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On November 7, 2006 voters will consider Proposition 85, which amends the California 

Constitution to bar abortion, which is defined as “the use of any means to terminate the 

pregnancy of an unemancipated minor known to be pregnant” and excludes the use of a 

contraceptive drug or device, until at least 48 hours after a physician notifies a minor's parent or 

legal guardian, except in a medical emergency or with a parental waiver.  Proposition 85 permits 

a judicial waiver of this notice based on clear and convincing evidence of a minor's maturity or 

best interests.  This measure also requires physicians to report abortions performed on minors to 

the state and requires the state to compile statistics on those reports, as specified.  Proposition 85 

requires minors to consent to an abortion unless she is mentally incapable or in medical 

emergency.  Finally, the measure permits a minor to seek assistance from the juvenile court if 

anyone attempts to coerce her into having an abortion.   

 

Background 

Other States:  Thirty-four states require parental involvement in a minor’s decision to have an 

abortion.  Two U.S. Supreme Court rulings prohibit parents from having absolute refusal over 

their daughters’ decision to have an abortion, and most states with parental involvement laws 

require the consent or notification of only one parent, usually 24 or 48 hours before the 

procedure.  Many of these laws also include a medical emergency exception and a judicial 

bypass procedure, through which a minor may receive court approval to obtain an abortion 

without parental involvement.  Out of the 22 states that require parental consent, two require 

both parents to consent.  Six states permit grandparents or other adult relatives to act in place of 

parents; and in cases of neglect or abuse, some states waive the consent or notification 

requirement altogether.  Finally, some state courts have enjoined laws that they have concluded 

violate their constitution.  The following chart summarizes state parental involvement laws.  

Please note that the chart does not include this information for all states.   
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PARENTAL INVOLVEMENT IN MINORS’ ABORTIONS 

 Require Parental Involvement Alternatives Exceptions 

 Consent Notification 
Judicial 

bypass 

Other adult 

relatives 

Medical 

Emergency 

In Cases of 

Abuse, 

Assault, 

Incest or 

Neglect 

Alabama X  X  X X 

Alaska Enjoined^      

Arizona X  X  X X 

Arkansas X  X  X X 

California Enjoined      

Colorado  X X  X  

Delaware  X (age < 16) X X X  

Florida  X X  X  

Georgia  X X  X  

Idaho Temporarily 

enjoined 

     

Illinois  Enjoined     

Indiana X  X  X  

Iowa  X X X X X 

Kansas  X X  X X 

Kentucky X  X  X  

Louisiana X  X    

Maryland  X X    

Massachusetts X  X    

Michigan X  X  X  

Minnesota  X (2 parent) X  X X 

Mississippi X (2 parent)  X  X  

Missouri X  X    

Montana  Enjoined     

Nebraska  X X  X X 

Nevada  Enjoined     

New Hampshire  Enjoined     

New Jersey  Enjoined     

New Mexico Enjoined      

North Carolina X  X X X  

North Dakota X (2 parent)  X  X  

Ohio X  X    

Oklahoma  X X  X  

Pennsylvania X  X  X  

Rhode Island X  X    

South Carolina X (age < 17)  X X X X 

South Dakota  X X  X  

Tennessee X  X  X X 

Texas X  X  X  

Utah X X X  X X 

Virginia X  X X X X 

West Virginia  X X  X  

Wisconsin X  X X X X 

Wyoming  X  X  X  

TOTAL 22 13 34 6 28 12 

 

Chart provided by the Alan Guttmacher Institute, Parental involvement in minors’ abortions, State Policies in Brief, 

September 1, 2006 and available at: http://www.guttmacher.org/statecenter/spibs/spib_PIMA.pdf.  

 

Please note that courts in nine states have permanently or temporarily blocked enforcement of 

parental involvement laws.  In most instances, state courts determined that the law violated the 

http://www.guttmacher.org/statecenter/spibs/spib_PIMA.pdf
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state’s constitution.  It is also important to note that in one state, South Dakota, abortions have 

been outlawed, except where a mother’s life is endangered.   

 

Federal Case Law:  The U.S. Supreme Court has upheld some state parental notification statutes 

that require minors seeking an abortion to notify a parent prior to obtaining an abortion, subject 

to a judicial bypass provision that permits a minor to ask a court for permission to bypass a 

state's parental notification requirement.  [Lambert v. Wicklund, 520 U.S. 292 (1997).] 

 

State Case Law:  The California Supreme Court held in American Academy of Pediatrics v. 

Lungren, 16 Cal. 4th 307 (1997), that a parental consent statute enacted in California in 1987 

violated the special right of privacy specifically guaranteed under the California Constitution.  

AB 2274 (Frazee) Chapter 1237, Statutes of 1987, required that physicians obtain parental 

consent prior to performing an abortion on a minor and contained a judicial bypass provision.  

The California Supreme Court held that the California Constitution provides greater privacy 

protection than the U.S. Constitution, including protecting a woman's right to choose whether to 

continue her pregnancy.  The Court held that a minor who is pregnant also has a protected 

privacy interest under the California Constitution in making the decision of whether to continue 

or to terminate her own pregnancy.  After finding that a minor has a reasonable expectation of 

privacy, the Court found that the statute would be a serious invasion of the minor's privacy 

interest.  The Court went on to find that the parental consent requirements could not be sustained 

on the grounds that its requirements are necessary to protect the health of a pregnant minor or to 

protect the minor's relationship with her parent.  The Court noted that the evidence introduced at 

trial overwhelmingly indicated that AB 2274 would not serve, but rather impede, the state's 

interests in protecting the health of minors and enhancing the parent-child relationship.   

 

Previous Ballot Initiative:  Proposition 85 is substantially similar to Proposition 73, which was 

presented to voters at the November 8, 2005 Special Statewide Election.  Key distinctions 

between last year’s measure and Proposition 85 include the elimination of language that defined 

abortion as causing the “death of the unborn child, a child conceived but not yet born,” 

specification that the waiver of parental notification from the parent or guardian is valid for 30 

days, or until a specified date, or until the minor’s eighteenth birthday, and the collection and 

reporting of information on minors in regard to the number of the minor’s previous abortions and 

deliveries if known.  The vote for the measure was 47.2 percent and the vote against the initiative 

was 52.8 percent.   

 

Previous Legislative Proposals:  California Civil Code Section 34.5 was enacted in 1953 and 

gave minors the right to consent to hospital, medical, and surgical care related to the prevention 

or treatment of a pregnancy without the consent of their parents.  Over the past ten years, this 

issue has been introduced in the California Legislature a number of times, including with the 

passage of AB 2274 (Frazee).  There were several measures introduced after the 1997 California 

Supreme Court ruling.  In 1997, ACA 38 (Leonard) would have amended the California 

Constitution to prohibit any abortion from being performed upon an unemancipated minor 

without written consent from the minor and one of her parents or legal guardian, except in a 

medical emergency requiring immediate medical attention or upon court authorization, as 

specified.  ACA 38 failed passage in the Assembly Committee on Health by a vote of 8-8.  SCA 

17 (Leslie) of 1998 would have required a physician to obtain the written consent of a minor and 
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one of her parents or guardian, or in the alternative the minor's consent and authorization of the 

court, prior to providing an abortion and included an exception for medical emergencies.  SCA 

17 failed passage in the Senate Committee on Judiciary by a vote of 3-4.  Several measures have 

been introduced in the Assembly, but were never heard.  AB 2582 (Thompson) of 1998 would 

have reenacted the provisions of AB 2274 after the California Supreme Court ruling and would 

have become operative only if an unspecified constitutional amendment were to be adopted.  In 

2001, ACA 5 (Wyman) and ACA 23 (Briggs) would have prohibited, except in the case of an 

emergency, an abortion from being performed on an unemancipated minor until the physician 

has first notified one of her parents or her legal guardian pursuant to specified requirements, or a 

court permitted waiver of these requirements, if any of certain circumstances were found to exist.   

 

Proposition 85 Overview 

Notification Requirement:  Proposition 85 requires a physician or his or her agent to notify one 

parent or legal guardian of a pregnant unemancipated minor, as defined, at least 48 hours before 

performing an abortion on that minor.  Physicians would be permitted to provide notification 

through a written notice to the parent or guardian in person or through certified mail.  If the 

notification is made through certified mail, it must also be sent by first-class mail.  Notification is 

presumed to be made as of noon on the second day after the notice is mailed.  Proposition 85 

provides for waivers of the notification as follows:  

 

 Medical Emergencies: The notification requirements do not apply if the physician 

certifies in the minor’s medical record that the abortion is necessary to prevent the 

minor’s death or that a delay would “create serious risk of substantial and irreversible 

impairment of a major bodily function.” 

 

 Parent/Guardian Waiver: A minor’s parent or guardian may waive the notification 

requirements, including the waiting period, by submitting a signed, written waiver to the 

physician.  The parent or guardian shall specify on the form that the waiver is valid for 30 

days, or until a specified date, or until the minor’s eighteenth birthday.   

 

 Court Waiver: A minor is permitted to request that a juvenile court waive the notification 

requirements, which the court is permitted to do if it finds that the minor is sufficiently 

mature and well-informed to decide whether to have an abortion or that notification 

would not be in the minor’s best interest.  

 

Physician and State Reporting Requirement:  Proposition 85 would require physicians to report 

specified information, including the date and place of the abortion, the patient’s month and year 

of birth, and the number of the minor’s previous abortions and deliveries if known, among other 

data elements, to the Department of Health Services (DHS) within one month of performing an 

abortion on a minor.  Names of the minor and her parent are not reportable and the identity of the 

physician is required to be kept confidential.  The proposition requires DHS to compile an annual 

report that includes the numbers of abortions by month and by county where preformed, the 

minors' ages, the duration of the pregnancies, the types of abortion procedures, the number of 

prior abortions or deliveries where known, the number of abortions after the different types of 

notification permitted, and the number and types of waivers granted.  This report would be 
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required to be made available to county public health officials, members of the Legislature, the 

Governor, and the public. 

 

Penalties:  Proposition 85 provides that any person who performs an abortion on a minor and 

fails to comply with the measure's provisions is liable for damages in a civil action brought by 

the minor, her legal representative, or by a parent or guardian wrongfully denied notification.  

The measure also makes any person, other than the minor, her physician, or the physician's agent 

who knowingly provides false information that the notice of an abortion has been provided guilty 

of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1,000. 

 

Legislative Analyst’s Office Fiscal Analysis 

State Health Care Programs:  According to the Legislative Analyst’s Office (LAO), Proposition 

85 could result in a reduction in the number of abortions obtained by minors within California.  

This reduction might be offset to an unknown extent by an increase in the number of out-of-state 

abortions obtained by California minors.  Some minors might also avoid pregnancy as a result of 

this measure, further reducing the number of abortions for this group.  If Proposition 85 reduces 

the overall number of minors obtaining abortions in California, it is also likely that fewer 

abortions would be performed under the Medi-Cal program and other state health care programs 

that provide medical services for minors.  This would result in unknown state savings for these 

programs.  However, if Proposition 85 results in a decrease in minors’ abortions and an increase 

in the birthrate of children in low-income families eligible for publicly funded health care, the 

state would incur additional costs.  These could include costs for medical services provided 

during pregnancy, deliveries, and infant care.  The net fiscal effect of these cost and savings 

factors would probably not exceed costs of a few million dollars annually.   

 

State Administrative Costs:  The LAO estimates that DHS would incur first-year state costs of up 

to $350,000 to develop required forms, establish a physician reporting system, and prepare the 

initial annual report.  The ongoing state costs for DHS to implement this measure could be as 

much as $150,000 annually.  

 

Juvenile and Appellate Court Costs:  Proposition 85 would result in increased state costs for the 

courts, primarily as a result of the provisions allowing minors to request a court waiver of the 

notification requirements.  The magnitude of these costs is unknown, but could reach several 

million dollars annually, depending primarily on the number of minors that seek waivers.  

 

Social Services Costs:  If Proposition 85 discourages some minors from obtaining abortions and 

increases the birthrate among low-income minors, expenditures for cash assistance and services 

to needy families would increase under the California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to 

Kids (CalWORKs) program.  The magnitude of these costs, if any, would probably not exceed a 

few million dollars annually.  The CalWORKs program is supported with both state and federal 

funds, however if all CalWORKs federal funds are committed, these additional costs would be 

borne by the state.  

 

Impact of Parental Involvement Laws 

A search of literature on this subject was conducted by the California Research Bureau for 

background on this issue.  Previous research indicates that parental involvement has an influence 
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on the way in which some minors seeks certain types of health care services.  A study published 

in the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) in August 2002 concluded that 

mandated parental notification is likely to reduce the use of health care use among adolescents 

with concerns related to sexual behaviors.  Nearly one half of single, sexually active girls under 

18 years who were surveyed in family planning clinics in Wisconsin reported that they would 

stop using the clinics under conditions of mandatory parental notification for prescription 

contraceptives.
1
  The authors concluded that this would have an impact not only on receiving 

those contraceptives, but also receiving other services and would have a substantial impact on 

the rates of teen pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections (STIs).  An editorial in the same 

issue of JAMA stated that there is no reason that efforts to strengthen communication between 

adolescents and their parents cannot take place even though confidential health care is available 

to adolescents.   

 

An analysis of birth rates, abortion data, and sexual activity and contraceptive use published in 

2003 found that parental involvement laws reduced abortion rates for minors, but did not 

increase births to minors.
2
  The authors stated that additional evidence indicated that this may 

have resulted from an increased use of contraception rather than a reduction in sexual activity.  A 

study of the impact of Minnesota's parental notification law found, after the enactment of the 

law, a marked drop in the abortion-to-birth ratio in 15 to 17 year olds compared to 18 to 19 and 

20 to 44 year olds.  The study also found an increase in the proportion of late (more than 12 

weeks gestation) abortions to early abortions for teens aged 15 to 17.
3
  A study of the effects of 

Mississippi's parental consent requirement showed that the ratio of minors to adults who sought 

abortions declined by 13%, which was offset by a 32% increase in the ratio of minors to adults 

who obtained abortions out of state.  Like the Minnesota study, the authors also found that the 

requirement increased the ratio of minors to adults who obtained their procedure after 12 weeks 

of gestation by 19%.
4
  Finally, a study of the parental consent statute in Missouri found a 

decrease in the selection of abortion as a pregnancy outcome, particularly among white teens.  In 

addition, there was an increase in the percent of abortions among teens taking place in other 

states and an irregular but steady trend toward later abortions.
5
 

 

The American Medical Association (AMA) issued a code based on a report of its Council on 

Scientific Affairs stating that when minors request confidential services, physicians should 

encourage them to involve their parents, but where the law does not require otherwise, should 

permit a competent minor to consent to medical care and not notify parents without the patient's 

consent.  The AMA stated that for certain services (including pregnancy-related care, STI 

diagnosis and treatment, drug and alcohol abuse services, and mental health services), 

"…physicians must recognize that requiring parental involvement may be counterproductive to 

the health of the patient."
6
 

 

Arguments in Support of Proposition 85 

Proponents, including Parents' Right to Know and Child Protection/Yes on Proposition 85, state 

that more than one million Californians' signatures qualified Proposition 85.  Proponents state 

that it will restore Californians’ right to counsel and care for their young daughters before and 

after an abortion.  Parents and daughters in more than 30 other states have benefited for years 

from laws like Proposition 85.  Many times, after such laws pass, there have been substantial 

reductions in pregnancies and abortions among minors.  Their real world experience shows these 
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laws reduce minors' pregnancy and abortion rates without danger and harm to minors.  When 

parents are involved and minors cannot anticipate secret access to free abortions they more often 

avoid the reckless behavior which leads to pregnancies.  Older men, including Internet predators, 

are deterred from impregnating minors when secret abortions are not available to conceal their 

crimes.  If she chooses, a minor may petition juvenile court to permit an abortion without 

notifying a parent. She can request a lawyer to help her.  If the evidence shows she is mature 

enough to decide for herself or that notifying a parent is not in her best interests, the judge will 

grant her petition.  The proceedings must be confidential, prompt, and free.  She may also seek 

help from juvenile court if she is being coerced by anyone to consent to an abortion.  Polls show 

most people support parental notification laws.  They know that a minor girl -- pregnant, scared, 

and possibly abandoned or pressured by an older boyfriend -- needs the advice and support of a 

parent.  Parents have invested more attention and love in raising their daughter, know her 

personal and medical history better, and care more about her future than strangers employed by 

abortion clinics profiting from performing many abortions on minors.  A minor still has a right to 

obtain or refuse an abortion, but a parent can help her understand all options, obtain competent 

care, and provide medical records and history.  An informed parent can also get prompt care for 

hemorrhage, infections and other possibly fatal complications. 

 

Arguments in Opposition to Proposition 85 

Opponents, including the California Medical Association, California Nurses Association, 

American Academy of Pediatrics, California District, and the California Academy of Family 

Physicians, contend that Proposition 85 will put teenagers in danger.  These groups states that 

they understand that while parents rightfully want to be involved in their teenagers’ lives, some 

California teenagers come from homes where they can’t talk to their parents, where there is 

violence, or where a family member has sexually abused them.  These teens can’t go to their 

parents.  They fear being kicked out of their homes, beaten, or worse.  Proposition 85 forces 

these teens from violent or dysfunctional homes to navigate through a stressful court proceeding, 

which will delay critical medical care or force the teen to turn to self-induced or illegal back-

alley abortions.  Some will go across the border; some will suffer serious injuries or even 

consider suicide.  Opponents state that the proposition puts the health and safety of teenagers at 

risk and that no law can mandate good communication.  Family communication on sensitive 

issues must begin at home and early.  The California Supreme Court found “overwhelming” 

evidence that similar laws in other states cause real harm to teenagers and families.  Opponents 

point out that that doctors and nurses encourage parental consultation and that most teenagers do 

consult a parent when confronting an unplanned pregnancy.  For ninety years, Planned 

Parenthood has been a trusted provider of quality healthcare.  Caring staff counsel pregnant teens 

to talk to parents, and most do.  Planned Parenthood and other family planning clinics comply 

with all California laws on child abuse reporting.  To charge now that they protect criminals is 

ridiculous.  The federal Department of Health and Human Services’ Office of Inspector 

General’s recent investigation didn’t find evidence of a single reporting violation. 

 

Conclusion 

The current context in California for minors to make health decisions for themselves and their 

children can be considered in the evaluation of Proposition 85.  Most would agree that open 

communication and the involvement of parents in their daughters' health care should occur when 

it is a positive and enriching experience.  It will be left for the voters to decide in November 
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whether the state's law will require that a parent is ensured involvement in a minor's decision to 

obtain an abortion.   
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