According
to data from the California Department of Public Health's EpiCenter, from 2010 to 2014,
over 160 children aged one to four experienced fatal drownings, predominantly occurring
in residential pools. Additionally, between 2010 and 2015, more than 740 children aged
one to four were hospitalized following near-drowning incidents, with the primary reason
for hospitalization being brain injury caused by oxygen deprivation, also referred to as
asphyxiation. Drowning injuries can cause serious health outcomes, including brain
damage, paralysis, seizures, memory loss, and long-term disability. DDS reported that as
of December 2016 the agency was providing care for more than 755 near-drowning
victims with severe brain damage resulting from the near-drowning. Several factors
contribute to a greater risk of drowning among children, including a lack of swimming
ability, inadequate or absent pool fencing, insufficient supervision, and failure to utilize
life jackets.

Pool Safety Regulations. Regulations aim to mitigate these risks by establishing
standards for pool safety features and practices. At the federal level, organizations such
as the Consumer Product Commission (CPSC) play a central role in establishing and
enforcing standards for swimming pools and related equipment. The CPSC’s guidelines
cover a wide range of safety measures, including pool fencing, drain covers, alarm
systems, and safety barriers. At the state level, swimming pool safety is often regulated
through legislation and building codes that mandate specific safety features and practices
for both public and private swimming pools. For example, whenever a building permit is
granted for the construction of a new swimming pool or spa, or for the renovation of an
existing one in a private single-family residence, it is mandatory for the pool or spa to be
equipped with designated safety features. At the local level, building code officials are
required to conduct inspections on the installed drowning prevention features to ensure
compliance with the stipulated requirements. Final approval for the completion of
construction or renovation is only granted if no violations are detected during these
inspections. While the International Building Code and the majority of U.S. states require
only one barrier to restrict access to residential pools, the California Swimming Pool
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Safety Act, signed into law in 1995, requires the installation of a two-stage safety system
in residential pools, which requires the pool to be equipped with either an enclosure or
mesh fence, along with either a cover or a safety alarm, as defined in existing law. The
second safety feature provides additional assurance for families who may overlook
replacing an alarm or a removable fence, or who cannot promptly address a
malfunctioning latch or alarm. Apart from physical safety features, regulations specify
that daycare center directors and licensees of family daycare homes are required to have
at least one staff member be certified in pediatric first aid and CPR, and remain on-site at
all times.

Pool Safety in Childcare Facilities. Childcare facilities serve as environments where
children spend a significant amount of time under the care of providers. Ensuring safety
within these facilities is paramount to protecting the well-being of the children in their
care. Childcare facilities are responsible for implementing measures to prevent accidents
and injuries, including those related to swimming pool safety. Children in daycare
settings may be more vulnerable to accidents or drowning incidents due to factors such as
limited supervision among caregivers. Historically, regulations governing swimming pool
safety in daycare facilities have been less stringent compared to other types of public or
private pools. For instance, despite the implementation of the two-stage safety system in
the Swimming Pool Safety Act, an exemption was granted for facilities regulated by
DSS, including daycare facilities, group homes, and senior facilities. According to DSS
regulations, only a fence is required to prevent accidental drowning. While existing
regulations have contributed to improvements in swimming pool safety over the years,
this bill aims to address gaps in regulations and enhance safety standards for swimming
pools not only in childcare facilities but across all DSS-regulated facilities by updating
existing standards to align with the Swimming Pool Safety Act. Specifically, this bill
establishes a dual-step system whereby, in the event of a failure of one safety measure, a
secondary safety measure can prevent drowning. Furthermore, this bill requires a daily
assessment log to record the adherence of facilities to the two-step system, ensuring that
the pool is adequately secured and monitored.

Recent California Drowning Fatality Incidence. As described in the purpose of this
bill above, in 2023, two infants fell into the San Jose Happy Happy Daycare’s pool and
fatally drowned. A third child, who was two years of age, was hospitalized and survived.
According to DSS’ CCLD, program analysts conducted a pre-licensing inspection of the
home in 2020. During this inspection, they instructed the daycare to implement
modifications to the pool area and guarantee its security by installing a fence, per
regulations. Subsequently, after an inspection in 2021, the facility was granted a license.
According to police reports, one day before the drowning, the homeowner’s husband
watered plants behind the pool gate and failed to close the gate after watering the plants.
The gate was not checked on by either of the co-owners of Happy Happy Daycare. After
the children arrived at the daycare, one of the co-owners opened a door to the backyard
and told the children to go outside. After leaving the children unsupervised for just a few
minutes, the co-owner stepped back outside and found an infant floating in the shallow
end, prompting her to remove him and attempt CPR. Two more infants were found in the
deep end of the pool, and CPR was also attempted.
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This bill seeks to prevent incidents such as these preventable accidental drownings
among children in daycare facilities by implementing a two-step safety measure in the
event that one of the safety measures fails.

SUPPORT. According to the American Academy of Pediatrics, California (AAP-CA), AB
2866 addresses crucial pool safety measures within facilities regulated by DSS. AAP-CA
states that ensuring that child day care facilities implement comprehensive pool safety
measures is essential in preventing tragic accidents and safeguarding the lives of our youth.
AAP-CA concludes that by requiring the installation of safety barriers and implementing
regular inspections, this bill seeks to mitigate the risk of drowning incidents and promote a
safe environment for children to thrive.

RELATED LEGISLATION. AB 2384 (Wilson) requires a public swimming pool
constructed on or after January 1, 2025, to comply with the standards and requirements of the
federal VGB Act. Requires a person or entity that owns or maintains a public swimming
pool, as defined, to ensure that there is an operating telephone on or adjacent to the pool
deck, available and conspicuously labeled for emergency use, at all times. AB 2384 is
pending a hearing in the Assembly Committee on Health.

PREVIOUS LEGISLATION.

a) SB 442 (Newman), Chapter 670, Statutes of 2017, requires newly constructed or
remodeled swimming pools at private single-family residences to incorporate at least two
of seven specified drowning-prevention safety features. SB 442 also requires home
inspections conducted as part of the transfer of a property with a pool to include an
assessment of whether the pool is equipped with adequate safety features.

b) AB 2977 (Mullin), Chapter 478, Statutes of 2006, requires new and remodeled pools and
spas to provide at least one safety feature from a list of eligible features, add mesh fences
and swimming pool alarms to the list of enumerated drowning prevention safety features,
and requires remodeled pools and spas to cover drains with an anti-entrapment grate.

c) AB 389 (Arambula) of 2006, would have authorized the Department of Health Services
(DHS) to produce and place on its website a document explaining the child drowning
hazards of home swimming pools and spas, safety measures and drowning hazard
prevention measures if such a document has not been donated to DHS, or if DHS has not
approved a donated document. AB 389 was held in the Senate Rules Committee.

d) AB 24 (Negrete McLeod), Chapter 433, Statutes of 2003, allowed for the creation and
distribution of a brochure containing information regarding swimming pool and spa
safety.

e) AB 3305 (Setencich), Chapter 925, Statutes of 1996, established the Swimming Pool
Safety Act.

DOUBLE REFERRAL. This bill is double referred, it passed the Assembly Committee on
Human Services with a 7-0 vote on April 2, 2024.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:
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Support

American Academy of Pediatrics, California
Association of Regional Center Agencies

Opposition
None on file.

Analysis Prepared by: Eliza Brooks / HEALTH / (916) 319-2097
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Date of Hearing: April 16, 2024

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HEALTH
Mia Bonta, Chair
AB 2956 (Boerner) — As Amended March 13, 2024

SUBJECT: Medi-Cal eligibility: redetermination.

SUMMARY': Extends numerous temporary federally allowable processes (federal flexibilities)
related to the redetermination of Medi-Cal eligibility and establishes 12-month continuous Medi-
Cal eligibility for adults. Federal flexibilities were put into place as part of a resumption of
eligibility redeterminations, following a pause in redeterminations during the COVID-19 Public
Health Emergency (the resumption of redeterminations and related processes are referred to as
the “PHE unwinding”). Specifically, this bill:

1) Establishes continuous eligibility to individuals over 19 years old, which means they remain
eligible for 12 months from the date of determination of eligibility. For existing beneficiaries,
this means for a 12 month period starting at renewal, and for new beneficiaries, for a 12
month period starting with the first month of eligibility.

2) Requires a county to attempt communication through additional available channels prior to
completing redetermination or terminating eligibility.

3) Requires a county to complete eligibility determination at renewal without requiring
additional information or documentation, if either:

a) All of the following are true:

i) Anindividual's most recent income documentation was based on previously verified
attestation of income at or below 100% of the federal poverty level (FPL) during
initial application or at their most recent renewal within the last 12 months;

i) The county has checked financial data sources and no info was received, but all other
eligibility criteria has been verified; and,

iii) There is no contradictory information on file;
or,

b) All of the following are true:

i) The most recent income determination, at either initial application or most recent
renewal within the last 12 months;

i) The beneficiary receives Social Security benefits or other sources of stable income at
the most recent determination; and,

iii) There is no contradictory information on file.

4) Deletes from existing law a requirement that a beneficiary must sign a renewal form if
delivered in person or via mail.

5) Requires a county to attempt to contact a beneficiary twice if a beneficiary has not responded
to a request for additional information or has provided an incomplete response.

6) Requires, if a beneficiary has not responded, a county to again review all information in an
attempt to renew eligibility without needing a response from a beneficiary.
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7) Prohibits a county from terminating eligibility until it has processed all submitted renewal
information.

8) Requires, when income is found not reasonably compatible from electronically available
sources, a county to first attempt to obtain a reasonable explanation verbally or in writing, in
an attempt to resolve discrepancies in financial information. Requires counties, if that
information is unavailable, to obtain any other information needed to complete the financial
eligibility determination.

9) Requires a county, if a redetermination is conducted based on a loss of contact with a
beneficiary, to attempt communication through all additionally available channels prior to
completing a redetermination. Requires, if the beneficiary does not supply the necessary
information within a 30-day period, a 10-day notice of termination of Medi-Cal eligibility to
be sent.

10) Requires a county to attempt to contact a beneficiary twice by telephone or other means to
request necessary information.

11) In the case of a redetermination, for purposes of income verification, when a renewal is
received without a reasonable explanation or other income verification, requires a county to
accept self-attested information. Allows beneficiaries to provide income verification through
a verbal or written explanation.

12) Modifies the process by which a beneficiary is entitled to receive retroactive eligibility based
on the provision of information needed to complete an individual’s determination of
eligibility, within 90 days of a termination date or change in eligibility status. Changes this
process from one based on a beneficiary request, to an opt-out process whereby retroactive
eligibility is granted unless the beneficiary opts out.

13) Requires a county, in the case of a Medi-Cal beneficiary who is a member of a "vulnerable or
difficult to reach population,” a county to begin a new, 12-month eligibility period each time
the beneficiary makes contact with the county, if specified conditions are met. Defines
vulnerable or difficult to reach populations as including but not limited to:

a) Medi-Cal beneficiaries who are unsheltered or without a fixed address;

b) Aged, blind, or disabled individuals;

c) Victims of a natural disaster;

d) Medi-Cal beneficiaries who live in a remote area;

e) Incarcerated Medi-Cal beneficiaries;

f) Migrant workers;

g) Individuals in foster care;

h) Unaccompanied immigrant minors; and,

i) Any other population that the county determines is appropriate for designation as a
vulnerable or difficult-to-reach population.

14) Requires the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) to set a goal, in the form of a
target rate of at least 50%, for successful ex parte renewals for populations.
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15) Requires DHCS to prepare a public report on causes of missing the target described in 14)
above, if applicable, and action steps to increase ex parte renewal rates.

16) Requires counties to collect and submit to DHCS specified data metrics related to their call
center operations.

17) Requires, in a county’s attempt to contact a beneficiary, a second attempt to be made through
a different modality when the beneficiary’s file includes a phone number or email address.

18) Requires DHCS to seek any necessary federal approvals to make permanent all temporary
eligibility rules not included in this bill that were originally implemented for Medi-Cal
renewals that were due between June 2023 and May 2024, inclusive, as part of the COVID-
19 unwinding period.

19) Makes various conforming changes and conditions implementation on federal approval and
the availability of federal financial participation.

EXISTING LAW:

1) Establishes the Medi-Cal Program, administered by DHCS, to provide comprehensive health
benefits to low-income individuals who meet specified eligibility criteria. [Welfare and
Institutions Code (WIC) 8§ 14000 et seq.]

2) Makes Medi-Cal eligibility and enrollment functions a county function and responsibility,
subject to the direction, authority, and regulations of DHCS. [WIC § 14001.11]

3) Establishes a processes for the determination and redetermination of an individual’s
eligibility for Medi-Cal, as specified in 4) through 14), below. [WIC § 14005, et seq.]

4) Requires a county to perform redeterminations of eligibility for beneficiaries every 12
months and promptly redetermine eligibility whenever the county receives information about
changes in a beneficiary’s circumstance that may affect eligibility. [WIC § 14005.37]

5) Requires a loss of contact, as evidenced by the return of mail marked in such a way as to
indicate it could not be delivered or that there was no forwarding address, to prompt a
redetermination of eligibility. [Ibid.]

6) Requires eligibility to continue during the redetermination process and prohibits eligibility
from being terminated until the county makes a specific determination based on facts clearly
demonstrating the beneficiary is no longer eligible, and due process rights have been met.
[Ibid.]

7) Requires, for purposes of acquiring information necessary to conduct eligibility
redeterminations, a county to gather information available to the county that is relevant to the
beneficiary’s eligibility, prior to contacting the beneficiary. Specifies state and federal data
sources for this information. [lbid.]

8) Requires, if a county is able to make an eligibility determination based on accessible data, the
county to notify the beneficiary of the determination and the information on which it is
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based, and requires the county to notify the beneficiary that they must inform the county if
any of the information is inaccurate, but that the beneficiary is not required to sign and return
the notice if all information is accurate. [Ibid.]

9) Requires a beneficiary to sign a renewal form if the beneficiary chooses to return the form in
person or via mail. [Ibid.]

10) Requires, in the case of a redetermination due to a change in circumstances, if a county
cannot obtain sufficient information to redetermine eligibility, a county to send the
beneficiary a form that states the information needed to redetermine eligibility, and limits the
additional data a county can request from the beneficiary. [1bid.]

11) Requires a county to terminate eligibility if the purpose for a redetermination is loss of
contact with the beneficiary, and the renewal form is also returned as undeliverable. [1bid.]

12) Requires, during the 30-day period after the date of mailing a form to the beneficiary
requesting additional information for redetermination of eligibility, the county to attempt to
contact the beneficiary to request necessary information. Requires, if the beneficiary does not
supply the necessary information to the county within the 30-day limit, a 10-day notice of
termination of eligibility to be sent. [Ibid.]

13) Specifies procedures whereby an individual can request to receive retroactive eligibility for
the three months preceding an eligibility determination. [Ibid.]

14) Requires a beneficiary to report any change in circumstance that may affect their eligibility
within 10 calendar days following the date the change occurred. [Ibid.]

15) As of January 1, 2025, contingent on funding, systems changes, and federal approval, makes
a child continuously eligible for Medi-Cal up to five years of age and prohibits a
redetermination of Medi-Cal eligibility before a child reaches five years of age, except in
specified circumstances. [WIC 8§ 14005.255]

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown. This bill has not yet been analyzed by a fiscal committee.
COMMENTS:

1) PURPOSE OF THIS BILL. According to the author, over a million individuals lost their
Medi-Cal coverage in the first six months of the PHE unwinding period. Without the
protections of temporary unwinding flexibilities, the overwhelming majority (92%) of Medi-
Cal disenrollments have been for procedural or ‘paperwork’ reasons, meaning they are
disenrolled by no fault of their own, even when they are likely still eligible for Medi-Cal. Of
these, children and youth account for roughly one-third of all disenrollments in California.
Furthermore, the data shows that people who speak Spanish as their primary language,
seniors 65 and over and those with disabilities are disproportionately impacted by this issue.
The author notes procedural disenroliments in Medi-Cal result in eligible people cycling on
and off the program. This gap in healthcare coverage can lead to postponing visits to the
doctor or not refilling a prescription. Not only does the disenrollment and re-enrollment
process present yet another administrative hurdle for low-income Californians, the author
argues, but it also stresses overburdened and understaffed county social services agencies.
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The author states DHCS’s actions to adopt numerous federal flexibilities have removed
unnecessary barriers and burdens in the enroliment and renewal process, allowing millions of
Californians to keep access to lifesaving health care. However, the federal flexibilities are
scheduled to sunset in December 2024. If we let these policies expire, the author warns, it
will be much more difficult to bring them back and result in more procedural terminations.

The author notes children already enjoy continuous eligibility for a full 12 months, regardless
of changes in family income, and this bill would extend this continuous eligibility for adults.
The author concludes this bill reduces and remedies procedural terminations, simplifies the
income verification requirements, increases automatic Medi-Cal renewals, and improves
program outreach and customer service. The author notes these changes would reduce
barriers to access associated with Medi-Cal renewals and protect the most vulnerable
communities in California from losing healthcare coverage.

BACKGROUND. Federal requirements to “pause” redeterminations of Medi-Cal eligibility
through the COVID-19 PHE caused Medi-Cal enrollment to swell to a peak of 16 million
people. As states resume redeterminations, the federal government has encouraged states to
implement a number of strategies to simplify and reduce procedural disenrollments, or
disenrollments due to lack of paperwork verification rather than a proactive determination of
ineligibility. This resumption of redetermination processes is colloquially called the “PHE
Unwinding.” This bill extends a number of the strategies, or “federal flexibilities,” the state
implemented on a temporary basis during the PHE Unwinding with respect to
redetermination of eligibility. It also implements additional requirements that aim to retain
more individuals on the program and create user-friendly eligibility processes.

a) Basic Medi-Cal Eligibility Redetermination Requirements and Processes. As with
most components of Medicaid, the federal government has rules establishing minimum
requirements for eligibility groups that must be covered and eligibility rules that must be
followed, and states have a variety of options in how they design their programs, as long
as they seek federal approval for program changes.

Individuals who have been found eligible and are enrolled in Medi-Cal must have their
eligibility redetermined every 12 months in order to retain coverage for the next year. If,
during the 12-month period, new information that affects eligibility becomes available to
the county, either reported by the individual or accessed through other electronic data
sources, a beneficiary or enrollee will automatically have their eligibility redetermined
based on the new information. Beneficiaries must report to the county any change in their
circumstances that may affect their Medi-Cal eligibility within ten calendar days of the
change.

To renew beneficiaries’ Medicaid coverage, states must first attempt to confirm ongoing
eligibility using data available to the agency without requiring information from the
individual. This requirement, also known as ex parte renewals, can reduce the
administrative burden for states and simplify the process for beneficiaries. An ex parte
renewal is a redetermination of eligibility that states can make based on reliable
information available to the agency without requiring information from the individual.

The federal Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) required states to
implement data-sharing strategies to simplify eligibility and redetermination processes
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for beneficiaries. Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) agencies
now rely primarily on information available through data sources (e.g., the Social
Security Administration, the Departments of Homeland Security and Labor) rather than
paper documentation from families for purposes of verifying eligibility.

State law establishes specific process requirements and due process safeguards for
redeterminations of eligibility. Generally, a beneficiary has 30 days to respond to a
request for information, if additional information is needed to establish eligibility. If the
beneficiary does not provide the necessary information to the county within the 30-day
period, the county may send the beneficiary a ten-day Notice of Action of terminating
their eligibility. If terminated, the beneficiary still has 90 days from termination to “cure”
or provide the information requested. Beneficiaries also have the right to appeal an
adverse determination.

COVID-19 PHE Redetermination Pause and Enroliment Growth. In 2020, federal
legislation, the Families First Coronavirus Response Act, amended by the Coronavirus
Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act, authorized a 6.2 percentage point increase in
federal Medicaid matching funds to help states respond to the COVID-19 pandemic. As a
condition of receiving enhanced funds, states were required to provide continuous
eligibility through the end of the month in which the public health emergency ends for
those enrolled as of March 18, 2020 or at any time thereafter during the PHE period,
unless the person ceased to be a state resident or requested a voluntary coverage
termination. The state paused redetermination activities and, as a result, from July 2020
through July 2023, Medi-Cal enrollment increased by approximately 2.6 million people.

Subsequent federal legislation, the Consolidated Appropriations Act (CAA) of 2023,
delinked the continuous coverage requirements from the PHE. Pursuant to the CAA,
continuous coverage requirements ended on March 31, 2023 and the PHE Unwinding
began as of April 1, 2023.

As a result, Medi-Cal redeterminations resumed in June 2023. The first Medi-Cal
eligibility terminations occurred on July 1, 2023. Between June 2023 and May 2024,
Medi-Cal members will have their eligibility redetermined based on their “renewal
month,” in order to maintain beneficiaries on coverage and spread redetermination
workload throughout the year.

PHE Unwinding and Federal Flexibilities. Preparing for and implementing the PHE
Unwinding has been a major effort for DHCS and counties. Many enrollment workers
hired during the pandemic had never processed a redetermination, and counties have been
struggling with staff shortages and burnout. A large number of beneficiaries changed
addresses and contact information, and many had never had their Medi-Cal eligibility
redetermined and are not familiar with required paperwork and processes. Despite the
heavy lift for all involved, DHCS has indicated it prioritized maximizing continuity of
coverage for Medi-Cal beneficiaries throughout the PHE Unwinding.

According to the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) that
oversees state Medicaid programs, many individuals enrolled in Medicaid and other
programs lose coverage at renewal due to procedural or administrative reasons rather than
eligibility-related factors, such as not submitting information needed to complete their
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renewal in a timely fashion. To prevent inappropriate coverage loss among eligible
individuals, CMS advises states to implement actionable strategies to strengthen their
renewal processes and avoid such procedural disenrollments.

Through guidance to states, including through State Health Official letter 22-001 and
subsequent guidance such as a December 18, 2023, Center for Medicaid & CHIP
Services Informational Bulletin, CMS laid out a number of targeted enrollment strategies
that can be used to facilitate renewals, leading to fewer discontinuances during the 12-
month unwinding period. Specifically, CMS has identified and made available to states
temporary waivers allowable under the Social Security Act. According to KFF, a
nonprofit health news source that tracks state Medicaid trends, nearly all states adopted
one or more of these temporary waivers.

According to “California’s Journey with Medi-Cal Redeterminations,” an issue brief
published by the California Health and Human Services Agency (CHHSA issue brief),
California implemented 17 flexibilities approved by CMS through waiver authority or
under existing federal Medicaid law to streamline enroliment and keep individuals in
coverage as the Medi-Cal redetermination process restarted. These flexibilities are
extended by this bill, and include many income-based and administrative waivers and
flexibilities that make the redetermination process easier for beneficiaries.

Recent State Experience; Improvements in Ex Parte Renewals. According to DHCS,
recent nationwide data on Medicaid unwinding of the COVID-19 emergency continuous
coverage provision show that a majority of disenrollments occurred due to procedural
reasons (e.g., late submission of paperwork, failure to respond to a state’s request for
information, lost forms), rather than legitimate losses of eligibility (i.e., changes in
income or circumstances that would make individuals ineligible for Medicaid).

California recently partnered with the United States Digital Services (USDS) to automate
income-based waivers in the state’s Medi-Cal eligibility and enrollment systems.
According to the CHHSA issue brief, starting in August 2023, USDS provided
engineering and system design support to the state policy team and state’s system vendor
teams to expedite implementation timelines. USDS identified opportunities to improve
the steps in the ex parte renewal process that would have the greatest impact on the ex
parte renewal rate. With the USDS’s assistance, the state’s ex parte rate significantly
increased from an average of 34% from June to November to 66% in December 2023.
With the increase in ex parte, California’s overall Medi-Cal disenrollments dropped from
around 20% to nine percent in December.

Churn and Continuous Eligibility. States conduct annual renewals of Medicaid
eligibility, but enrollees are required to report changes in circumstances, such as changes
in family income, during the year. This can lead to “churn,” where individuals go through
short periods of disenrollment and re-enrollment in coverage, leading to disruptions in
coverage and lapses in continuity of care. According to DHCS, people who experience
churn are more likely to delay or forego care, receive less preventive care, stop filling
their prescriptions, and have more emergency department visits. Furthermore, DHCS
notes, churn has health equity implications. DHCS notes one study found Black and
Hispanic Medicaid members were more likely to be disenrolled and reenrolled within 12
months compared to their white counterparts.
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Continuous eligibility guarantees 12 months of continuous coverage even if there are
fluctuations in income. The CAA required all states to implement 12-month continuous
eligibility for children beginning on January 1, 2024. California has had this in place for
children up to age 19 since 2000. SB 184 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review),
Chapter 47, Statutes of 2022, implemented continuous eligibility for children younger
than age five, but made the bill contingent on appropriation and the availability of funds.
Although the Governor’s January 2024 Budget did not fund this item based on the poor
General Fund condition, as of January 2024, DHCS is seeking federal approval to make
this change when funding allows.

KFF notes five states have some level of continuous eligibility for adults and other states
are pursuing this option to help to provide more stable coverage once the unwinding
period ends. California has not pursued 12-month continuous eligibility for adults, which
this bill would implement.

Effect of This Bill. This bill extends a number of temporary federal waivers as noted
below.

i) Income under 100% FPL, zero income, or “stable income.” The temporary
flexibilities, effective June 1, 2023, through the end of the unwinding period, allow
for automatic determination of income for households whose attestation of income
under 100 % FPL was verified within the last 12 months (at application or renewal)
when no income information is returned through data sources, which will allow
more beneficiaries with low income to have the annual renewal completed through
ex-parte and without the need to complete an annual renewal packet. This bill will
extend such flexibility indefinitely. This bill also extends automatic determination of
income to individuals who receive payments under the Social Security disability
insurance program or “other stable sources of income” and have no other conflicting
income information on file. Furthermore, this bill extends to individuals who were
verified at 100% FPL or below at the time of their initial application, i.e., without
requiring 100% or lower income to be verified within the last 12 months. According
to the CHHSA brief, these changes have had the largest impact on improving the ex
parte renewal rate.

i) Additional contact attempts to households with incomplete renewals or loss of
contact. DHCS implemented an additional contact requirement to help mitigate
possible procedural terminations during the PHE Unwinding period. DHCS issued
Medi-Cal Eligibility Division Information Letter (MEDIL-24-09) to advise counties
this change is being made permanent, and this bill codifies this change. This bill also
requires a second contact attempt to be made through a different modality, such as
phone or email, if such information is available. It also requires counties to make
additional attempts to contact beneficiaries if return mail indicates a loss of contact.

iii) Renew at any time for hard-to-reach populations. The temporary flexibility
allows counties to renew people at any time, instead of having to wait for assigned
renewal month. This helps maintain hard-to-reach populations on the program. This
bill will require a county to begin a new 12-month eligibility period for hard-to-
reach populations if specified conditions are met.
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Allow counties to continue attempting to renew, after a renewal packet is sent.
The temporary flexibility allows counties, after a renewal packet is sent, to still use
other information to process the renewal, without requiring return of the packet or
additional information. This bill would make the change permanent.

“Reasonable compatibility threshold” for income. Counties use a standard to
determine whether or not the income in federal data sources is compatible with the
information an individual reports. The temporary flexibility allows counties to verify
income on an ex parte basis when attested income is below the FPL, and income
reported through electronic sources is no greater than 20% higher than the FPL limit.
In the state’s Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI)-Based Eligibility
Verification Plan, DHCS indicates it plans to reduce this threshold reduced to 10%
in June 2024, assuming the 12-month resumption to normal operations has
concluded at that time. This bill would maintain the 20% threshold permanently and
implement it for all populations, including those who have income counted using the
MAGI method as well as “non-MAGI” populations.

Reasonable explanations. CMS allows states to permit an applicant or beneficiary
to provide a reasonable explanation why their self-attested information did not align
with electronic verification sources in order to complete the Medi-Cal eligibility
determination. In the state’s MAGI-Based Eligibility Verification Plan, DHCS notes
effective July 1, 2022, California implemented the use of reasonable explanation as
part of the verification process, which is conducted on a manual basis until July
2024, when systems will be automated to obtain a reasonable explanation at
application, annual renewal or a change in circumstance. If certain reasonable
explanations are selected, income will be verified automatically and eligibility will
be determined "real time" without additional verification. This bill codifies these
processes.

Self-attestation of income. Per MEDIL | 23-49E, renewals received without a
reasonable explanation or new income verification can use self-attested information
under a federally approved waiver. Effective October 1, 2023, DHCS notes, the
waiver will allow the acceptance of self-attestation of income for instances where the
renewal packet is required, no income waivers are applicable, and utilization of the
self-attested income will not lead to a negative action such as discontinuance.
Counties must still follow normal business processes to verify all other required non-
financial eligibility criteria. This bill continues the provisions of the Self-Attestation
of Income Waiver.

viii) Improvements to 90-day cure period. The temporary flexibility makes

iX)

submissions of information during 90-day cure period automatically restore Medi-
Cal eligibility back to date of discontinuance, when person is found eligible based on
the new information. This bill would extend the flexibility.

All other flexibilities. The following federal unwinding waivers and flexibilities are
included in a comprehensive list in the CHHSA issue brief. These additional
flexibilities do not appear to be specifically addressed by this bill, but would be
maintained by the bill’s catch-all extension of all temporary flexibilities not
specifically added by the bill. They include:
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(1) Partnering with the National Change of Address Database and United States
Postal Service In-State Forwarding Address to update member contact
information;

(2) Partnering with Program of All-Incisive Care for the Elderly organizations to
update member contact information;

(3) Extending the timeframe for members to request a State Fair Hearing from 90 to
120 days;

(4) Extending timeframe to take final administrative action on State Fair Hearing
requests from 90 to 120 days;

(5) Suspending the requirement to apply for other benefits;

(6) Suspending the requirement to cooperate with child support agencies in
establishing the identity of a child’s parents and in obtaining medical support;
and,

(7) Using Medi-Cal managed care plans and all available outreach modalities (phone
call, email, text) to contact members when renewal forms are mailed and when
they should have received them by mail. (This bill requires outreach by multiple
modalities but does not specifically reference the role of managed care plans.)

This bill also imposes requirements that are not directly related to and go beyond the
PHE-era flexibilities, but are also meant to improve customer service for eligibility
functions and make it easier to stay on Medi-Cal. These include:

i)

Continuous eligibility. This bill would implement 12-month continuous eligibility
for adults regardless of changes in circumstances. Although this wasn’t specifically
one of the federal flexibilities under the PHE, the pause of redeterminations
essentially created continuous eligibility for adults during that time period.

Require a manual review before eligibility is terminated. This bill would prohibit
eligibility from being automatically terminated without a manual review. It would
require counties to review information on each case before discontinuing eligibility.
According to the sponsor, this provision would help ensure individuals are not
terminated from the program when they may be eligible under other eligibility
pathways, and would ensure all information has been processed prior to eligiblity
being terminated.

iii) Requiring reporting of call center metrics. Counties are not currently required to

report on call center metrics, such as wait times. This bill would require such
reporting.

iv) Set ex parte success rate goals and require mitigations if goals not met.

According to the sponsor, the Center for Budget and Policy Priorities recommends
states set goals for the percentage of renewals that are conducted on an ex parte basis.
This bill requires DHCS to set a target of at least 50% successful ex parte for the
MAGI population, and to submit a report on causes of missing target and action steps
to increase ex parte rates in months they fail to meet the target.

Streamlining. This bill removes a requirement for a beneficiary to sign a renewal
form if returned to the county in person or by mail. Individuals can currently respond
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to the county with information through other means, including email or telephone.

SUPPORT. Numerous consumer, legal aid, and children’s advocates support this bill
because it will maintain low-income children, adults and families on Medi-Cal, reduce
procedural barriers, and improve customer service for individuals seeking help.

RELATED LEGISLATION. SB 1287 (Roth) requires counties to report call center metrics.
SB 1287 is pending in the Senate Health Committee.

PREVIOUS LEGISLATION. SB 184 implemented continuous eligibility for children
younger than age five, contingent on funding, federal approval, and systems readiness.

POLICY COMMENT. The changes imposed by the pause in redetermination and the PHE
Unwinding provided an opportunity for the state, county, and system stakeholders to step
back and reassess the performance of the Medi-Cal eligibility system, and think critically
about the costs and benefits of eligibility requirements. Since the ACA, the state and federal
government have moved firmly toward a smarter, more user-friendly system that minimizes
burden on individuals to provide information necessary retain coverage, which has many
benefits, including easing administrative workload and stabilizing coverage for individuals
and families. Further careful analysis and technical assistance from DHCS and engagement
with counties is advised to ensure the language in the bill extends flexibilities as intended
and, where this bill goes beyond what was approved under temporary flexibilities to create
permanent, ongoing business processes, that appropriate safeguards are in place against
unintended consequences, such as a situation in which automatic ex parte renewals “auto-
verify” each other indefinitely.

In addition, as this bill moves forward, in consultation with DHCS and to provide all parties
clarity over the long term, the author may wish to eliminate the provision extending all other
temporary flexibilities not specifically enumerated, and instead specifically enumerate all
these rules in statute.

TECHNICAL AMENDMENTS. The Committee, author, and sponsor have identified the
following minor technical amendments:

a) Section 14005.251. (a) The department shall seek federal approval underSection-1115-6f
the-federal-Secial-Security-Act to extend continuous eligibility to individuals over 19

years of age.

b) Section 14005.37 (e)(5)(B)(i) The most recent income determination, at either initial
application or most recent renewal, was within the last 12 months.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

Access Reproductive Justice
American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network INC.
American Diabetes Association



AB 2956
Page 12

Asian Americans Advancing Justice-southern California
Asian Resources, INC.

Bay Area Legal Aid

California Association of Food Banks

California Dental Association

California Immigrant Policy Center

California Pan - Ethnic Health Network

California School-based Health Alliance

California State Association of Psychiatrists (CSAP)
California State Council of Service Employees International Union (SEIU California)
California WIC Association

CANHR

Children Now

Children's Institute

Children's Specialty Care Coalition

Community Clinic Association of Los Angeles County (CCALAC)
Community Health Councils

County of Santa Clara

Courage California

Friends Committee on Legislation of California
Health Access California

Indivisible CA StateStrong

Justice in Aging

Latino Coalition for A Healthy California
LeadingAge California

Legal Services of Northern California

Oasis Legal Services

Public Law Center

Second Harvest Food Bank of Orange County
Steinberg Institute

The Children's Partnership

The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

Western Center on Law & Poverty

Opposition
None on file.

Analysis Prepared by: Lisa Murawski / HEALTH / (916) 319-2097
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Date of Hearing: April 16, 2024

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HEALTH
Mia Bonta, Chair
AB 2960 (Lee) — As Amended April 2, 2024

SUBJECT: Sexually transmitted diseases: testing.

SUMMARY:: Requires a licensed primary care clinic or hospital emergency department (ED) to
offer a syphilis test at least once per year to all patients who can become pregnant. Prohibits a
violation of these provisions from being a crime. Makes findings and declarations regarding the
alarming increase of syphilis cases, rising 287% in the last 10 years of Department of Public
Health (DPH) data. Specifically, this bill:

1) Requires, at least once per year, a primary care clinic or a hospital ED to offer a syphilis test
to patients who can become pregnant. Exempts a primary care clinic if the patient’s primary
care clinic has tested the patient for syphilis or if the patient has been offered a syphilis test
and declined the test within the previous 12 months.

2) Authorizes a primary care clinic or ED to charge a patient to cover the cost of syphilis
testing. Deems the primary care clinic or ED to have complied with this bill if a syphilis test
is offered.

3) States that it is the intent of the Legislature that if there is a shortage of bicillin, the preferred
treatment for pregnant persons with syphilis, bicillin should be provided first to persons who
are pregnant.

4) Makes findings and declarations regarding the alarming increase of syphilis cases, rising
287% in the last 10 years of DPH data

EXISTING LAW:

1) Establishes DPH, directed by a state Public Health Officer (PHO), to be vested with all the
duties, powers, purposes, functions, responsibilities, and jurisdiction as they relate to public
health and licensing of health facilities, as specified. Gives the PHO broad authority to
detect, monitor, and prevent the spread of communicable disease in the state. [Health and
Safety Code (HSC) §131050 and 8120130, et seq.]

2) Exempts various types of clinics from licensure and regulation by DPH, including any place
or establishment owned or operated as a clinic or office by one or more licensed health care
practitioners and used as an office for the practice of their profession, and any clinic operated
as an outpatient department of a hospital. [HSC §1206]

3) Defines “outpatient setting,” for purposes of establishing standards for accreditation of
surgical settings that are not otherwise licensed, as any facility, clinic, unlicensed clinic,
center, office, or other setting that is not part of a general acute care hospital (GACH), and
where anesthesia, except local anesthesia or peripheral nerve blocks, is used in compliance
with the community standard of practice in doses that have the probability of placing a
patient at risk for loss of the patient’s life-preserving protective reflexes. [HSC §1248]
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Requires every health care provider, knowing of or in attendance on a case or suspected case
of a disease on the list of reportable diseases and conditions, to be reported as required to
DPH, including syphilis. [Title 17, California Code of Regulations (CCR) §2500, §2593,
§2641.5- 2643.20, and §2800-2812]

Requires a person who works in a health facility, service or operation, or who has
occupational tuberculosis (TB) exposure in public health services in connection with health
care to be periodically screened for TB. [Title 22, CCR Div. 5, Chapters 1-12]

Requires an adult patient who receives primary care services to be offered a hepatitis B and C
screening test according to the latest recommendations from the U.S. Preventive Services
Task Force (USPSTF), and to the extent these services are covered under the patient's health
insurance, unless the patient lacks capacity to consent to the test, or is being treated in the ED
of a GACH. [HSC 81316.7]

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown. This bill has not yet been analyzed by a fiscal committee.

COMMENTS:

1)

2)

PURPOSE OF THIS BILL. According to the author, cases of syphilis have been rising
significantly in California, including cases of congenital syphilis (CS) that caused nearly 200
stillbirths or neonatal deaths between 2012 and 2021. This bill seeks to increase testing
among people who may be pregnant so that proper treatment can be provided.

BACKGROUND. Syphilis is an infection caused by bacteria. Most often, it spreads through
sexual contact. The disease starts as a sore that's often painless and typically appears on the
genitals, rectum, or mouth. Syphilis spreads from person to person through direct contact
with these sores. It also can be passed to a baby during pregnancy and childbirth and
sometimes through breastfeeding. After the infection happens, syphilis bacteria can stay in
the body for many years without causing symptoms, however the infection can become
active again. Without treatment, syphilis can damage the heart, brain or other organs. Early
syphilis can be cured, sometimes with a single shot of penicillin.

a) Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guidelines. According to the
CDC, syphilis case reports continue to increase since reaching a historic low in 2000 and
2001. During 2021, there were 176,713 new cases of syphilis (all stages). Gay, bisexual,
and other men who have sex with men (MSM) are experiencing extreme effects of
syphilis. They account for 36% of all primary and secondary (P&S) syphilis cases in the
2021 sexually transmitted disease (STD) Surveillance Report. They also account for 47%
of all male P&S cases. However, case rates are increasing among heterosexual men and
women in recent years. CS continues to be a concern in the United States. CS occurs
when a pregnant person passes syphilis to their baby. Final 2021 data show more than
2,800 cases of CS. The CDC screening recommendations are as follows:

i) Screen asymptomatic women at increased risk (history of incarceration or
transactional sex work, geography, race/ethnicity) for syphilis infection;
ii) Pregnant Women:
(1) All pregnant women at the first prenatal visit; and,
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(2) Retest at 28 weeks gestation and at delivery if at increased risk due to geography
or personal risk (substance use, sexually transmitted infections (STIs) during
pregnancy, multiple partners, a new partner, partner with STIs).

iii) Men Who Have Sex With Women: Screen asymptomatic adults at increased risk
(history of incarceration or transactional sex work, geography, race/ethnicity, and
being a male younger than 29 years) for syphilis infection;

iv) MSM:

(1) At least annually for sexually active MSM; and,

(2) Every three to six months if at increased risk.

v) Screen asymptomatic adults at increased risk (history of incarceration or transactional
sex work, geography, race/ethnicity, and being a male younger than 29 years) for
syphilis infection;

vi) Transgender and Gender Diverse People: Consider screening at least annually based
on reported sexual behaviors and exposure;

vii) Persons with HIV:

(1) For sexually active individuals, screen at first HIV evaluation, and at least
annually thereafter; and,

(2) More frequent screening might be appropriate depending on individual risk
behaviors and the local epidemiology.

CS. CS is an infection transmitted from pregnant person to child during pregnancy and/or
delivery caused by the bacterium Treponema pallidum. CS can cause severe illness in
infants including premature birth, low birth weight, birth defects, blindness, and hearing
loss. It can also lead to stillbirth and infant death. Tests and treatment for pregnant people
are readily available.

Over the last several years, California has experienced a steep increase in syphilis among
females and in CS. From 2012 to 2021, female early syphilis cases increased over
1,113% and CS cases increased 1,500%, from 33 cases in 2012 to 528 cases in 2021. This
is the highest number of reported CS cases since 1992 when 522 cases were reported.
According to the CDC, California had the 11th highest CS rate of all states in 2021.
Thirty-seven (60.7%) of California’s 61 local health jurisdictions reported at least one
case of CS in 2021. Most pregnant females who gave birth to infants with CS received
prenatal care late in pregnancy or not at all.

DPH guidelines. In response to the alarming rise in CS, DPH recognized an urgent need
to expand syphilis detection among people who are or could become pregnant in order to
ensure detection, timely treatment, and subsequent CS prevention. California STD
screening recommendations to date have aligned with national guidelines, which
recommend all pregnant patients receive syphilis screening at the first prenatal visit, with
additional screening in the third trimester and at delivery for those with identified risk,
including in communities and populations with high syphilis prevalence. Because the
majority of California CS cases in 2017 and 2018 were born to pregnant patients with
delayed or no prenatal care, DPH supports a more thorough, multipronged approach to
case detection and CS prevention, which includes expanded syphilis screening for people
who could become pregnant. This is especially important for people identified in settings
that serve populations at increased risk for syphilis, as well as patients who might have
disruptions in prenatal care and communicable disease treatment due to contributing
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social factors (e.g., substance use, incarceration, poverty, homelessness, etc.), such as the

ED. DPH recommends:

i) All pregnant patients should be screened for syphilis at least twice during pregnancy:
once at either confirmation of pregnancy or at the first prenatal encounter (ideally
during the first trimester) — and again during the third trimester (ideally between 28—
32 weeks’ gestation), regardless of whether such testing was performed or offered
during the first two trimesters;

il) Patients should be screened for syphilis at delivery, except those at low risk who have
a documented negative screen in the third trimester;

iii) ED providers in local health jurisdictions with high-CS morbidity should consider
confirming the syphilis status of all pregnant patients prior to discharge, either via
documented test results in pregnancy, or a syphilis test in the ED if documentation is
unavailable;

iv) All people who are or could become pregnant entering an adult correctional facility
health jurisdiction with high-CS morbidity should be screened for syphilis at intake,
or as close to intake as feasible;

v) All sexually active people who could become pregnant should receive at least one
lifetime screen for syphilis, with additional screening for those at increased risk; and,

vi) All sexually active people who could become pregnant should be screened for
syphilis at the time of each HIV test.

SUPPORT. AIDS Healthcare Foundation (AHF) is the sponsor of this bill and states that the
epidemic of STIs in California has been growing since 2000. The most alarming increase has
been in the number of all syphilis cases, rising 287% in the last 10 years as reported by DPH.
The impact of syphilis among females has been even greater, increasing 1,113% over the
same period. California is outpacing the rest of the country, with a rate that is 41% higher
than the national rate. Particularly tragic is that the persistence of syphilis infections among
women in their reproductive years has led to a meteoric rise in CS, when the infection is
transmitted from the mother to the child during pregnancy. Cases of CS increased by 1500%
during the last 10 years, leading to hundreds of stillbirths, neonatal deaths and other
symptoms and complications. According to the CDC, California has the 11" highest rate of
CS in the nation, which is 63% higher than the national rate. AHF notes that both DPH and
the CDC agree that a priority target for syphilis testing and treatment are people who can
become pregnant and who face obstacles in obtaining healthcare. Moreover, the USPSTF
found convincing evidence that screening for syphilis infection in asymptomatic,
nonpregnant persons at increased risk for infection provides substantial benefit. AHF
concludes that a mandate to offer syphilis testing screen persons who are infected and allow
medical professionals to treat them before the patient becomes pregnant, will provide an
opportunity to educate people about syphilis and expand awareness among the public about
the adverse impacts of syphilis infection and how to protect themselves.

OPPOSE UNLESS AMENDED. The California Emergency Nurses Association (CA ENA)
is opposed to this bill unless it is amended. CA ENA states that they believe mandating
syphilis screening in EDs, even for a small portion of the qualifying patients cared for in
EDs, would add to the burden of emergency providers in caring for very sick or injured
patients, with an unintended consequence of increased ED crowding. Crowding occurs when
the identified need for emergency services exceeds available resources for patient care in the
ED, hospital, or both. Crowding is also related to decreased access/availability of services
over the entire health care delivery system (e.g. skilled nursing facility beds, behavioral
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health services, hospital inpatient beds, home health care services, wound care services and
any other service not available). When routine patient care, testing, and evaluation is required
in an emergent environment, ED length of stay is often negatively impacted with prolonged
results, and in effect, creates a higher patient volume waiting for those results. As the ED
becomes increasingly crowded and patients must wait longer for care, frustration intensifies
in patients/families and can lead to violence against healthcare providers.

CA ENA states that multiple studies have reported that the quality of care decreases as EDs
become more crowded, and this bill will increase ED length of stay. CA ENA points to a
DPH report published in 2019 found that, on average, EDs spend 28 minutes per patient
offering the HIV test, securing consent, and providing information and counseling. CA ENA
contends that one can presume it would take approximately 28 minutes to meet this mandate
for syphilis screening — 28 minutes that could be dedicated to life-threatening or life-
changing care for ED patients and their families.

OPPOSITION. The American College of OB/GYN’s District IX (ACOG) writes in
opposition that this bill requires syphilis testing to be offered to all women of reproductive
age at least once per year regardless of clinical guidelines or recommendations. ACOG
recommends all pregnant people are screened for syphilis at their first prenatal visit and
potentially retested at delivery if at high risk; however, it does not recommend routine
screening for all people who are not pregnant. A broad mandate that requires tests to be
offered to all reproductive aged women regardless of risk, even when not needed or
recommended through clinical guidance, could strain public health resources, diverting them
from other critical areas or from higher risk populations, and take time away from why the
women sought healthcare to begin with. Efficient and more cost-effective use of limited
public health resources often requires prioritizing interventions based on risk assessments
and epidemiological data. Rather than a blanket mandate, we should focus on high-risk
groups, improve access to voluntary testing, and invest in education and prevention might
yield better outcomes in terms of both health and economics.

The California Medical Association is opposed to this bill and states that like many other
bills legislating medicine, this bill offers a “one-size-fits-all approach” that does not take into
consideration the many other clinical factors. Efficient and more cost-effective use of limited
public health resources often requires prioritizing interventions based on risk assessments
and epidemiological data. Rather than a blanket mandate, public health strategies benefit
more from being targeted and nuanced, focusing on higher-risk populations and tailored
interventions based on clinical guidance.

RELATED LEGISLATION. AB 2132 (Low) requires an adult patient receiving primary
care services in specified health care settings, to be offered a TB risk assessment and TB
screening test, if certain conditions apply. AB 2132 is pending in the Assembly
Appropriations Committee.

PREVIOUS LEGISLATION.

a) AB 789 (Low), Chapter 470, Statutes of 2021, requires an adult patient who receives
primary care services to be offered a hepatitis B and C screening test according to the
latest recommendations from the USPSTF, and to the extent these services are covered
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under the patient's health insurance, unless the patient lacks capacity to consent to the
test, or is being treated in the ED of a GACH.

b) SB 306 (Pan), Chapter 486, Statutes of 2021, permits pharmacists to dispense a drug,
without the name of an individual for whom the drug is intended, when prescribed for the
sexual partner of someone who has been diagnosed with a STD; prohibits health care
providers who prescribe, dispense, or furnish such a drug from being subject to, civil,
criminal, or administrative penalties, as specified; requires a syphilis blood test, during
the third trimester of pregnancy and at delivery, as specified; requires public and
commercial health coverage of home STD test Kits; and, adds rapid STD tests to existing
law which permits HIV counselors to perform rapid HIV and hepatitis C tests.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

AIDS Healthcare Foundation

Opposition

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists District IX

California Medical Association

Analysis Prepared by: Lara Flynn/ HEALTH / (916) 319-2097
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Date of Hearing: April 16, 2024

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HEALTH
Mia Bonta, Chair
AB 2995 (Jackson) — As Introduced February 16, 2024

SUBJECT: Public health: alcohol and drug programs: definitions.

SUMMARY: Strikes outdated terminology from existing law in relation to substance use
disorder (SUD) and replaces with person-first terminology. Specifically, this bill:

1) Replaces the following terms throughout various Health and Safety Code (HSC) sections:
a) “Alcohol abuser” with “person with an alcohol disorder;”
b) “Drug abuser” with “person with a substance use disorder;”

c) “Alcohol and other drug abuse,” “narcotic and alcohol and other drug abuse,” and
“problem of narcotics addiction or drug abuse” with “substance use disorder;” and,

d) “Alcohol and other drug abuse problem” and “problems of alcohol and other drug abuse”
with “misuse or inappropriate use of alcohol and other drugs.”

2) Makes related technical and non-substantive changes.
EXISTING LAW:

1) Grants the Department of Health Care Services the administrative authority over all SUD and
community mental health functions [HSC § 11750, et seq.]

2) Defines “alcohol and other drug problems” as problems of individuals, families, and the
community that are related to the abuse of alcohol and other drugs. [HSC §11752.1]

3) Defines “alcohol abuser” as anyone who has a problem related to the consumption of
alcoholic beverages whether or not it is of a periodic or continuing nature. [HSC §11752.1]

4) Defines “drug abuser” as anyone who has a problem related to the consumption
of illicit, illegal, legal, or prescription drugs or over-the-counter medications in a manner
other than prescribed, whether or not it is of a periodic or continuing nature. [HSC §11752.1]

5) Defines “alcohol and other drug service” as a service that is designed to encourage recovery
from the abuse of alcohol and other drugs. [HSC §11752.1]

6) Defines “alcohol and other drug abuse program” as a collection of alcohol and other drug
services that are coordinated. [HSC 811752.1]

7) Defines “alcoholism or drug abuse residential treatment facility” as any place or building that
provides 24-hour residential nonmedical services to adults who are recovering from problems
related to alcohol, drug, or alcohol and drug misuse or abuse, and who need alcohol, drug, or
alcohol and drug recovery treatment or detoxification services. [HSC §11834.02]
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8) Defines “narcotic and drug abuse program” as any program that provides services for
detoxification and treatment, as specified, to alleviate the problems of narcotic addiction or
habituation or drug abuse addiction or habituation. [HSC §11842]

FISCAL EFFECT: None.

COMMENTS:

1) PURPOSE OF THIS BILL. According to the author this bill aims to redefine the
terminology used for individuals grappling with SUDs. The author continues that these
revisions reflect a deeper empathy and understanding, acknowledging that those facing SUD
challenges require support and treatment rather than condemnation and stigma. The author
concludes that this shift not only promotes a more compassionate approach to public health
but also empowers those impacted to seek assistance without the fear of being discriminated
against or shamed.

2)

BACKGROUND.

a)

b)

Prevalence of SUD in California. A 2022 publication from the California Health Care
Foundation, entitled “Substance Use in California: Prevalence and Treatment” reported
that substance use in California is widespread with over half of Californians over age 12
reporting using alcohol in the past month and 20% reporting using marijuana in the past
year. According to the report, 9% of Californians have met the criteria for a SUD within
the last year. While the health care system is moving toward acknowledging SUDs as a
chronic illness, only about 10% of people with an SUD within the last year received
treatment. Overdose deaths from both opioids and psychostimulants (such as
amphetamines), are soaring. This issue, compounded by the increased availability of
fentanyl, has resulted in a 10-fold increase in fentanyl related deaths between 2015 and
2019. The California Department of Public Health’s Opioid Overdose Dashboard
reported 7,385 deaths related to “any” opioid overdose in 2022, with 6,473 (87.7%) of
those deaths fentanyl related.

Stigmatizing Terminology. Research shows that stigmatizing language is one of many
barriers to seeking treatment for a substance use or mental health disorder. Slang,
medically inaccurate, and non-person first terms, such as “drug abuser” or “alcoholic,”
can invite negative judgments about individuals with SUD, including deeming them as
blameworthy, untrustworthy, and dangerous. Individuals with SUD may internalize these
beliefs, which could bring feelings of shame and anxiety and create barriers to seeking
treatment. Stigmatizing language has also been found to lead to negative impacts within
interpretation of existing law, leading to judges and juries prioritizing punishment rather
than SUD treatment, and reinforcing structural and public stigma around SUD. The
National Institute on Drug Abuse within the National Institutes of Health (NIH) has
published guidance on preferred language for talking about addiction. This guidance
urges providers to use person-first language and avoid terms that increase stigma and
negative bias when discussing the disease of addiction. The educational resources
published by NIH discourage use of the term “addict” and advocate for its replacement
with the term “person with substance use disorder,” explaining that shifting to person-
first language “shows that a person ‘has’ a problem, rather than ‘is’ the problem.”
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In response to the escalating prevalence of SUD in California, this Legislature has
advanced policies to promote harm reduction strategies, bolster treatment programs, and
shift towards tackling SUD as a public health issue instead of a criminal one. Yet state
statutes currently contain outdated and harmful terms that persist in contrast to the policy
progress that’s been made.

SUPPORT. The County Behavioral Health Directors Association California (CBHDA) are
the sponsors of this bill stating that antiquated current law contains significant stigma
surrounding the treatment of SUD. CBHDA continues that stigma surrounding SUD in
language and statute reflects societal attitudes that lead to discrimination in obtaining
housing, accessing health services and treatment, education, and employment opportunities.
CBHDA concludes that this bill is an important measure that takes one step toward
combatting and addressing the societal stigma surrounding substance use disorders and
treatment.

RELATED LEGISLATION. AB 2119 (Weber) strikes outdated terminology from existing
law in relation to mental health and replaces them with person-first terminology. AB 2119 is
pending in the Assembly Health Committee.

PREVIOUS LEGISLATION.

a) AB 248 (Mathis), Chapter 797, Statutes of 2023, strikes the terms "handicapped,”
"mentally retarded persons,” "mentally retarded children,” and "retardation™ and instead

uses the terms “individuals with intellectual, developmental disabilities,” “impaired,” or
“disability” throughout code.

b) AB 1130 (Berman), Chapter 21, Statutes of 2023, updates various provisions of code to
replace use of the term “addict” with the term “person with substance use disorder.”

c) AB 1096 (Luz Rivas), Chapter 296, Statutes of 2021, strikes the offensive and
dehumanizing term "alien" used to describe a person who is not a citizen or national of
the United States where it appears in multiple California Code sections and, replaces it
with other terms that do not include the word “alien."

SUGGESTED AMENDMENTS. This bill as drafted updates terminology across six code
sections. However there are dozens of other code sections that contain stigmatizing language
relating to SUD. The committee may wish to amend this bill to ensure all relevant code
sections are updated with person-first terminology.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

County Behavioral Health Directors Association of California (sponsor)
California Association of Alcohol and Drug Program Executives, INC.

Opposition

None on file.

Analysis Prepared by: Riana King / HEALTH / (916) 319-2097
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Date of Hearing: April 16, 2024

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HEALTH
Mia Bonta, Chair
AB 3149 (Garcia) — As Amended March 18, 2024

SUBJECT: Promotores Advisory and Oversight Workgroup.

SUMMARY': Requires the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) to convene the
Promotores Advisory and Oversight Workgroup (workgroup) to examine the implementation of
the community health worker (CHW) benefit under the Medi-Cal program. Specifically, this
bill:

1) Requires the workgroup to be convened by January 1, 2026, and until December 31, 2026.

2) Specifies the makeup of the workgroup, including no less than 51% promotores, including,
but not limited to, a representative from a statewide network of promotores and community
health workers, a representative from a community-based organization, a representative from
a health clinic or community health center, and a representative from a regional organization.

3) Specifies the duties of the workgroup, including advising on access to CHW services,
cultural and linguistic appropriateness of training and outreach materials, outreach and
awareness efforts, and providing input on other issues based on the workgroup members’
lived experience.

EXISTING LAW:

1) Establishes the Medi-Cal Program, administered by DHCS, to provide comprehensive health
benefits to low-income individuals who meet specified eligibility criteria. [Welfare and
Institutions Code (WIC) 814000 et seq.]

2) Establishes a schedule of benefits under the Medi-Cal program. [WIC §14132]

3) Establishes CHW services as a Medi-Cal benefit and requires DHCS, through existing and
regular stakeholder processes, to inform stakeholders about, and accept input from
stakeholders on, implementation of the CHW services benefit. [WIC §14132.36]

4) Defines CHW to mean a liaison, link, or intermediary between health and social services and
the community to facilitate access to services and to improve the access and cultural
competence of service delivery. States that CHWs include Promotores, Promotores de Salud,
community health representatives, navigators, and other nonlicensed health workers,
including violence prevention professionals. Requires a CHW’s lived experience to align
with and provide a connection to the community being served. [WIC § 18998]

5) Requires DHCS to convene a workgroup to examine the implementation of the Medi-Cal
doula benefit and to, by July 1, 2025, publish a report on utilization of the benefit that
identifies any barriers that impede access to doula services and make recommendations to
reduce any identified barriers. [WIC 814132.24]
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Requires the Department of Health Care Access and Information (HCAI) to develop
statewide requirements for CHW certificate programs in consultation with stakeholders.
[WIC § 18998.1, et seq.]

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown. This bill has not yet been analyzed by a fiscal committee.

COMMENTS:

1)

2)

PURPOSE OF THIS BILL. According to the author, promotoras, as included under the
state’s definition of CHWS, are a predominantly women-led Latina workforce, working with
low-income and traditionally underserved communities to provide reliable information,
connections to resources, public health, social services, education, housing, and legal
systems. The author notes they provide effective connections to components recognized as
social determinants of health, and promatoras are trusted community ambassadors serving as
vital resource links between our most vulnerable populations and traditional health systems
to improve health outcomes. The author concludes that as California embarks on the
important work to include Community Health Worker, Promotora, and Representatives
(CHWI/P/R) as a Medi-Cal benefit and augment the workforce, we must integrate the voices
and feedback of promotoras, our on the ground community health leaders, in the planning
and decision-making.

BACKGROUND.

a) CHW Services. As of July 1, 2022, over half of states (29 of 48) reported allowing
Medicaid payment for services provided by CHWs. DHCS engaged with stakeholders
and experts on Medicaid coverage of CHW services in other states to inform policy and
implementation of the CHW benefit. DHCS added CHW services, including violence
prevention services, as a Medi-Cal benefit starting July 1, 2022. The benefit was codified
through AB 2697 (Aguiar-Curry), Chapter 488, Statutes of 2022. CHW services are
defined to include those delivered by promotores, community health representatives
(CHRs; professionals who work in a tribal setting), navigators, and other non-licensed
public health workers.

i) General Rules. CHW services are defined in Medi-Cal under federal regulations on
“preventive services,” and must therefore be recommended by a physician or other
licensed practitioner of the healing arts within their scope of practice under state law.
In addition to physicians, a range of non-physician medical practitioners and
behavioral health professionals can recommend CHW services. The recommending
provider does not need to be enrolled in Medi-Cal or be a network provider for the
Medi-Cal member’s managed care plan. Medical necessity for services is defined
fairly broadly—individuals are eligible for services if they have one or more chronic
conditions, have a behavioral health diagnosis or suspected behavioral health
condition, have visited a hospital emergency department or had an inpatient stay
within the prior six months, express need for support in health system navigation or
resource coordination, or meet at least one of a number of other criteria. To provide
more than 12 units (six hours) of CHW services for an individual, the services must
be provided pursuant to a written plan of care. Services can be provided in an
individual or group setting, and can be provided virtually. There are no restrictions as
to where services can be delivered. The federally approved State Plan Amendment19
for CHW services describes the services and qualifications, and the Medi-Cal
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Provider Manual for CHW services further describes billing procedures, policies, and
supervision of CHWs.

The supervising provider, who submits claims for services, is an enrolled Medi-Cal
provider who oversees the services provided and ensures a CHW meets the defined
qualifications. The supervising provider can be a licensed provider, a hospital, an
outpatient clinic, a local health jurisdiction (LHJ), or a community-based organization
(CBO). CHWSs may be supervised by a CBO or LHJ that does not have a licensed
provider on staff.

i) Health Topics Addressed. CHWSs can address issues that include but are not limited
to control and prevention of chronic conditions or infectious diseases; mental health
conditions and substance use disorders; perinatal health conditions; sexual and
reproductive health; environmental and climate-sensitive health issues; child health
and development; oral health; aging; injury; domestic violence; and, violence
prevention.

iii) Definition of Services. Medi-Cal defines CHW services as including health
education; navigation to health care and other community resources that address
health-related social needs; screening and assessment to identify the need for
services; and individual support and advocacy that assists a beneficiary in preventing
a health condition, injury, or violence.

CHW Benefit Utilization and Expenditure Data. As of July 1, 2022, CHW services
have been a covered benefit in Medi-Cal Fee-for-Service (FFS) and managed care. The
2023 Budget and the 2024-25 Governor’s Budget each assume total annual Medi-Cal
expenditures of $91.9 million for the CHW benefit ($82.7 million in managed care and
$9.2 million in FFS).

Costs associated with CHW services are reflected in managed care rates as of January 1,
2023; however, billing data shows little utilization. Actual data on CHW visits billed to
Medi-Cal through FFS and managed care through January 25, 2024, have not exceeded
$1 million. These data only include CHW services that were individually billed through
the CHW benefit. CHW services are also billed in other ways, so these data also exclude
other important avenues through which CHW services may be delivered in Medi-Cal,
such as though DHCS initiatives called Enhanced Care Management and Community
Supports. Services provided at federally qualified health centers (FQHCs) and rural
health centers (RHCs) are also not included; based on nuances of the way these clinics
bill Medi-Cal, FQHCs and RHCs cannot directly bill for CHW services.

Budget estimates for new benefits, particularly when provided by non-traditional
providers, are often uncertain and a ramp-up period is expected. Although the data show
thousands of Medi-Cal members have received CHW services through the CHW benefit,
given the size of the Medi-Cal population and the potential to deploy CHWS in many
different areas to meet health and health-related social needs, it is apparent that the
rollout of the CHW benefit has been slower than anticipated.

DHCS has taken a number of actions to describe expectations for coverage and provision
of the CHW benefit, as well as planned monitoring, including guidance to managed care
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plans, requiring plans to describe how they will integrate CHWS, creating a new
enrollment pathway for community-based organizations and local health jurisdictions,
basing incentive payments to plans on utilization of CHW services, adding CHW services
to the Medi-Cal dental program to address oral health, and monitoring the provision of
CHW services through another initiative called “Population Health Monitoring.”

HCAI CHW Workforce Effort. The 2022 Budget Act included approximately $281.4
million over three years to support a new program to recruit, train, and certify 25,000 new
CHWs by 2025, including those with specialized training to work with specific
populations or on specific issues. According to HCALI, the training requirements would
align with Medi-Cal requirements for reimbursement. Although most of the funding has
been delayed until the 2024-25 and 2025-26 fiscal years, the multi-year amount in the
2024 Governor’s Budget is still the same as originally proposed.

SB 184 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review), Chapter 47, Statutes of 2022, the
2022 Health Trailer Bill, required HCAI to develop statewide requirements for CHW
certificate programs in consultation with stakeholders. . In July 2023, following a series
of stakeholder consultation sessions, HCAI issued a guidance letter implementing the
requirements. However, the guidance letter has since been “paused,” pending additional
stakeholder engagement.

HCAI also notes it is working closely with DHCS to align pathways and eventually
consolidate into one state certificate process for CHW/P/Rs.

HCATI’s Stakeholder Engagement.

i) Initial Stakeholder Work: To inform the development of the July 2023 guidance
letter, HCAI conducted 43 stakeholder sessions with a total attendance of 1,573
across all sessions. HCAI developed the certificate model through three iterative
models in response to stakeholder feedback. HCAI shared each certificate model
iteration in draft form during information sessions and solicited suggestions for
improvement. HCAI conducted sessions in Spanish and offered Spanish language
translation services during English sessions. Written feedback from stakeholders was
also encouraged, and HCAI received written comments in both English and Spanish.
HCAI offered to provide translation and interpretation services in other languages
upon request.

i) Current Work: The state team comprised of California Health and Human Services
Agency (CHHSA), DHCS, and HCAI launched a further stakeholder engagement
process in February 2024, with work planned to conclude in June 2024. The agencies
first convened an ad hoc advisory group comprised of a number of key organizations
and thought leaders in the CHW/P/R space. This group advised on the dialogue guide,
process, and site selection for stakeholder input and will continue to advise to ensure
the process is comprehensive, relevant, and appropriate. The goal of this stakeholder
effort is to get feedback on what is working well and what are the barriers to
expanding the CHW/P/R workforce, how HCAI can best use its funds for recruiting,
training, and certifying CHW/P/Rs, and the value, risks, scope, and unintended
consequences of a statewide certificate.
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HCAI indicates the intent is to conduct approximately 20 stakeholder dialogues from
February to June 2024, with dialogues appropriately distributed by geography and
also covering the wide range of populations that CHW/P/Rs serve. Once the
stakeholder process has concluded, HCAI plans to finalize funding priorities with
input from the ad hoc advisory group, with the aim of launching grants and contracts
reflecting these priorities in early 2025. The first dialogue was held on February 24th,
2024, at La Clinica de la Raza in Oakland. Subsequent sessions are being scheduled
with a list of host sites selected to maximize geographic distribution and population
representation.

e) Assembly Informational Hearing. On March 12, 2024, the Assembly Committee on

f)

Health and Budget Subcommittee No.1 on Health held an informational hearing on
implementation of the Medi-Cal CHW benefit and the CHW/P/R workforce efforts
within HCAL. It noted both initiatives are still in the early stages of implementation, and
although there is significant excitement about these investments and the potential of both
initiatives, and a number of promising developments, a diverse array of stakeholders have
noted various barriers to implementing these efforts and to expanding CHW/P/R
workforce and services generally. The hearing provided background on CHW/P/Rs and
recent state efforts, and documented and discussed both bright spots and challenges in
implementation of these state initiatives and broader deployment of CHWs.

Bright spots include having the “policy infrastructure” in place for Medi-Cal financing of
CHW services, the responsiveness of the state to stakeholder input, the availability of
CHW training programs in California, statewide and regional collaboratives to promote
CHWs, capacity-building investments at DHCS, and federal funding and attention.

Challenges and barriers include limited administrative infrastructure for community-
based organizations and other small, community-based potential providers of CHW
services; a constrained workforce; ongoing financial sustainability, including inadequacy
of rates, the inability of FQHCs and RHCs to directly bill for services, and little public
health funding for CHWSs; disagreement among stakeholders about the purpose and value
of certification; a lack of ongoing support for promoting best practices; training “deserts”
throughout the state, such as the rural north; and the dual roles CHWs occupy, as
embedded in and advocates for their community as well as part of the “professional
culture” of health care.

Based on the findings of the hearing, the successful expansion and integration of CHW
services through the Medi-Cal CHW benefit has the potential to be transformative, but
there are many implementation hurdles to address that will require significant dialogue
and partnership among many stakeholders.

Doula Benefit Implementation Workgroup. Medi-Cal added doula services as a
covered benefit effective January 1, 2023. DHCS convened an ad hoc advisory
workgroup of doulas and other interested parties to advise DHCS on the development of
the doula benefit, similar the CHW-specific workgroup convened to advise on the
development of the CHW benefit.

The CHW benefit and doula benefit are similar in that they were both recently added as
preventive services to improve health outcomes and health equity in Medi-Cal; the
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qualifications of both types of nonclinical personnel are defined through the Medi-Cal
benefit for purposes of the program, because no external certification standards exist; and
the initial rollout of both efforts have been challenged by inadequate workforce and
concerns regarding low reimbursement by providers. However, DHCS has since
significantly increased rates for doula services and proposed additional rate increases for
these services, and pursuant to SB 65 (Skinner), Chapter 449, Statutes of 2021, DHCS is
convening an additional time-limited workgroup to examine and advise on
implementation of the doula benefit.

The Doula Implementation Workgroup is comprised of 30 members. Meetings are
quarterly, facilitated by an expert organization that helps government agencies center
equity in their work and strengthen their cultural responsiveness. Per SB 65, the
workgroup addresses access to doula services, outreach efforts, minimizing barriers and
delays in payments, and helping to inform DHCS’s legislative report due July 1, 2025.

This bill would implement a similar, time-limited committee to oversee and advise on
implementation of the CHW benefit.

SUPPORT. Supporters, including California Pan - Ethnic Health Network, Latino Coalition
for a Healthy California, numerous individual promotoras and others, note the importance of
including voices of historically marginalized communities in decisions that impact their
health and wellness, including the availability of and cultural and linguistic relevance of
CHWI/P/R services.

RELATED LEGISLATION. AB 2250 (Weber) requires commercial health plans and
insurers, as well as Medi-Cal, to provide cover social determinants of health screenings, and
requires commercial health plans and insurers to provide to physicians who provide primary
care services with adequate access to peer support specialists, lay health workers, social
workers, or CHWS, as defined. AB 2250 passed the Assembly Health Committee on April 2,
2024, on a 15-0 vote and is pending in the Assembly Appropriations Committee.

PREVIOUS LEGISLATION.

a) AB 85 (Weber) of 2023 was similar to AB 2250 (Weber) and was vetoed by Governor
Newsom, who said it was premature and duplicative of existing efforts.

b) AB 2697 (Aguiar-Curry), Chapter 488, Statutes of 2022, codifies CHW services as a
covered Medi-Cal benefit.

c) SB 184 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review), Chapter 47, Statutes of 2022, the
2022 Health Trailer Bill, codified the HCAI workforce initiative.

d) SB 65 enacts programs aimed at improving maternal health and required DHCS to
convene a workgroup no later than April 1, 2022, and until December 31, 2023 to
examine the implementation of the Medi-Cal doula benefit and submit a report. AB 118
(Committee on Budget), Chapter 42, Statutes of 2023, subsequently extended the
workgroup until June 30, 2025.

AMENDMENTS. Based on discussion between the author, sponsor and Committee
regarding the ability of promotoras to engage on a broader range of issues under
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consideration by state health agencies, the author and Committee have agreed to amend this
bill to broaden the scope of the workgroup beyond the CHW benefit to other relevant
initiatives under CHHSA and move the workgroup under the auspices of CHHSA. The
author and Committee have also agreed to amend the bill to use the term “promotoras,” in
addition to promotores, to recognize the role and emphasize the voices of promotoras.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:
Support

Vision Y Compromiso (sponsor)

California Pan - Ethnic Health Network
Centro La Familia Advocacy Services

Latino Coalition for a Healthy California

Sierra Community House
A large number of individuals who identify as promotoras

Opposition
None on file.

Analysis Prepared by: Lisa Murawski / HEALTH / (916) 319-2097
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Date of Hearing: April 16, 2024

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HEALTH
Mia Bonta, Chair
AB 3221 (Pellerin) — As Amended April 1, 2024

SUBJECT: Department of Managed Health Care: review of records.

SUMMARY:: Requires the records, books, and papers of a health plan and other specified
entities to be open to inspection by the Department of Managed Health Care (DMHC) Director,
including through electronic means. Specifically, this bill:

1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

6)

7)

Requires the records, books, and papers of a health plan and other specified entities to be
open to inspection by the DMHC Director, including through electronic means.

Requires the plan, management company, solicitor, or solicitor firm, and a provider or

subcontractor providing health care or other services to a plan, management company,

solicitor, or solicitor firm to which the request is made, as described in 1) above, to do both

of the following:

a) Furnish in electronic media records, books, and papers that are possessed in electronic
media; and,

b) Conduct a diligent review of the records, books, and papers and make every effort to
furnish those responsive to the DMHC Director’s request.

Requires all records, books, and papers described in 1) above and furnished pursuant to a
request under this bill to be furnished in a format that is digitally searchable to the greatest
extent feasible. Requires records, books, and papers to be preserved until furnished if
requested by the DMHC.

Authorizes the DMHC Director to, in addition to the powers granted to the DMHC Director,
as specified, do both of the following:

a) Inspect and copy records, books, and papers described in 1) above; and,

b) Seek relief from an administrative law proceeding if, in the DMHC Director’s
determination, a plan, management company, solicitor, or solicitor firm, and a provider or
subcontractor providing health care or other services to a plan, management company,
solicitor, or solicitor firm fails to fully or timely respond to a duly authorized request for
production of records, books, and papers.

Includes records, books, and papers that are possessed in any medium, including electronic
media for purposes of this bill.

Authorizes the DMHC Director to assess administrative penalties if the plan fails to respond
fully or timely, or both, to a duly authorized request for production of records.

Specifies that nothing in existing law prohibits the DMHC Director from taking any action
permitted or required in response to the survey results described in 2) below of existing law
before the followup review is initiated or completed, including, but not limited to, taking
enforcement actions and opening further investigations.
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EXISTING LAW:

1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

Establishes the DMHC to regulate health plans under the Knox-Keene Health Care Service
Plan Act of 1975 (KKA). [Health and Safety Code (HSC) 81340, et seq.]

Requires the DMHC to conduct periodically an onsite medical survey of the health delivery
system of each plan. Requires the survey to include a review of the procedures for obtaining
health services, the procedures for regulating utilization, peer review mechanisms, internal
procedures for assuring quality of care, and the overall performance of the plan in providing
health care benefits and meeting the health needs of the subscribers and enrollees. [HSC
§1380]

Requires the DMHC Director to give the plan a reasonable time to correct deficiencies.
Specifies that failure on the part of the plan to comply to the DMHC Director’s satisfaction
constitute cause for disciplinary action against the plan. [HSC 81380(i)]

Requires the DMHC to conduct a follow-up review to determine and report on the status of
the plan’s efforts to correct deficiencies no later than 18 months following release of the final
report. Requires the DMHC’s report to identify any deficiencies that have not been corrected
to the satisfaction of the DMHC Director. [HSC §1380(j)]

Requires all records, books, and papers of a plan, management company, solicitor, solicitor
firm, and any provider or subcontractor providing health care or other services to a plan,
management company, solicitor, or solicitor firm to be open to inspection by the DMHC
Director. Specifies that, to the extent feasible, all records, books, and papers to be located in
this state. Requires the DMHC Director to consider the cost to the plan, consistent with the
effectiveness of the DMHC Director’s examination, and may upon reasonable notice require
that such records, books and papers, or a specified portion thereof, be made available for
examination in this state, or that a true and accurate copy of records, books and papers, or a
specified portion thereof, be furnished to the DMHC Director, in examining such records
outside this state. [HSC §1381]

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown. This bill has not yet been analyzed by a fiscal committee.

COMMENTS:

1)

PURPOSE OF THIS BILL. According to the author, far too often, consumers don’t receive
access to the physical and behavioral health care they need, and that they have paid for, in a
timely and appropriate manner. While California leads the nation in mandating timely access
and behavioral health parity, our state’s mental health crisis could be more effectively
addressed if DMHC were empowered to take faster and more efficient enforcement actions.
While the KKA provides for the regulation of the health plans by DMHC, several provisions
of the KKA are outdated, ineffective, or both, causing unnecessary and expensive delays in
DMHC’s taxpayer-funded oversight process. The author states that in order to reflect the
technological advancements since the KKA’s passage, this bill allows DMHC to request
health plan records in a searchable digital format, which allows for faster receipt and review
of records. Additionally, this bill allows DMHC’s Director to take disciplinary action when
health plans fail to respond to records requests fully or in a timely manner. This bill allows
DMHC to seek relief on consumers’ behalf through administrative hearings rather than
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through the slower Superior Court hearing process currently required. The author concludes
that this bill is an important step in ensuring that California consumers have access to the
health care that they need.

BACKGROUND. The DMHC protects consumers’ health care rights and ensures a stable
health care delivery system. The DMHC recently released its 2022 Annual Report and
Infographic, highlighting DMHC’s achievements and activities during the year. The DMHC
regulates the majority of health care coverage in California including 96% of commercial and
public enrollment in state-regulated health plans. In 2022, 97 full service health plans
licensed by the DMHC provided health care services to 29.7 million Californians. In addition
to full-service health plans, the DMHC oversees 46 specialized health plans including
chiropractic, dental, vision, behavioral health (psychological), and pharmacy. As of the end
of 2022, the DMHC has assisted 2.8 million consumers through the DMHC’s Help Center.
The Infographic also identifies $126.1 million assessed against health plans that violated the
law.

a) DMHC medical surveys. DMHC uses a wide range of reporting and surveillance tools
to assist with oversight. Examples include quarterly grievance reports, reviews of block
transfer fillings, engagement with its customer complaint center, premium rate review for
health plans, medical surveys, and financial examinations. Additionally, the DMHC
Director has broad authority over enforcement actions. Enforcement actions may include
cease and desist orders, the imposition of administrative penalties, freezing enroliment,
nonrenewal of licensure, and the request for corrective actions by health plans.

The medical survey is a comprehensive evaluation of the plan's compliance with the law
in the following health plan program areas:

i) Quality Assurance;

i) Grievances and Appeals (enrollee complaints);

iii) Access and Availability;

iv) Utilization Management (referrals and authorizations); and,

v) Overall plan performance in meeting enrollees’ health care needs.

California law requires the DMHC to conduct a routine medical survey of each licensed
full service and specialty health plan at least once every three years. The DMHC may
also perform an investigative medical survey as often as deemed necessary by the
DMHC's Director. When the survey is complete, the DMHC issues a Final Report that is
publicly available. The DMHC may perform a followup Survey within 18 months of the
Final Report for any uncorrected deficiencies. This bill clarifies that nothing in existing
law prohibits the DMHC Director from taking any action in response to the survey results
before the followup review is initiated or completed, including, taking enforcement
actions and opening further investigations. This bill also requires the records, books, and
papers of a health plan and other specified entities to be open to inspection by the DMHC
Director, including through electronic means.
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b) Behavioral Health Investigations (BHI). The DMHC received approval in the 2020-21
state budget to conduct focused BHI of all full service commercial health plans regulated
by the DMHC to further evaluate health plan compliance with California laws and assess
whether enrollees have consistent access to medically necessary behavioral health care
services. Any parity issues discovered or suspected during the BHI process will be
referred internally for further investigation. A goal of the investigations is to identify and
understand the challenges and barriers enrollees may still face in obtaining behavioral
health care services, and to identify systemic changes that can be made to improve the
delivery of care.

The DMHC is conducting BHIs of all full-service commercial health plans regulated by
the DMHC, with the intent to investigate an average of five health plans per year. The
investigations are separate from the DMHC’s routine medical surveys, or audits, which
are conducted every three years. The Phase One Summary BHI Report issued last year
includes a list of the KKA violations that were identified for each of the investigated
health plans, and provides a summary of other barriers to care. Barriers to care may
include health plan practices, policies, operations, or other activities that may not rise to a
violation of the law, but may contribute to challenges, delays or obstacles faced by
enrollees as they navigate the health plan’s system to access behavioral health services.
Barriers can negatively impact enrollees’ ability to obtain behavioral health care. Some of
the barriers in the BHI Report identified plans for not having a process for providing
integrated behavioral health care services and for conducting utilization management for
behavioral health care services that are not subject to prior authorization.

The health plans were provided an opportunity to submit a separate written response to
the barriers identified in each health plan’s respective report, describing any steps taken
or to be taken to address the barriers. The KKA violations noted in the BHI Reports,
along with corrective action plans, will be referred to the DMHC’s Office of Enforcement
to evaluate and take appropriate enforcement actions, which may include corrective
actions and administrative penalties. For the barriers not related to KKA violations, the
DMHC provided recommendations to assist health plans in considering ways to address
barriers and improve access to timely, appropriate behavioral health care for all enrollees.
According to the DMHC, the barriers, recommendations and health plan actions may
serve to inform future statutory and/or regulatory changes.

3) SUPPORT. The National Union of Healthcare Workers (NUHW), sponsor, write that by
taking faster and more effective enforcement action when merited, DMHC will resolve
health plan violations more quickly for all consumers who have been wronged. This will
result in fewer improper denials of coverage and fewer improper treatment limitations, and
more consumers will receive access to care they need, and for which they, their employers,
and taxpayers have paid. In particular, more patients with mental health and substance use
disorders will get care that prevents them from decompensating, experiencing episodes of
acute illness, and far too often developing debilitating chronic and severe disorders that
ultimately can interfere with their ability to maintain employment, sustain personal
relationships, and remain in their homes. These patients will also be spared risk for other
illnesses that can reduce their quality and years of life, and cost enormous sums of additional
healthcare expenditures that could have been avoided. NUWH concludes that just as slow,
weak enforcement of patients’ rights harms most the communities of color, recent
immigrants, low-income Californians, and residents of medically underserved areas who
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suffer from the highest disease burdens, so speedy, strong enforcement should help these
groups most.

The California Hospital Association (CHA) writes that it has previously expressed concerns
about health plan practices that are detrimental to patients and has advocated for increased
vigilance and oversight by DMHC and other regulatory agencies. CHA appreciates this
opportunity to support reasonable, practicable changes that will support this oversight
process, as it is an important step toward protecting the rights of Californians to receive
medical care appropriate to their needs.

4) PREVIOUS LEGISLATION.

a) SB 858 (Wiener), Chapter 985, Statutes of 2022, increases fines on deficient health plans,
including civil penalties of not more than $25,000 for each day a violation continues, per
enrollee harmed; requires a one-time adjustment, and annual adjustments to specified fine
amounts based on individual and small group average rate of change of premiums and
cost-sharing, weighted based on enrollment; and, establishes factors for the DMHC
Director to use to determine the appropriate amount of a penalty.

b) SB 855 (Wiener), Chapter 151, Statutes of 2020, requires commercial health plans and
insurers to provide full coverage for the treatment of all mental health conditions and
substance use disorders. Establishes specific standards for what constitutes medically
necessary treatment and criteria for the use of clinical guidelines.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:
Support

National Union of Healthcare Workers (NUHW) (sponsor)
Access Reproductive Justice

Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders for Civic Empowerment
Buen Vecino

California Federation of Teachers AFL-CIO

California Hospital Association

California Labor Federation, AFL-CIO

California Onecare

California State Association of Psychiatrists (CSAP)
California Youth Empowerment Network

Courage California

Equality California

Hand in Hand: the Domestic Employers Network

Health Access California

Health Care for All - California

Healthcare Action Committee

Mental Health America of California

Steinberg Institute

UNITE-HERE, AFL-CIO

Opposition
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None on file.
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Date of Hearing: April 16, 2024

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HEALTH
Mia Bonta, Chair
AB 3260 (Pellerin) — As Amended April 1, 2024

SUBJECT: Health care coverage: reviews and grievances.

SUMMARY:: Requires a determination of urgency by a health care provider, with respect to a
decision to approve a health care service for prior authorization, to be binding on the health plan.
Entitles an enrollee to automatically proceed with a grievance, if the health plan fails to make a
decision to approve, modify, or deny the request for authorization within the specified
timeframes in existing law. Makes a determination of urgency by an enrollee’s health care
provider to be binding on a plan or insurer, for grievances. Requires the Department of Managed
Health Care (DMHC) or California Department of Insurance (CDI) to provide specified
correspondence and documents to an enrollee or insured if the enrollee or insured has submitted
a grievance for review under the Independent Medical Review (IMR) System. Specifically, this
bill:

Health Plan Utilization Review

1) Expands existing law to allow an enrollee to make a prior authorization request to a health
plan based on medical necessity. Specifies that urgent requests be communicated to enrollees
or providers by telephone, facsimile, or electronically, as well as mail for urgent requests, in
a timely fashion appropriate for the nature of the enrollee’s condition and not to exceed 72
hours from the plan’s receipt of the clinical information reasonably necessary and requested
by the plan to make the determination.

2) Requires the plan to notify the enrollee and the provider of the specific information necessary
to complete the request, when the plan lacks the information reasonably necessary to make a
decision to approve, modify, or deny an urgent request. Requires the notification to be made
as soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours after the plan’s receipt of the request from the
enrollee or provider. Affords the enrollee and the provider a reasonable amount of time,
taking into account the circumstances, but not less than 48 hours, to provide the specified
information.

3) Requires the plan to notify the enrollee and the provider of the plan’s decision as soon as
possible, but no later than 48 hours after the earlier of the following:
a) The plan’s receipt of specified additional information; or,
b) The end of the period afforded the enrollee and the provider to submit the specified
additional information.

4) Considers the request to be urgent when either of the following conditions are met:

a) The enrollee faces an imminent and serious threat to the enrollee’s physical or behavioral
health, including but not limited to, severe pain or the potential loss of life, limb, or other
major bodily function; or,

b) The normal timeframe for the decisionmaking process (not to exceed five business days)
could be detrimental to the enrollee’s life or physical or behavioral health, cause severe
pain, or jeopardize the enrollee’s ability either to regain maximum function or to
minimize any loss of function.
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5) Requires a determination of urgency by an enrollee’s health care provider to be binding on
the health plan or insurer.

6) Requires a health plan to automatically treat the request for authorization as a grievance and
immediately provide notice to the enrollee that a grievance has commenced if a health plan
fails to make a decision, or provide notice of a decision to approve, modify, or deny the
request for prior authorization within specified timeframes in existing law.

Health Plan Grievance and Appeals

7) Requires the final determination of urgent complaints about access to care, including
complaints about the waiting time for, or distance to, covered health care services that are
resolved by the next business day to be communicated to the enrollee and provider by
telephone, electronically, or both, as well as by hard copy mailed, no later than 72 hours from
receipt of the grievance.

8) Entitles an enrollee to automatically proceed with a grievance, if the health plan fails to make
a decision to approve, modify, or deny the request for authorization within the specified
timeframes in existing law.

9) Requires the health plan to communicate its final determination to the enrollee and the
enrollee’s provider by telephone, electronically, or both, as well as by hard copy mailed to
their designated mailing address, no later than 72 hours from receipt of the urgent grievance.

10) Requires the health plan to communicate its final determination to the enrollee and the
enrollee’s provider in writing no later than 30 days from receipt of the grievance in the case
of a nonurgent grievance.

11) Amends expedited plan requests for urgent grievances when the enrollee faces an imminent
and serious threat to the enrollee’s physical or behavioral health, including but not limited to,
severe pain, or the normal timeframe for the decisionmaking process could be detrimental to
the enrollee’s life or physical or behavioral health, cause severe pain, or jeopardize the
enrollee’s ability to regain maximum function or minimize any loss of function. Requires a
determination of urgency by the enrollee’s health care provider to be binding on the health
plan.

12) Requires the health plan to furnish enrollees, insureds, subscribers, health care providers, and
the DMHC with a written statement on the disposition no later than 72 hours (rather than
three days in existing law).

13) Requires a health plan that fails to comply with the timeframes and with the notice
requirements to automatically resolve the grievance in favor of the enrollee or insured.

14) Authorizes the DMHC Director to extend the IMR application deadline beyond 12 months
(existing law specifies six months).
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Health Insurer Grievance

15) Requires the insurer to communicate its final determination to the insured and the insured’s
provider by telephone, electronically, or both no later than 72 hours from receipt of the
grievance, in the case of an urgent internal grievance that an insured files with the insurer.

16) Requires the insurer to communicate its final determination to the insured and the insured’s
provider in writing no later than 30 days from receipt of the grievance in the case of a
nonurgent internal grievance that an insured files with the insurer.

17) Requires the insurer to, upon notice from CDI to a disability insurer that an insured,
including the insured’s representative, has submitted a grievance to CDI, respond to the
insured, the insured’s representative, and CDI within one of the following timeframes, as
appropriate:

a) Within 24 hours, if directed by CDI, regarding an urgent grievance concerning coverage
decisions, disputed health care services, or both; or,

b) Within five calendar days regarding a nonurgent grievance concerning coverage
decisions, disputed health care services, or both.

18) Authorizes CDI to determine whether or not a grievance is urgent, as specified, unless the
grievance is designated as urgent by the insured’s referring or treating provider, in which
case the provider’s designation of urgency controls.

Enrollee/Insured Communications

19) Requires the DMHC or CDI to promptly provide to the enrollee or insured and, to the extent
applicable, the enrollee or insured’s representative unredacted copies of all correspondence,
including ongoing correspondence, between the DMHC or CDI and the plan or insurer
concerning the enrollee or insured’s grievance with respect to an enrollee or insured
grievance to the DMHC or CDI concerning a disputed health care service or coverage
decision, or access to care, including complaints about the waiting time for, or distance to,
health care services (italics only apply to health plans).

20) Requires the DMHC or CDI to provide the enrollee or insured and, to the extent applicable,
the enrollee or insured’s representative with an unredacted copy of the nonbinding expert
opinion by the IMR organization if the DMHC or CDI determines that the enrollee or
insured’s grievance concerns a coverage decision, access to care, or both, and the DMHC or
CDI seeks a nonbinding expert opinion from an IMR organization.

21) Requires the DMHC or CDI to provide to the enrollee or insured and, to the extent
applicable, the enrollee or insured’s representative a reasonable opportunity to respond to any
communications between the DMHC or CDI and the plan or insurer and, if applicable,
between the DMHC or CDI and the IMR organization before the enrollee or insured’s
grievance is adjudicated (is resolved).

22) Prohibits the DMHC or CDI, including its IMR organization, from engaging in ex parte
communication with the plan or insurer, the enrollee or insured, or the representatives of
either party without concurrently providing the plan or insurer, the enrollee or insured, and,
to the extent applicable, their respective representatives unredacted copies of all
communications, as specified.
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EXISTING LAW:

1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

6)

Establishes the DMHC to regulate health plans under the Knox-Keene Health Care Service
Plan Act of 1975 and CDI to regulate health insurers. [Health and Safety Code (HSC) §1340,
et seq., and Insurance Code (INS) §106, et seq.]

Requires the criteria or guidelines used by health plans and insurers, or any entities with
which plans or insurers contract for utilization review or utilization management functions, to
determine whether to authorize, modify, or deny health care services to:

a) Be developed with involvement from actively practicing health care providers;

b) Be consistent with sound clinical principles and processes;

c) Be evaluated, and updated if necessary, at least annually;

d) If used as the basis of a decision to modify, delay, or deny services in a specified case
under review, be disclosed to the provider and the enrollee or insured in that specified
case; and,

e) Be available to the public upon request. [HSC §1363.5 and INS §10123.135]

Authorizes a health plan to use utilization review, under which a licensed physician or a
licensed health care professional who is competent to evaluate specific clinical issues may
approve, modify, delay, or deny requests for health care services based on medical necessity.
Requires these decisions to be made within 30 days, or less than 72 hours when the enrollee
faces an imminent and serious threat to their health. [HSC §1371]

Requires every health plan to establish and maintain a grievance system approved by DMHC
under which enrollees may submit grievances to the plan. Requires a plan’s response to also
comply with federal requirements. Requires, in regulations, that a plan’s grievance system be
established in writing and provide for procedures that will receive, review and resolve
grievances within 30 calendar days of receipt by the plan, or any provider or entity with
delegated authority to administer and resolve the plan’s grievance system. Defines grievance
as a written or oral expression of dissatisfaction regarding the plan and/or provider. [HSC
81368 and 28 California Code of Regulation §1300.62]

Requires reviews, for purposes of IMR, to determine whether the disputed health care service

was medically necessary based on the specific medical needs of the enrollee or insured and

any of the following:

a) Peer-reviewed scientific and medical evidence regarding the effectiveness of the disputed
service;

b) Nationally recognized professional standards;

c) Expert opinion;

d) Generally accepted standards of medical practice; or,

e) Treatments that are likely to provide a benefit to a patient for conditions for which other
treatments are not clinically efficacious. [HSC §1374.33 and INS §10169.3]

Requires health plans and disability insurers to provide an external, IMR to examine the

insurer’s or plan’s coverage decisions regarding experimental or investigational therapies for

an individual with a life-threatening or seriously debilitating condition, as specified. Defines

“life-threatening” as either or both of the following:

a) Diseases or conditions where the likelihood of death is high unless the course of the
disease is interrupted,
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b) Diseases or conditions with potentially fatal outcomes, where the end point of clinical
intervention is survival.

Defines “seriously debilitating” as diseases or conditions that cause major irreversible

morbidity. [HSC §1370.4 and INS §10145.3]

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown. This bill has not yet been analyzed by a fiscal committee.

COMMENTS:

1)

2)

PURPOSE OF THIS BILL. According to the author, health plans do not consistently
decide or provide proper notice of their decisions concerning claims, such as prior
authorization based on medical necessity and/or access to care and grievances within the time
and manner specified by law, leading consumers to bear the financial cost of prescribed care
while waiting for their health plans to respond. Sometimes, they are forced to forgo treatment
altogether. Additionally, there are no internal claims and grievance procedures for health
plans regulated by the CDI. California consumers do not have sufficient transparency and
due process in the DMHC and CDI complaint processes, resulting in regulatory reviews that
are one-sided and based on information that is often marred by inaccuracies, omissions, and
misrepresentations. The author states that this bill sets forth internal claims and grievance
procedures to improve transparency and provide due process for consumers filing regulatory
complaints concerning denied health care services, coverage disputes, and access to care.
This bill also clarifies consumers’ rights to file grievances concerning a lack of access to care
and allows consumers to file grievances immediately if their health plans or disability
insurers fail to respond to their claims within the time period and in the manner required by
existing law. Furthermore, this bill requires health plans and disability insurers to
automatically resolve grievances in favor of the consumer if they do not respond within the
legally required timeframe. The author concludes that this bill will improve transparency and
provide due process for consumers filing regulatory complaints concerning denied health
care services, coverage disputes, and access to care.

BACKGROUND. The DMHC Help Center assists consumers with understanding their
health care rights and benefits, and helps to resolve complaints and coverage issues between
health plan enrollees and health plans. In 2022, the DMHC Help Center assisted 128,405
health care consumers, and handled 12,266 complaints and 3,240 IMRs. Approximately 68%
of consumers who submitted an IMR request to the DMHC Help Center received the service
or treatment they requested.

a) Existing consumer protections. In California, consumers have many health care rights,
including the right to know why a plan denies a service or treatment, and the right to file a
grievance if the consumer disagrees. Health plans are required to have grievance and appeals
systems to assist consumers in resolving these issues. A health plan’s grievance program
informs consumers of their full grievance and appeal rights and the protections afforded to
them under the law, including the right to pursue an IMR or file a complaint with the DMHC
if they are dissatisfied with their health plan’s decision. A robust grievance program also
allows health plans to track and trend grievances for the purpose of uncovering systemic
problems, thereby providing the opportunity for quality improvement.

b) Grievance and appeals under California law. According to the author, this bill
addresses two problems: i) the untimely adjudication of consumer claims and grievances
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by health plans and disability insurers as required by existing law; and, ii) a lack of
transparency and due process, as well as ex parte communication, with regard to
regulatory complaints and IMR. In most circumstances, enrollees are required to file a
grievance regarding each issue/request with a health plan and participate in the process
for 30 days before submitting a complaint to the DMHC. Exceptions to this requirement
include when there is an immediate threat to an enrollee’s health or the request was
denied as experimental/investigational. California law requires an expedited plan review
of an imminent and serious threat to the health of the patient, including, but not limited
to, severed pain, potential loss of life, limb, or major bodily function. Existing law also
requires the health plan to provide enrollees, subscribers, and DMHC with a written
statement on the disposition or status of the grievance no later than three days from
receipt of the grievance.

If an enrollee’s health plan denies, changes, or delays a request for medical services,
denies payment for emergency treatment or refuses to cover experimental or
investigational treatment for a serious medical condition, an enrollee can apply for an
IMR. Before filing an IMR with the regulator, enrollees are first required to file a
grievance with the health plan (absent an emergency). Once an enrollee has participated
in the 30-day process with the health plan, if the issue has not been resolved or an
enrollee is not satisfied with the decision, an enrollee can proceed with filing an IMR
with the DMHC. According to the DMHC, if an enrollee’s health problem is urgent, an
IMR is usually decided within seven days after DMHC receives the supporting
documentation from the enrollee, the doctor, and the health plan. This is an expedited
IMR. A health problem is urgent if it is a serious and immediate threat to an enrollee’s
health. The enrollee must send DMHC written documentation that the enrollee’s health
problem is urgent. California law

If the enrollee’s health problem is not urgent, an IMR is usually decided within 45 days
after receipt of the supporting documentation from the enrollee, the doctor, and the health
plan. An IMR can take longer if DMHC does not receive all of the medical

records needed from the enrollee or treating doctor. The health plan is required to get
copies of an enrollee’s medical records from doctors who are in the network. This bill
requires DMHC to provide enrollees unredacted copies of all correspondence between
the DMHC and the plan regarding the enrollee’s grievance.

3) SUPPORT. The National Union of Healthcare Workers (NUHW), sponsor of this bill, writes
that this bill is motivated specifically by the shortcomings that NUHW members have
encountered in advancing consumers’ rights to due process and transparency when pursuing
grievances and complaints regarding delays and denials of access to behavioral healthcare.
Strengthening consumers’ rights to timely resolution of their grievances and complaints
made with plans and regulators, and to due process and transparency when pursuing these
grievances and complaints, will result not only in resolving health plan violations more
quickly and fairly, but in fewer improper denials of coverage and improper treatment
limitations in the first place. NUHW states that more consumers will get the care for which
they, their employers, and taxpayers have paid, and avoid needless cost for treatment of
serious conditions that result from care delayed or denied. Barriers to self-assertion of
patients’ rights are most harmful to communities of color, recent immigrants, low-income
Californians, and other residents of medically underserved areas who suffer from lack of
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access to care. NUHW concludes that these communities stand to benefit the most from
lifting those barriers.

The Steinberg Institute writes that this bill proposes essential reforms to empower consumers
and protect their rights. By prohibiting health plans from overriding healthcare providers'
urgency determinations and setting clear timelines for responding to consumers' claims and
grievances, this bill will allow patients to access lifesaving care in a timely manner. This bill
mandates that grievances be automatically resolved in favor of the consumer if a response is
not provided within specified timeframes - 72 hours for urgent cases and 30 days for non-
urgent cases. Additionally, it aims to align the state's "urgent care claims™ definition with
federal standards, enhancing clarity and consistency in the process. This bill's provisions to
improve transparency and due process in regulatory complaint processes will ensure
consumers have a fair chance when disputes arise.

OPPOSITION. The California Association of Health Plans, the Association of California
Life and Health Insurance Companies, and America’s Health Insurance Plans (collectively
“opposition”), write that in the HMO model, generally providers are responsible for
submitting authorization requests. This is a critical component to ensure that the requested
service is clinically appropriate for the enrollee. Requiring the provider to submit the
authorization request ensures that a clinical evaluation has been conducted. Additionally,
allowing enrollees to submit authorization requests does not consider that they are unlikely to
have the records needed to make a medical necessity review. All of this will complicate and
delay the authorization process. The opposition also write that this bill limits health
plans/insurers ability to conduct exemptions to grievances as unnecessary, would complicate
the authorization process, and would add no value to the enrollee. This bill also creates
potential conflict of interest by requiring health plans to send written responses of grievances
to providers when the treating provider may actually be the subject of the grievance. The
opposition concludes that this bill unfairly grants enrollees access to confidential
communication while limiting health plan access to the same information.

RELATED LEGISLATION.

a) AB 3221 (Pellerin) requires the records, books, and papers of a health plan and other
specified entities to be open to inspection by the DMHC Director, including through
electronic means. AB 3221 is pending in Assembly Health Committee.

b) SB 294 (Wiener), beginning July 1, 2025, requires a health plan or a disability insurer
that upholds its decision to modify, delay, or deny a health care service in response to a
grievance or has a grievance that is otherwise pending or unresolved upon expiration of
the relevant timeframe to automatically submit within 24 hours a decision regarding a
disputed health care service to the IMR System, as well as the information that informed
its decision, if the decision is to deny, modify, or delay specified services relating to
mental health or substance use disorder conditions for an enrollee or insured up to 26
years of age. Requires a health plan or disability insurer, within 24 hours after submitting
its decision to the IMR System to provide notice to the appropriate department, the
enrollee or insured or their representative, if any, and the enrollee’s or insured’s provider.
SB 294 was amended to include the provisions of SB 238 (Wiener) of 2023 after it was
held in the Assembly Appropriations Committee. SB 294 is pending in the Assembly.

PREVIOUS LEGISLATION.
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SB 238 (Wiener) of 2023 is substantially similar to SB 294 (Wiener). SB 238 was held in
Assembly Appropriations Committee.

SB 858 (Wiener), Chapter 985, Statutes of 2022, increases the base amount of a civil
penalty from $2,500 per violation to not more than $25,000 per violation, and authorizes
a lower, proportionate penalty for specialized dental and vision health plans under
DMHC’s disciplinary authority. Adjusts the civil penalty base amount beginning January
1, 2028, and every 5 years thereafter, as specified. Doubles the minimum and maximum
amounts of the civil and administrative penalties, and, beginning January 1, 2028, and
every five years thereafter, adjusts these civil and administrative penalties, as specified.
Authorizes the DMHC Director to impose a corrective action plan under certain
circumstances.

SB 221 (Wiener), Chapter 724, Statutes of 2021, codifies existing timely access to care
standards for health plans and insurers, applies these requirements to Medi-Cal Managed
Care plans, and adds a standard for non-urgent follow-up appointments for nonphysician
mental health care or substance use disorder providers that is within 10 business days of
the prior appointment.

SB 855 (Wiener), Chapter 151, Statutes of 2020, revises and recasts California’s Mental
Health Parity provisions, and requires a health plan contract or disability insurance policy
issued, amended, or renewed on or after January 1, 2021, to provide coverage for
medically necessary treatment of mental health and substance use disorder, as defined,
under the same terms and conditions applied to other medical conditions and prohibits a
health plan or disability insurer from limiting benefits or coverage for mental health and
substance use disorder to short-term or acute treatment. Specifies that if services for the
medically necessary treatment of a mental health and substance use disorder are not
available in network within the geographic and timely access standards in existing law,
the health plan or insurer is required to arrange coverage to ensure the delivery of
medically necessary out of network services and any medically necessary follow up
services, as specified.

7) COMMENTS.

a)

b)

Inconsistency between the DMHC and CDI. As this bill moves forward, the author
should consider making changes to the grievance and appeals process to ensure that both
regulators are applying consumer protections consistently for California consumers.

Health information exchange. According to California’s Health and Human Services
Agency (CHHSA), California’s sharing of health care data is a voluntary patchwork that
limits the health care ecosystem from making material advances in equity and quality,
and functionally inhibits patient access to personalized, longitudinal health records.
CHHSA'’s Data Exchange Framework which requires the exchange of health information
among health information among health care entities and government agencies in
California is the first step to better coordinate health care. Through these efforts, the
exchange of an enrollee’s health care data, including information submitted as part of a
grievance, should be closer to reality.
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Support

National Union of Healthcare Workers (NUHW) (sponsor)
Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders for Civic Empowerment
Buen Vecino

California Association of Marriage and Family Therapists
California Federation of Teachers Afl-cio

California Labor Federation, Afl-cio

California Life Sciences

California Nurses Association

California Onecare

California Orthopedic Association

California State Association of Psychiatrists (CSAP)
California Youth Empowerment Network

County of Santa Clara

Courage California

Equality California

Hand in Hand: the Domestic Employers Network

Health Access California

Health Care for All - California

Healthcare Action Committee

Mental Health America of California

Steinberg Institute

The Kennedy Forum

Unite-here, Afl-cio

Opposition

America's Health Insurance Plans (AHIP)

Association of California Life & Health Insurance Companies
California Association of Health Plans

Local Health Plans of California
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Date of Hearing: April 16, 2024

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HEALTH
Mia Bonta, Chair
AB 3271 (Joe Patterson) — As Introduced February 16, 2024

SUBJECT: Pupil health: opioid antagonists.

SUMMARY:: Requires each public school operated by a school district, county office of
education (COE), or charter school that has chosen to permit school nurses or voluntarily trained
personnel to use naloxone hydrochloride (NH) or another opioid antagonist to provide
emergency medical aid to persons suffering from an opioid overdose, to maintain at least two
units of NH or another opioid antagonist on its site.

EXISTING LAW:

1) Establishes State Department of Public Health (DPH), directed by a state Public Health
Officer (PHO), to be vested with all the duties, powers, purposes, functions, responsibilities,
and jurisdiction as they relate to public health disease prevention. Gives the PHO broad
authority to detect, monitor, and prevent the spread of communicable disease in the state.
[Health & Safety Code (HSC) §131050 and §120130, et seq.]

2) Authorizes DPH, in order to reduce the rate of fatal overdose from opioid drugs including
heroin and prescription opioids, to award funding to local health departments, local
government agencies, or on a competitive basis to community-based organizations, regional
opioid prevention coalitions, or both, to support or establish programs that provide naloxone,
or any other opioid antagonist that is approved by the United States Food and Drug
Administration (FDA) for the treatment of an opioid overdose, to first responders and to at-
risk opioid users through programs that serve at-risk drug users, including, but not limited to,
syringe exchange and disposal programs, homeless programs, and substance use disorder
(SUD) treatment providers. [HSC §1179.80]

3) Establishes within the California Health and Human Services Agency a grant program to
reduce fentanyl overdoses and use throughout the state by providing six one-time grants: two
in northern California, two in the central valley, and two in southern California. [Welfare and
Institutions Code §3200]

4) Permits a pharmacy to furnish NH or another opioid antagonist to a school district, COE, or
charter school pursuant to existing law if certain requirements are met. [Business and
Professions Code (BPC) §4119.8]

5) Authorizes a pharmacy, wholesaler, or manufacturer to furnish NH or other opioid
antagonists to a law enforcement agency if specified conditions are met. [BPC §4119.9]

6) Classifies controlled substances under the California Uniform Controlled Substances Act,
into five schedules and places the greatest restrictions and penalties on the use of those
substances placed in Schedule I. Classifies the drug fentanyl in Schedule Il. [HSC §11054-
11058]
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Establishes ongoing funding for COEs to purchase and maintain sufficient stock of
emergency NH or another opioid antagonist for local educational agencies (LEAS) within its
jurisdiction. [Education Code (EDC) §49414.8]

Authorizes school districts, COEs, and charter schools to provide emergency NH or another
opioid antagonist to school nurses or trained volunteer personnel for the purpose of providing
emergency medical aid to persons suffering, or reasonably believed to be suffering, from an
opioid overdose. [EDC 849414.3 et seq.]

Authorizes public and private elementary and secondary schools to voluntarily determine
whether or not to make emergency NH or another opioid antagonist and trained personnel
available at its school. Requires a school to evaluate the emergency medical response time to
the school and determine whether initiating emergency medical services is an acceptable
alternative to NH or another opioid antagonist and trained personnel. [EDC §49414.3 (c)]

10) Requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction (SPI) to establish minimum standards of

training for the administration of NH or another opioid antagonist and to review the
minimum standards of training every five years, or sooner, as deemed necessary. Requires
the SPI to consult with organizations and providers with expertise in administering NH or
another opioid antagonist and administering medication in a school environment, including,
the California Society of Addiction Medicine, the Emergency Medical Services Authority,
the California School Nurses Organization, the California Medical Association, and the
American Academy of Pediatrics. [EDC 849414.3(e)]

FISCAL EFFECT: None.

COMMENTS:

1)

2)

PURPOSE OF THIS BILL. According to the author it is time we take the initiative to have
simple and proven preventative care available to schools where our kids spend a majority of
their time. The author argues that fentanyl is being disguised as candy and is readily available
in every community and questions why we aren't we putting NH on every campus. The
author continues that many schools refuse to carry NH, primarily because they are unsure
about statutory authority and protection from liability. The author concludes that we can
solve that by passing this bill to save lives at a nominal cost.

BACKGROUND. California is facing an overdose epidemic. According to a California
Health Care Foundation report, 9% of Californians have met the criteria for a SUD within the
last year. While the health care system is moving toward acknowledging SUDs as a chronic
illness, only about 10% of people with an SUD within the last year received treatment.
Overdose deaths from both opioids and psychostimulants (such as amphetamines), are
soaring. This issue, compounded by the increased availability of fentanyl, has resulted in a
10-fold increase in fentanyl related deaths between 2015 and 2019. According to DPH,
fentanyl-related overdose deaths increased 625% among youth ages 10 to 19 from 2018 to
2020. DPH’s Opioid Overdose Dashboard reported there were 177 fentanyl-related overdose
deaths and 1,165 opioid-related overdose emergency department visits among youth ages 10
to 19 years old in 2022.

a) Fentanyl. Fentanyl is a potent synthetic opioid drug approved by the FDA for use as an
analgesic and anesthetic. It is approximately 50 times stronger than heroin and 100 times



b)

AB 3271
Page 3

stronger than morphine. First developed in 1959, it was introduced in the 1960’s as an
intravenous anesthetic. Fentanyl is legally manufactured and distributed in the US;
however, there are two types of fentanyl: pharmaceutical fentanyl and illicitly
manufactured fentanyl. Both are considered synthetic opioids. Pharmaceutical fentanyl is
prescribed by doctors to treat severe pain, especially after surgery and for advanced-stage
cancer. Most recently, cases of fentanyl-related overdoses are linked to illicitly
manufactured fentanyl that is distributed through illegal drug markets for its heroin-like
effect. It is often added to other drugs because of its extreme potency, which makes drugs
cheaper, more powerful, more addictive, and more dangerous.

The California Department of Education, in conjunction with DPH, provides LEAs with
resources and information that they can provide to parents and students. The Fentanyl
Awareness and Prevention toolkit page offer information about the risks of fentanyl and
how to prevent teen use and overdoses. In addition to the toolkit, DPH’s Substance and
Addiction Prevention branch also provides resources for parents, guardians, caretakers,
educators, schools, and youth-serving providers.

Reversing opioid overdoses. NH is the generic name for an opioid antagonist that
rapidly reverses an opioid overdose. It attaches to opioid receptors and reverses and
blocks the effects of other opioids. NH can quickly restore normal breathing to a person if
their breathing has slowed or stopped because of an opioid overdose. NH comes in two
FDA-approved forms: injectable and prepackaged nasal spray. Narcan nasal spray was
first approved by the FDA in 2015 as a prescription drug.

According to the FDA, in accordance with a process to change the status of a drug from
prescription to nonprescription, the manufacturer of Narcan provided data demonstrating
that the drug is safe and effective for use as directed in its proposed labeling. The
manufacturer also showed that consumers can understand how to use the drug safely and
effectively without the supervision of a healthcare professional. The application to
approve Narcan nasal spray for over-the-counter (OTC) use was granted priority review
status and was the subject of an advisory committee meeting in February 2023, where
committee members voted unanimously to recommend it be approved for marketing
without a prescription.

As of July 2023 the FDA approved Narcan and RiVive, for OTC, nonprescription use.
These are the first NH products approved for use without a prescription. This approval
will allow the medications to be sold directly to consumers in drug stores, grocery stores,
as well as online. According to an FDA Commissioner, “The approval of OTC NH nasal
spray will help improve access to NH, increase the number of locations where it’s
available and help reduce opioid overdose deaths throughout the country. We encourage
the manufacturer to make accessibility to the product a priority by making it available as
soon as possible and at an affordable price.”

NH Availability in California school districts. The 2023-24 state Budget appropriated
$3.5 million annually for COEs to purchase and maintain a sufficient stock of emergency
opioid antagonists for school districts and charter schools within their jurisdiction, and to
maintain a minimum of two units at each middle school, junior high school, high school,
and adult school site. As a condition of receiving the funding, each school or charter
school must ensure two staff members meet minimum training standards.
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d) DPH statewide standing order for NH. NH can help reduce opioid overdose deaths in

California, but many organizations find it difficult to obtain the required standing order to
obtain NH from health care providers. According to DPH, of the 7,175 opioid-related
overdose deaths in 2021, 83% or 5,961 were related to fentanyl. The number of deaths
each year involving fentanyl increased dramatically between 2012 and 2021. During this
time period fentanyl related overdose deaths increased by more than 7,250% from 82 to
5,961 in 2021. DPH issued a standing order, in 2017, to address this need and support
equitable NH access. The standing order:

i) Allows community organizations and other entities in California that are not currently
working with a physician, to distribute NH to a person at risk of an opioid-related
overdose or to a family member, friend, or other person in a position to assist; and,

i) Allows for the administration of NH by a family member, friend, or other person to a
person experiencing or reasonably suspected of experiencing an opioid overdose.

Among the organizations and entities that can distribute NH under the order are colleges
and universities. An individual at risk of experiencing an overdose or someone who can
assist an individual at risk is allowed to do so. Under the statewide standing order, staff of
community organizations and other entities distributing NH must be trained. They are
also required to provide training to individuals who receive NH from them. Colleges and
other organizations may apply to use the statewide standing order if they meet certain
conditions. As of November 2023, DPH stated that a standing order is no longer needed
for Narcan due to its OTC status, all other formulations remain available by prescription
only and require a standing order to distribute and administer.

Naloxone Distribution Project (NDP). A separate distribution program administered
through the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS), the NDP allows various
entities, including schools, universities and colleges, to apply for and obtain NH at no
cost to the institution. As of February 20, 2024 the NDP has approved more than 10,800
applications for NH (17% of which are from schools and universities), distributed more
than 3.8 million kits of NH and reversed more than 245,000 opioid overdoses. DHCS
reports that less than one percent of the overdose reversals reported in the NDP occurred
in schools and universities.

SUPPORT. The California Emergency Nurses Association (CA ENA) supports the bill,
stating for the first time in California, drug overdoses are deadlier than car accidents and
homicides combined. CA ENA argues that the potential of an opioid overdose is becoming
more common as fentanyl is flooding into California and doses have been made to look like
prescription drugs and even candy. CA ENA continues that this bill will help to save lives
when minutes count by promoting easy access to an opioid blocker throughout our schools.

RELATED LEGISLATION.

a) AB 1915 (Arambula) requires DPH to develop by July 1, 2026, a training program and

toolkit for public school pupils in grades nine to 12, to gain skills in how to identify and
respond to an opioid overdose, including the administering of a federally approved opioid
overdose reversal medication. AB 1915 is pending in Assembly Appropriations
Committee.
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AB 2998 (McKinnor) permits minors 12 years of age and above to consent to receiving,
carrying, and administering NH or another opioid antagonist if approved by a physician.
AB 2998 is pending in Assembly Health Committee.

SB 997 (Portantino) requires middle and high schools operated by a LEA to stock and
distribute fentanyl test strips, in addition to authorizing LEAs, COEs, and charter schools
to develop and adopt a policy that allows pupils in middle schools and high schools to
carry federally approved NH. SB 997 is pending in Senate Health Committee.

PREVIOUS LEGISLATION.

a)

b)

d)

SB 472 (Hurtado) of 2023 would have required each campus of a public school operated
by an LEA, COE, or charter school to maintain at least two doses on its campus, and
distribute, NH or another opioid antagonist pursuant to the standing order for naloxone
and would have required LEAs, COEs, and charter school to report to the DHCS for
failure to distribute naloxone. This bill was held on the Senate Appropriations Committee
suspense file.

AB 915 (Arambula) of 2023 would have required DPH to develop by March 1, 2024, a
training program and toolkit for public school pupils in grades nine to 12, to gain skills in
how to identify and respond to an opioid overdose, including the administering of a
federally approved opioid overdose reversal medication. AB 915 was held in the Senate
Appropriations Committee suspense file.

AB 1748 (Mayes), Chapter 557, Statutes of 2016, authorizes school nurses and other
trained personnel to use NH or another opioid antagonist to provide emergency medical
aid to persons suffering, or reasonably believed to be suffering, from an opioid overdose.

SB 1438 (Pavley), Chapter 491, Statutes of 2014, required the development of training
and other standards for the administration of NH by emergency medical technicians and
other pre-hospital emergency care personnel.

AB 635 (Ammiano), Chapter 707, Statutes of 2013, revised certain provisions from a
pilot program authorizing prescription of opioid antagonists for treatment of drug
overdose and limiting civil and criminal liability, expanded these provisions statewide,
and removed the 2016 sunset date for the pilot program. Permits a licensed health care
provider who is authorized by law to prescribe an opioid antagonist, if acting with
reasonable care, to prescribe and subsequently dispense or distribute an opioid antagonist
to a person at risk of an opioid-related overdose or a family member, friend, or other
person in a position to assist the person at risk, and limited the professional and civil
liability of licensed health care providers and persons who possess or distribute opioid
antagonists.

6) DOUBLE REFERRAL. This bill is double referred, it passed the Assembly Committee on
Education with a 7-0 vote on March 20, 2024.
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REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

Association for Los Angeles Deputy Sheriffs

California Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation & Dance
California Consortium of Addiction Programs and Professionals

California District Attorneys Association

California Emergency Nurses Association

Orange County Sheriff's Department

San Diego County District Attorney's Office

Opposition
None on file.

Analysis Prepared by: Riana King/ HEALTH / (916) 319-2097
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Date of Hearing: April 16, 2024

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON HEALTH
Mia Bonta, Chair
AB 3275 (Soria and Robert Rivas) — As Amended April 1, 2024

SUBJECT: Health care coverage: claim reimbursement.

SUMMARY:: Requires a health plan, including a specialized health plan, or health insurer, as
specified, to reimburse a claim for a small and rural provider, critical access provider, or
distressed provider within ten business days after receipt of the claim, or, if the health plan or
health insurer contests or denies the claim, to notify the claimant within five business days that
the claim is contested or denied. Specifies that the health plan or insurer has 15 business days
after receipt of the additional information to complete reconsideration of the claim, if a claim for
reimbursement to a small and rural provider, critical access provider, or distressed provider is
contested on the basis that the health plan or health insurer has not received all information
necessary to determine payer liability for the claim and notice has been provided. Specifies that
interest accrue at a rate of 15% per annum for health plans and insurers if a claim is not
reimbursed, contested, or denied pursuant to these timelines, as specified. Requires the
Department of Managed Health Care (DMHC) or California Department of Insurance (CDI) to
develop respective lists for categories of claims that a health plan or insurer is required to pay a
small and rural, critical access, or distressed provider no later than five days after receipt of
claim, as specified. Requires a health plan or insurer to maintain a registry of providers subject to
this bill. Specifically, this bill:

1) Requires a health plan, including a specialized health plan, or insurer issuing group or
individual policies of health insurance that covers hospital, medical, or surgical expenses, to
reimburse a claim or portion of a claim for a small and rural, critical access, or distressed
provider within 10 business days, unless the claim or portion is contested by the plan or
insurer, in which case requires the health plan or insurer to notify the claimant that the claim
IS contested, in writing or via electronic means, within five business days after receipt of the
claim by the health plan or insurer.

2) Requires the notice that a claim is being contested to identify the portion of the claim that is
contested and the specific reasons for contesting the claim. Requires a health plan or insurer
to be responsible for documenting that a provider has received notice of a contested claim.

3) Accrues interest at the rate of 15% per annum beginning with the first calendar day after the
10 business day period if a uncontested claim is not reimbursed by delivery to the claimants’
address of record within specified timelines, consistent with existing law.

4) Revises the fee for a plan or insurer failing to comply with specified timelines to pay claims
from $10 to a fee of no less than 10% of the accrued interest.

5) Requires the plan or insurer to have 15 business days after receipt of additional information
to complete reconsideration of the claim if a claim or portion thereof for reimbursement to a
small and rural provider, critical access provider, or distressed provider is contested on the
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basis that the plan or insurer has not received all information necessary to determine payer
liability for the claim or portion thereof and notice has been provided pursuant to this bill.

Accrues interest to be payable at a rate of 15% per annum beginning with the first calendar
day after the 10-business-day period if a plan or insurer has received all of the information
necessary to determine payer liability for a contested claim and has not reimbursed a claim it
has determined to be payable within 10 business days of receipt of that information.

Requires DMHC and CDI to develop a list of categories of claims to be paid by a health plan
and insurer to a small and rural provider, critical access provider, or distressed provider no
later than five days after receipt of the claim, so long as the provider can document that care
was provided. Allows categories to include, but are not limited to, emergency care levels one
and two, uncomplicated labor and delivery, or skilled nursing facility care provided in a
swing bed.

Requires a health plan or insurer to maintain a registry of small and rural providers, critical
access providers, and distressed providers to facilitate compliance with this bill. Requires the
registration to be available to the DMHC or CDI for verification and to providers to
determine if they qualify for shorter reimbursement timeframes. Specifies that no action is
required on the part of the provider in order to qualify for shorter reimbursement timeframes.

Applies provisions of this bill to Medi-Cal managed care plans, as defined.

10) Makes conforming changes to the prompt payment provisions for emergency care.

11) Applies the following definitions to this bill:

a) Critical access provider as a hospital that is certified as a critical access hospital by the
Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services under the
federal Medicare Rural Hospital Flexibility Program. Includes a physician with privileges
at a critical access hospital;

b) Distressed provider as a hospital that meets the standards established by Department of
Health Care Access and Information (HCALI) for a hospital in financial distress under the
Distressed Hospital Loan Program (DHLP) and for one year after HCAI has determined
that the hospital no longer meets the standards for a hospital in financial distress. Includes
a physician with privileges at a hospital, as described; and,

c) Small and rural provider as a small and rural hospital, as defined in 6) below under
existing law. Includes a physician with privileges at a small and rural hospital.

EXISTING LAW:

1)

2)

Establishes the DMHC to regulate health plans under the Knox-Keene Health Care Service
Plan Act of 1975 (KKA) and CDI to regulate health and other insurance. [Health and Safety
Code (HSC) 81340, et seq., Insurance Code (INS) §106, et seq.]

Requires health plans to ensure that all services be readily available at reasonable times to
each enrollee consistent with good professional practice, and to the extent feasible, a health
plan to make all services readily accessible to all enrollees consistent with existing law on
timely access to health care services. [HSC §1367]
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Requires contracts between providers and health plans to be in writing and prohibits, except
for applicable copayments and deductibles, a contracted provider from invoicing or balance
billing a health plan’s enrollee for the difference between the provider’s billed charges and
the reimbursement paid by the health plan or the health plan’s capitated provider for any
covered benefit. Prohibits a provider, in the event that a contract has not been reduced to
writing, or does not contain the prohibition above, from collecting or attempting to collect
from the subscriber or enrollee sums owed by the health plan. Prohibits a contracting
provider, agent, trustee, or assignee from taking an action against a subscriber or enrollee to
collect sums owed by the health plan. [HSC §1367.03]

Prohibits a health plan from engaging in an unfair payment pattern, defined as, engaging in a
demonstrable and unjust pattern of reviewing or processing complete and accurate claims
that results in payment delays; engaging in a demonstrable and unjust pattern of reducing the
amount of payment or denying complete and accurate claims; failing on a repeated basis to
pay the uncontested portions of a claim within specified timeframes; and, failing on a
repeated basis to automatically include the interest due on claims, as specified. [HSC
§1371.37]

Requires a health plan or a health insurer to reimburse each complete claim, as specified, as
soon as practical, but no later than 30 working days, or for a health maintenance organization
(HMO), 45 working days, after receipt of the complete claim. Authorizes a health plan or
insurer to contest or deny a claim, as specified within 30 working days, or 45 working days
for a HMO, after receipt of the claim. Authorizes the health plan or insurer to request
reasonable additional information about a contested claim within 30 working days, or for a
HMO, 45 working days. Allows the health plan or insurer 30 working days, or a HMO 45
working days, after receipt of the additional information to reconsider the claim. Requires
interest to accrue at 15% per annum (or $15 whichever is greater) once the plan or insurer
has received all the information necessary to determine payer liability for the claim and has
not reimbursed the claim deemed to be payable within 30 working days, or 45 working days
for a HMO. Requires a health plan to automatically include in its payment of the claim all
interest that has accrued without requiring the claimant to submit a request for the interest
amount, and failure to comply with this requirement is subject to a $10 fee. [HSC §1371.35
and INS §10123.13]

Defines small and rural hospital as an acute care hospital that meets either of the following

criteria:

a) Meets the criteria for designation within peer group six or eight, as defined in the report
entitled Hospital Peer Grouping for Efficiency Comparison, dated December 20, 1982;

b) Meets the criteria for designation within peer group five or seven and has no more than
76 acute care beds and is located in an incorporated place or census designated place of
15,000 or less population according to the 1980 federal census. [HSC §124840]

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown. This bill has not yet been analyzed by a fiscal committee.

COMMENTS:

1)

PURPOSE OF THIS BILL. According to the author, this bill is in response to findings that
health plans are delaying prompt payment to many hospitals. These delays are severely
impacting the financial viability of small and rural hospitals, critical access hospitals, and
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distressed hospitals and their providers who disproportionately serve vulnerable Medicare
and Medi-Cal patients. The current payment timeframes are not sustainable for these
hospitals because of their payor mix while serving mostly vulnerable and people of color.
Last year, the author led the charge to create the Distressed Hospital Loan Program (DHLP)
to assist financially distressed hospitals and allow them to remain open. Many challenges
remain for these hospitals but the author believes an accelerated payment timeline from
health plans would go a long way to assist in the financial survival of these hospitals. The
author points out commercial health plans are paying small and rural hospitals less than the
costs of delivering services; these small and rural hospitals do not have the workforce and
negotiating resources compared to these big and profitable health plans. Many challenges
remain for these hospitals and there are various causes for rural hospital closures but the
author believes the precarious finances that a delayed on non-payment of claims by health
plans can greatly contribute to their decline. This bill is a critical first step to help sustain
small and rural hospitals so they can deliver the needed services in rural areas.

The author concludes that existing timeframes on payment of claims were adopted in 2000
when most billing were paper or fax based/manual system and contributed to a lag in
payment. In this 21% century, technology has evolved and advance and electronic billing is
now the norm. There is just no excuse for health plans or health insurers to not pay these
small and rural hospitals at a faster timeline.

BACKGROUND. According to a 2023 U.S. Government Accountability Office blog, more
than 60 million Americans, about one-fifth of the U.S. population, live in rural areas. On
average, rural residents are older and generally have worse health conditions than urban
residents. But while they may require more medical attention and care, they also might have
more limited access to health care. A 2022 University of Pennsylvania publication entitled,
“The Plight of Rural Hospitals: They’ve Been Closing at a Faster Rate Than Urban Facilities
for Years,” indicates there is some evidence to suggest that rural hospital closures were more
likely to occur in counties with larger shares of non-white residents. This is the context of
rapidly changing demographics and migration patterns in rural America, which is becoming
increasingly represented by racial and ethnic minority populations. There’s also prior work
showing that rural counties with higher proportions of non-Hispanic Black populations were
more likely to lose access to obstetric care. Taken together, these trends raise concerns that
the populations left behind may be overrepresented by communities of color. In a California
Health Care Foundation 2023 blog, six rural hospitals in California were identified as at risk
of closing, according to the Center for Healthcare Quality and Payment Reform. This bill
shortens the timeframe for claims reimbursement to small and rural, critical access, or
distressed providers.

a) Distressed hospitals. In 2023, California created the DHLP to offer interest-free,
working capital loans to non-profit and publicly-operated financially distressed hospitals,
including hospitals that belong to integrated health care systems with no more than two
separately licensed hospitals in California that are facing a risk of closure, while they
implement turnaround strategies to regain financial viability. One of the criteria used to
evaluate eligibility was cash on hand or whether the applicant was experiencing lower
levels of cash. The author provided information that Madera Community Hospital, which
closed in December of 2022, was a recipient of the loan, and one of the issues that
emerged were the delays in prompt payment. The bankruptcy court handling Hazel
Hawkins Memorial Hospital (Hazel Hawkins) highlighted reimbursement delays as one
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of the events that led to the declaration of fiscal emergency for Hazel Hawkins.
According to the March 2024 court order, “Anthem Blue Cross had approximately $4
million in delayed claims between August and December 2022.”

Health Plan Requirements to Pay Timely Claims. In 2000, California passed SB 1177
(Perata), Chapter 825, Statutes of 2000, and AB 1455 (Scott), Chapter 827, Statutes of
2000, that authorized the DMHC to monitor the payment patterns of health plans, track
plans' payment histories, and if a plan displays a pattern of slow payment, unfair denial of
payment, downcoding (the practice of coding at a lower level or service supported by
medical documentation or medical necessity) or other irregularities. California law
requires HMOs to pay claims in 45 days and preferred provider organizations (PPOs) to
pay claims in 30 days. Legislation also increased the interest on late payments from 10%
to 15%. In addition, if an HMO determines that it paid an erroneous claim, it is up to the
plan to prove the billing mistake. The DMHC, on its website, recognizes that it is
important for hospitals, doctors and other providers to be paid promptly and accurately,
and offers its Provider Complaint process as a means of ensuring prompt payment.
Before the DMHC conducts a review, the provider is required to submit the dispute to the
payor's Provider Dispute Resolution mechanism for a minimum of 45 working days or
until receipt of the payor's written determination, whichever period is shorter. The
DMHC will determine whether there is non-compliance with the provisions of the KKA.
In many instances, a case review will make a determination of whether claims should
have been paid, or whether interest is due. At the time SB 1177 regarding prompt pay
was passed, proponents of the bill noted that health plans owed hospitals roughly $1
billion in overdue claims payment and that late payments from HMOs contribute to about
64% of California hospitals’ financial losses.

DMHC Enforcement Actions. The DMHC released a March 2023 All Plan Letter
(APL), noting that it has been contacted by a number of hospitals informing the DMHC
that many health plans are not following the claims payment requirements which has
resulted in delayed or non-payment of rendered services. DMHC reminded plans of the
legal obligation to timely pay claims submitted by providers, including hospitals, that
provide covered services to the plans’ enrollees. In addition, plans must timely review
and respond to provider requests for authorization of health care services. The APL
reminded plans of those timely payment and utilization management obligations with
respect to hospitals. The DMHC encouraged plans to go beyond the minimum
requirements regarding timely payment and to evaluate how plans can support the
hospitals in their networks to ensure enrollees continue to have timely and geographic
access to hospital services. California law includes the following:

i) A plan must pay all claims within the statutory timeframes. If the plan pays a claim
beyond the statutory timeframes, the plan’s payment must automatically include
specified interest and/or monetary penalties. If the plan contests a portion of a claim,
the plan must reimburse any uncontested portions of the claim within the statutory
timeframes;

ii) If a plan contests or denies all or a portion of a claim, the plan must specify the
reason(s) for the contest or denial within the statutory timeframes. If the plan needs
additional information to complete a claim, the plan must request such additional
information within the statutory timeframes;
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iii) Plans may not request irrelevant or unnecessary information from providers during
claims processing, and must specify why the requested information is necessary to
complete the claim;

iv) A plan or its delegate, if applicable, must timely reimburse complete claims for
authorized services or for services that do not require prior authorization. The plan or
its delegate are prohibited from rescinding or modifying an authorization after the
authorized service has been rendered; and,

v) A plan must approve, modify, or deny, based on medical necessity, requests by
providers prior to or concurrent with the provision of health care services within a
timely fashion but no later than five business days from the plan’s receipt of the
request and no later than 72 hours if the enrollee faces an imminent and serious threat
to their health.

Some of the most recent examples of DMHC enforcement actions that generally describe
prompt pay violations include the following:

i) Health Net of California. On March 27, 2023, the DMHC initiated an enforcement
action against Health Net of California, Inc. including a $225,000 fine for failing to
properly reimburse thousands of claims to the plan’s providers. Through a routine
financial examination, the DMHC found the plan failed to accurately reimburse a
portion of its claims including interest and penalties. The plan agreed to pay the fine,
take corrective actions and remediated 34,433 claims totaling $1.2 million in
payments to providers.

ii) Blue Shield of California. On December 13, 2023, DMHC fined Blue Shield of
California $200,000 for mishandling provider claims.

iii) Anthem Blue Cross. In January 2024, DMHC fined Anthem Blue Cross $690,000 for
delaying reimbursement to providers and members.

3) SUPPORT. The District Hospital Leadership Forum (DHLF) writes that district and
municipal hospitals are proud to be local governments responsible for providing the health
care needs of their communities. Over two-thirds are rural, and more than half have a critical
access hospital designation, which are the smallest and most remote hospitals. In addition to
rural and remote areas of California, district hospitals serve provider shortage areas, and
urban underserved areas. In most communities, they are the sole provider of health care or
specific services. Prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, most district and municipal hospitals
were operating near break-even margins with some holding operating reserves. However,
since the public health emergency, member hospitals have liquidated their reserves and now
are facing significant financial distress, struggling with rising inflation and increased labor
costs. Unfortunately, for the DHLP program, more than 30% of district and municipal
hospitals qualified for these loans and received more than 50% of the available funds in the
program. Given that district and municipal hospitals only represent 8% of hospitals
statewide, qualifying for this level of support with short-term loans should illustrate the
current financial status for these providers and the inherent risk of access to health care in the
communities they serve. DHLF continues these efforts and if passed this bill would provide
prompt access to claims reimbursement, bolstering the financial solvency of hospitals who
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need it most. It is essential to preserve these services for patients when and where they need
it most.

The California Hospital Association (CHA) state that hospitals must devote significant
resources to a time-consuming communication and appeals process, just to receive payment
for care that has already been provided. The situation is dire for our rural, critical access, and
distressed hospitals, who serve our state’s most vulnerable citizens. Such hospitals operate on
very thin or even negative margins, and do not have reserves to support ongoing operations
when plans delay payments for care provided to their members. In recent years, CHA has
seen individual hospitals forced to declare bankruptcy or even close. While the financial
pressures on these hospitals are multiple and complex, ensuring timely and accurate payment
would address one of the major contributing factors.

OPPOSITION. The California Association of Health Plans, the Association of California
Life and Health Insurance Companies, and America’s Health Insurance Plans (collectively
“opposition”) write that hospitals are paid in part based on a Capitated Model, which are
voluntary contracts under which health plans make periodic payments to providers. These
payments are not tied to patient volume and provide an important funding source for keeping
hospitals operating. These capitated payments are an important funding mechanism for our
health care system, but they are also governed by consumer protection rules that ensure that
both health plans and capitated providers remain financially solvent. The opposition states
that the DMHC is entrusted with monitoring the financial solvency of both health plans and
hospitals. Health plans are required to report their own claims timelines data to the DMHC
on a quarterly basis and will be placed on a corrective action plan should they fail to pay
claims on time 95% of the time. If the plan fails to pay the claim within the statutory
timeframe, the payment is subject to interest and financial penalties, and the DMHC may
take enforcement action against the plan. Member health plans have reported that the vast
majority of clean claims are paid well within the current legal 30-day window. However,
health plan payment systems are only as good as the information they receive. If the claim is
missing information, it needs to be resubmitted, and notices are sent regularly to update all
parties involved. This bill ignores all the work California’s health plans have instituted to
help financially distressed hospitals, including the utilization of $150 million from the
Managed Care Organization (MCO) Tax and $300 million overall General Fund spending,
which is going to the DHLP. This bill dramatically reduces the amount of time health plans
have to adjudicate and pay claims. These are not reasonable amounts of time to adjudicate
and pay claims appropriately, especially considering that health plans need to assess which
type of provider is requiring the payment statutorily. Additionally, this bill would require
health plans to overhaul their existing IT systems to separately track payment types for small
and rural providers, critical access providers, and distressed providers, including physicians
with privileges at those facilities. Providers generally maintain privileges at multiple facilities
and are not necessarily financially stressed as a result of privileges at one particular facility.
The opposition concludes that this bill would subsequently privilege certain providers over
others, as health plans would be required to expedite claims processing for these providers
for a specific service and track them in real-time, regardless of whether the services are
rendered at a distressed hospital.

RELATED LEGISLATION. AB 2098 (Garcia) extends the repayment requirements for
nondesignated public hospitals participating in a California Health Facilities Financial
Authority loan program. AB 2098 is pending in Assembly Health Committee.
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6) PREVIOUS LEGISLATION.

7)

8)

a)

b)

d)

AB 112 (Committee on Budget), Chapter 6, Statutes of 2023, establishes the DHLP, until
January 1, 2032, providing interest free cashflow loans to not-for-profit hospitals and
public hospitals, as defined, in significant financial distress, or to governmental entities
representing closed hospitals.

AB 1162 (Villapudua) of 2021 would have required a health plan or disability insurer that
provides hospital, medical, or surgical coverage to provide access to medically necessary
health care services to its enrollees or insureds that are displaced or otherwise affected by
a state of emergency. Would have shortened the time requirements for a plan or insurer to
pay or contest a claim for emergency or nonemergency services to 20 working days.
Would have shortened the time limit for requesting additional information about a claim
to 20 working days. AB 1162 was held in Assembly Appropriations Committee.

AB 454 (Rodriquez) of 2021 would have authorized the DMHC Director or the CDI
Commissioner to require a health plan or health insurer to provide specified payments
and support to a provider during and at least 60 days after the end of a declared state of
emergency or other circumstance, as specified. AB 454 was held in the Assembly
Appropriations Committee.

AB 2674 (Aguiar-Curry), Chapter 303, Statutes of 2018, requires the DMHC to review
complaints of unfair payment patterns on or before July 1, 2019, and at least annually.
Authorizes the DMHC to conduct an audit or an enforcement action, as specified, if the
department determines the complaint review indicates a possible unfair payment pattern.

SUGGESTED AMENDMENT. Reimbursement in 5 days. This bill requires DMHC and
CDI to develop a list for categories of claims that a health plan or insurer is required to pay
no later than five days after receipt of a claim. As this bill moves forward, the author should
consider requiring DMHC and CDI to develop a joint list. The author has agreed to amend
this bill to specify an implementation date for this provision of January 1, 2026.

COMMENTS.

a)

b)

HMO versus PPO prompt pay timeframes. California law requires a health plan to
reimburse PPO claims in 30 working days and HMO claims in 45 working days. As this
bill moves forward, the author has agreed to align the two products so that all claims are
paid within 30 days.

Medi-Cal Managed Care Plans. The proposed prompt pay timeframes in this bill apply
to Medi-Cal managed care plans. At this time, the author intends to apply these
timeframes to County Organized Health Systems overseen by the Department of Health
Care Services in addition to plans regulated by DMHC. Moving forward, the author has
agreed to continue working to ensure that the definition currently in this bill is consistent
with the author’s intent.

HIE. Health information exchange (HIE) allows health care providers and health plans to
appropriate access and securely share patients medical information, including claims,
electronically, improving the speed, quality, safety and cost of patient care. The
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prevalence of HIE should assist health plans in paying electronic claims faster than paper
claims.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:
Support

California Hospital Association

California State Council of Service Employees International Union
District Hospital Leadership Forum

Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Hospital

Oppose
Association of California Life & Health Insurance Companies
California Association of Health Plans

Local Health Plans of California

Analysis Prepared by: Kristene Mapile / HEALTH / (916) 319-2097
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